We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travelers have booked this property
If you love the countryside, walks and cycling trails then this is the gite for you
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
If you love the countryside, walks and cycling trails then this is the gite for you
Gite Martinet  - A luxurious and spacious gite for 2 Gite Martinet Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
If you love the countryside, walks and cycling trails then this is the gite for you
Gite Martinet  - A luxurious and spacious gite for 2
Gite Martinet Dining area
Gite Martinet has two living spaces - this is great for reading and your wifi connection
Gite Martinet - View from the mezzanine ensuite bedroom
Gite Martinet Ensuite Bedroom - King size bed with 100% Egyptian Cotton bedlinen
Gite Martinet Ensuite bedroom - Large double bedroom
Gite Martinet - all bedlinen, towels and robes are provided for you
Gite Martinet - shower room
Gite Martinet - shower room
Gite Martinet - one of many terraces for you to enjoy in the 7000sqm garden
Why not relax near the walnut tree?
Or maybe pick some peaches and bake a tarte tatin in the fully fitted kitchen?
Private drive leading to your gite
Watch the sunset
Only 5 kms away is the beautiful village of Lautrec famous for its pink garlic
Lautrec Village has amenities such as bank, restaurant, bakers, small supermarket, cafes, pizza, etc
Castres by night - 10 kms away
Carcassonne is a lovely day out just over an hour's drive away
Lac des Montagnes, near Mazamet is only 45 minutes away
Albi is home to the largest brick built cathedral and a collection of Toulouse Lautrec's art wo
Tom and Sheda your hosts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lautrec, Tarn, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mrbunny28
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely Gites lovely hosts lovely time! Peaceful and beautiful countryside near a happening and magic medieval walled town of Lautrec

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thanks Bunny for this review. We do hope you come again.
Sheda and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmptyNest...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Tom & Sheda provided the ideal holiday for us : all of the comforts of home, plus advice & guidance on our travel plans. We genuinely felt that we were amongst friends who were ensuring that we were exposed to the best of what the Tarn area had to offer.
Recommended without reservation.
Tim & Lisa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location to explore the Tarn
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you Tim and Lisa. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and if you are near next year we would love to welcome you back. Sheda and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean W
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Back in paradise again!”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We returned to this lovely gite for the fourth time this year and it remains perfect in every way. Our hosts, Sheda and Tom, have become friends and continue to make us feel welcome and at home. The gite is clean, comfortable and equipped to perfection. The garden is a peaceful haven and the surrounding countryside great for walking. The town of Castres is a ten minute drive away, with a twice-weekly market and all the necessary shops, as well as a beautiful historic centre. We will definitely go back for our fifth time next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Thank you for this wonderful review Jean and Graham. We look forward to seeing you next September - returning to us for a 5th time!
We will of course be in touch before then. Best wishes Tom and Sheda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoviews
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot in which to relax and explore the area”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We would very much recommend staying here the gite is well equipped, beautiful and spacious. The gardens are really lovely with different spots to enjoy the sun, read a book and relax.

The location is very good you are within easy travel distance of the areas highlights such as carcassonne and albi and if your prepared to travel a little further you can be at the coast in two hours. The local area is great, castres and laurec are well worth visiting and we really enjoyed swimming in the near by lake Bancalie especially as the tempeture was in the thirties for most of the two weeks we were there.

Tom and Sheeda who own the gite were very attentive and thoughtful popping around most days to see how we were and offer advice on the area. Their attentional to detail and generously was wonderful even getting food in for us on our first night as our flight was delayed.

We really enjoyed our holiday here and would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: As the weather was unusually hot not having a pool was an issue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you for your review. You sum up perfectly what it is like to stay here and of course hope to see you both again soon. Tom and Sheda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Feels just like home!”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Tom and Sheda were great hosts. We arrived late and we still received a warm welcome and a fridge full of goodies considering it was too late for us to stop and buy food.
The gite was everything we expected and more especially the fireplace. Tom and Sheda's hospitality made us feel part of the family and their knowledge of the area was greatly appreciated.
We will most definitely return in the summer to enjoy the garden more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and review. "Feeling like home" is exactly what we were aiming for when we opened our doors for the first time. Do come back again for the home from home experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T
Rainham
2 reviews
“Best of South West France”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from spending a week with Tom and Sheda at Gite Martinet just outside the wonderful old town of Lautrec in the Tarn department.
The gite is only an hours drive from Toulouse airport on very good roads,also close by are such are such towns as Castres,Gaillac Albi and Realmont which Tom and Sheda will give you all the directions you need for markets and parking.
The weather was hot 21c-26c so plenty of sitting in the garden enjoying a beer and some excellent wine from Gaillac.
The gite is very clean and well equipped.
Tom and Sheda are great hosts,when they found out that I was to celebrate my birthday over the stay they invited us for an evening of "appero" with them.
Thanks for a wonderful week.

Sue and Richard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, friendly and helpful owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovely to spend your birthday with us and the apero evening. We hope you come back for more birthday celebrations. Tom and Sheda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shar0n
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tres Tranquil”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I stayed in Gite Martinet for four nights and the only negative was that it was far too short. I am very fussy and had spent months looking for a property that 'ticked all the boxes' and I can honestly say that I made the right choice. The gite is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. It is in a great location and during our short stay we visited Albi, the Millau Viaduct, Roquefort, Gordes Sur Ciel, Castres and of course Lautrec.

We made use of the gas BBQ on three of our four nights and ate al fresco on the private terrace behind the gite which has a wonderful view in the direction of Lautrec. It was so relaxing and peaceful that we sat there for hours after dinner watching the sunset and looking up at the spectacular night sky.

Tom and Sheda were wonderful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed the few of hours we spent with them sharing a couple of bottles of wine and delicious nibbles (we skipped dinner that night!!)

I can honestly say that I wished we had been staying longer, we felt so at home as soon as we arrived and were sad to leave. I have no hesitation in recommending Gite Martinet and if you visit make sure you book a massage with Sheda - you will not be disappointed.

Thanks again Tom & Sheda for your hospitality and kindness and hopefully we will be in a position to return again in the future but stay for longer next time.

Sharon & Sam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the terrace after dinner and watching the sunset and night sky
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing