We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Clare Golf Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

we spent a week at East clare golf resort RCI 8589 .It was a wonderful 8 days .one of my best holidays .The resort has large spacious rooms very well maintained .The kitchen facilities were good with crockery enough for 8 guests .Very clean spic and span .hotel staff was very helpful .the sit out was cosy .we had leisure walks on the golf course walk ways .just 10 minutes away is a beautiful lake Lough Derg at Killaloe .a very serene picnic spot .
One needs a car as this place is far away .All the sightseeing places are near by drives .On the whole an excellent resort

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturelover204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent a week at the Golf Village, which was booked through Diamond Resorts, in a 2 bedroom unit. There is a sofa bed in the lounge which means 6 people could easily stay in the unit. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and helpful throughout our stay. The units have a large, fully equipped, open plan kitchen with dining and sitting area and a separate bathroom downstairs. There is multi-channel TV, sound system and I-pod docking station and wi-fi. Upstairs are the two bedrooms with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and another separate bathroom. Both bathrooms had showers, but no baths. Each unit has an outside patio area with table and chairs. Would recommend unit 5B as it faced away from reception and car park area and had views over the countryside. We weren't there to golf, but used the village as a base for visiting different locations each day. There was pretty much everything you would need for a self catering holiday, including tea, coffee, sugar, salt & pepper sachets to get you started and also dishwasher tablets, laundry tablets and washing up liquid and sponges. There were plenty of towels and a toiletry pack on arrival. The paintwork showed signs of wear and tear with several scuff marks on the walls, but apart from that the decor was in good order. We took advantage of the free shuttle bus that runs to the local pub on certain nights where you can enjoy food and live music. The golf club only serves food until 7pm, which is quite limiting, but the golf club is independently managed from the accommodation. The location is remote, so probably not ideal if you don't have your own transport, but great for a complete change of pace from city life.

Room Tip: Unit 5B faces away from reception and car park, so uninterrupted views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

As I have said in previous reviews, everything we experience is filtered through the lens of perspective. I would love to have given the East Clare Golf Village a top rating, but there were just a few things that precluded me from doing so.

In our 10-day journey through Ireland, we were faced with jumping from B&B to B&B, but chose to use this property as a "home base" from which to make day trips. We booked our week through the Armed Forces Vacation Club, which was very easy and the price good, especially for Ireland (love you Ireland, but you are waaaay too expensive compared to the rest of the world).

Rather than ramble, I like to just list the main things we found positive and any pertinent things which were potentially negative.

POSITIVE:
-We were very pleased with the staff, their courteousness, and how we were treated. Of special note was the day I went out to the car with my arms loaded down with stuff. I must have dropped my sunglasses near the car and not noticed. The next day, I went to the office and asked if anyone had turned in some sunglasses and the young lady told me someone had inquired, but not turned them in (hmmmm). The next day, I checked with her and was extremely pleased to find that she had gone to the trouble of locating the person and getting my sunglasses back. Kudos to her!
-Our two bedroom unit was spacious and had everything we needed. Most furnishings were of good quality and the beds very comfortable.
-The kitchens are great! We had everything we needed and enjoyed not being tied to a specific breakfast time each morning.
-The location itself is beautiful and it was fun to hear golfers teeing off nearby each morning.

NEGATIVE:
-The location is divine if you are doing a golf holiday. Unfortunately, we were not. The last 4km drive up to the resort is on extremely narrow and winding road (I know, welcome to Ireland). When coming to the resort you are treated with some great vistas, but for us, at the end of a long day, the final 30 minutes of the drive was often a pain.
-I know many people have complained about the daily utility charges that are added on top of your bill. We Americans are used to an all-inclusive bill and find this almost silly. There must be a reason for it, but none that we can think of. Yes, the website mentions potential added costs, but it seems weird to have a flat daily charge and not just include it in the advertised cost of the unit.
-So much room and such little bathrooms. Why not have a little more counter space? Do European women not travel with makeup and toiletries? No place to put much except a little glass shelf. While you're at it....bathtub!!!
-My last comment may be tainted by the fact that we normally stay at similar places that are run by Marriott (can I say that here?). Marriott would never allow some of the things that were present in our unit. There were long cracks which ran along wall and ceiling joints in several locations within the unit. Also, there was an unseemly amount of scuff marks, etc. on the walls which detracted from the interior. Have some pride and patch/paint things...it's a reflection on your establishment.

I would recommend the East Clare Golf Village to people who want a peaceful and scenic stay in Ireland. Unless I was planning on a golf trip, it is likely that I would not stay again, solely based on the remoteness and difficulty in getting out to any larger roads. All in all it was a great week and we thank the staff and ownership for their efforts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent two separate weeks here in March 2013. Accommodations are fantastic. Spacious holiday homes. Beautiful scenery. I do not golf but I needed a place with a fairly central location in Clare. My daughter is at UL and it was only 45 min to the campus.
Without a doubt I will return!! As it was I booked a second week later on during my stay in March. Pictures shown are exactly as the homes appear.

Room Tip: I was in 2b and 7 d. Both had two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmkjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

We are really pleased to read such a positive review of our property. Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with our future guests! We are happy that our location proved convenient for you and the resort itself and our accommodations were to your satisfaction. We hope to see you back soon!

Ger Teefy
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The stay at East Clare turned out to be a very pleasant one. I was, at the onset, very skeptical, about the concept of 'Golf Village' - did not know what to expect really. However, it is a complex of charming residences, in County Clare. We stayed in a 2-bedroomed 'villa', which comprised of two floors. Ground floor kitchen and very specious living (both with full amenities) + bathroom, with both bedrooms and another bathroom upstairs. The accomodations seem new...perfectly clean.

Yes, the place is really 'away from it all', but at the same time, many Irish highlights were within 90mins driving.

Some reports have commented on the lack of wifi but this seems to have been solved as we had excellent fast wifi.

While it is understandable that in low-season operating a restaurant may not make sense, perhaps it is a bit 'tough' not having the restaurant operating in the evening. Took the opportunity of the shuttle bus to the nearby Feakle Pub and Restaurant, lovely atmosphere with Irish music, though food not necessarily the best in Ireland. But ok for an evenign out.

The recepetionists were also very helpful in providing directions, assistance in paying the electronic motorway toll, making suggestions and so forth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

We are extremely pleased to read that you had such a lovely time whilst here with us and we thank you for sharing your kind feedback with your fellow travellers. We are glad that you have agreed to share some tips with our potential future guests and we are delighted to know that you have indeed made the most of your stay, soaking up the lively local atmosphere. We hope you will pay us another visit in the future!

Ger Teefy
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

we went for a family break of 4 days on February'13 and I highly recomend it to everybody
who likes peace and quiet enviroment.
the house was very warm and clean and well furnish with everything you might need in a kitchen to cook. It has a tumble dryer as well!
definetly we'll be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank techontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at East Clare Golf Village! We strive to provide all our guests with memorable holiday experiences, and we’re really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here.

We’re delighted that you’d like to return here for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Ger Teefy
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our first trip to Ireland from South Africa and it was heaven. The location was perfect, the scenery awesome and the staff was amazing! What a helpful manager. From here you can travel to Covh, Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Blarney, Portumna etc. etc. The unit was perfect for 3 couples. The bathroom off the lounge is perfect! Well appointed kitchen, with everything in perfect working order. Enjoyed the little pubs and eateries around the Estate. For our second trip to Ireland... we will stay here again! We left my husband's glasses in the unit and it was duly despatched to South Africa, free of charge! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boerenooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased that you had a fantastic time at the East Clare Golf Village, and we’re delighted that you’d like to return here!

We hold our staff to a really high standard of service, and we’re glad that they were able to provide you with all the help you needed, both during and after your stay. We’re pleased to read that your husband’s glasses made it safely back to South Africa!

We’d love for you to return here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Kind regards
Ger Teefy
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodyke
15.3 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
15.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
17.4 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
8.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Clare Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Clare Golf Village

Address: Coolreah House | Bodyke, Bodyke, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bodyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bodyke
Price Range: $41 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Clare Golf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tranquil setting, the comfortable 2-bedroom cottages at East Clare Golf Village offer a relaxing base only 5 minutes' walk from the 18-hole championship East Clare Golf Course. The modern cottages offer a fully equipped kitchen, with a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, oven and washing machine. There are 2 shower rooms and a dining room, with sofa bed, TV and stereo. The shores of Lough Derg offer plenty of opportunities for fishing, sailing and horse riding. Local attractions include historic Bunratty Castle and striking views across the Cliffs of Moher. Limerick can be reached in 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Clare Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Clare Golf Village Ireland/Bodyke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing