We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ireland hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Clare Golf Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here 7 of our 10 days in Ireland. The cottage worked well for two couples, privacy for both. Common area was spacious and inviting. Everything was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. The weather allowed us some use of the patio. The positive and the negative is the location makes this a real hideaway. Several miles from the nearest village means a drive to the pubs and shopping. But it also means total quiet, and wonderful walks down country roads. The resort restaurant is open most of the time if needed. The food is good but not special. We found the resort to be within a days drive (round trip) of many of the places we wanted to visit. The resort provided excursions but we were on our own. The ladies went shoppng in Ennis while we fellas played golf. The course is excellent and the staff at the club house did everything to make it a good eperience on the links. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastorsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

We’re delighted that you chose to stay at East Clare Golf Village, and that our team here helped provide you with all the assistance and information you needed during your stay. We really hope you’ll consider us if you come back to Ireland in the future – we’d love to see you again!

Ger Teefy
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have a time/share here so we go for a few days during each trip to Ireland. It is very quiet there. The buildings are not so soundproof inside each unit meaning the floors squeak a bit, but it is always clean and stocked with kitchen things. They have nice patios. We have always gotten a two bedroom, two bath unit and been very comfortable. It's a great place to stay and be right in the middle of so many great places to see.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We are grateful to you for your words of appreciation - it is very reassuring to read that you had a great holiday experience with us and we are pleased that we were able to contribute to your good holiday experience yet again! We hope that we will have another opportunity to host you very soon and until then we wish you safe travels!

Ger Teefy
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon last week and it was the perfect location for peace and quiet after wedding stress! Great base to explore the area - and the local area is stunningly beautiful - and a lovely cottage/chalet that was well equipped, spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly and we booked onto one of the coach tours (Burren tour) which we recommend too. Not loads to do in the immediate area, you really need to get out and about to see the sights and local pubs etc, however there was a free taxi to a local pub on sunday and wednesday nights, which was worth doing, decent food and Irish music and it was lovely not having to drive! Loved our holiday and would love to come back here one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband did the Experience Ireland with our Diamond Resorts Club Event. We had a wonderful time. The resort is small so you don't feel crowded. The staff are so helpful. We rode on a bus to get the the site we were visiting, which helped as they drive on the opposite side of the road as in America. The roads are very narrow, so I gladly left the driving to the professionals. The weather was wonderful, yes even in the rainy times. I highly recommend visiting Ireland and the resort.

Room Tip: The units are all the same, but the units with the lower numbers are up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort. A young friend shared this stay with us. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the resort was very well maintained and very comfortable. From here we were able to see many of the special places along Ireland's West Coast. Be prepared for the narrow roads and driving on the right-hand side of the road. Most drivers willingly moved over when meeting another car on the narrow roads. With the GPS, we were able to drive with no problems. One of my goals was to visit an authentic Irish pub, have a pint of Guiness, and hear traditional Irish music. The resort arranges transportation to the historic nearby Peppers Pub for an evening of food, beer, and music - great evening that made my trip complete.

Room Tip: A GPS navigation system was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jecklecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review! We strive to provide all our guests with excellent service, and we’re really pleased to read that our team helped make your stay at East Clare Golf Village extra special. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Ger Teefy
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at East Clare with a Diamond Resorts International sponsored group. It was perfect for a group that travelled by bus daily to attractions not more than 2 hours from the resort. The property was very clean and accommodations were adequate for our use. Everyone at the resort was helpful as I found out to be the case on our previous trip to Ireland. This resort is very secluded so if you are a looking for excitement and busy, you should not stay there.

Pros: very clean and with a home environment
golf course and club at property so restaurant is helpful for meals
kitchen and living area is perfect with all appliances including washer/dryer combo

Cons: bedroom layout is awkward with small bathroom down hallway
bathroom has no vanity so carrying toiletries down hall daily is frustrating
If two couples are in one condo the layout for sleeping is not ideal.
like mentioned before very secluded so know what plans are first before staying here

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of resort for view of beautiful countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverfox50charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at ECGV, the accommodation is great, with helpful and friendly staff. It is in a beautiful location ideal for walks, very often you will be joined on your walk by a small dog that lives on the farm near the entrance.
Although we did not take in any tours on this visit, I can highly recommend them from our previous trip. A visit to Peppers is a must, the landlord Gary will collect you and drop you back off after a night of good food beer and traditional Irish music. It is also worth a trip in to Killaloe and Ballina on the shores of Loch Derg

Room Tip: You do need a car for this location. Pick up some food essentials on route to ECGV. washing up liqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999PeterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodyke
15.3 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
15.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
17.4 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
8.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Clare Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Clare Golf Village

Address: Coolreah House | Bodyke, Bodyke, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bodyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bodyke
Price Range: $41 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Clare Golf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tranquil setting, the comfortable 2-bedroom cottages at East Clare Golf Village offer a relaxing base only 5 minutes' walk from the 18-hole championship East Clare Golf Course. The modern cottages offer a fully equipped kitchen, with a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, oven and washing machine. There are 2 shower rooms and a dining room, with sofa bed, TV and stereo. The shores of Lough Derg offer plenty of opportunities for fishing, sailing and horse riding. Local attractions include historic Bunratty Castle and striking views across the Cliffs of Moher. Limerick can be reached in 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Clare Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Clare Golf Village Ireland/Bodyke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing