We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay at East Clare Golf Village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Clare Golf Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Clare Golf Village
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay at East Clare Golf Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The stay at East Clare turned out to be a very pleasant one. I was, at the onset, very skeptical, about the concept of 'Golf Village' - did not know what to expect really. However, it is a complex of charming residences, in County Clare. We stayed in a 2-bedroomed 'villa', which comprised of two floors. Ground floor kitchen and very specious living (both with full amenities) + bathroom, with both bedrooms and another bathroom upstairs. The accomodations seem new...perfectly clean.

Yes, the place is really 'away from it all', but at the same time, many Irish highlights were within 90mins driving.

Some reports have commented on the lack of wifi but this seems to have been solved as we had excellent fast wifi.

While it is understandable that in low-season operating a restaurant may not make sense, perhaps it is a bit 'tough' not having the restaurant operating in the evening. Took the opportunity of the shuttle bus to the nearby Feakle Pub and Restaurant, lovely atmosphere with Irish music, though food not necessarily the best in Ireland. But ok for an evenign out.

The recepetionists were also very helpful in providing directions, assistance in paying the electronic motorway toll, making suggestions and so forth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are extremely pleased to read that you had such a lovely time whilst here with us and we thank you for sharing your kind feedback with your fellow travellers. We are glad that you have agreed to share some tips with our potential future guests and we are delighted to know that you have indeed made the most of your stay, soaking up the lively local atmosphere. We hope you will pay us another visit in the future!

Ger Teefy
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    63
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
108
79
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodyke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

we went for a family break of 4 days on February'13 and I highly recomend it to everybody
who likes peace and quiet enviroment.
the house was very warm and clean and well furnish with everything you might need in a kitchen to cook. It has a tumble dryer as well!
definetly we'll be back soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank techontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at East Clare Golf Village! We strive to provide all our guests with memorable holiday experiences, and we’re really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here.

We’re delighted that you’d like to return here for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Ger Teefy
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our first trip to Ireland from South Africa and it was heaven. The location was perfect, the scenery awesome and the staff was amazing! What a helpful manager. From here you can travel to Covh, Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Blarney, Portumna etc. etc. The unit was perfect for 3 couples. The bathroom off the lounge is perfect! Well appointed kitchen, with everything in perfect working order. Enjoyed the little pubs and eateries around the Estate. For our second trip to Ireland... we will stay here again! We left my husband's glasses in the unit and it was duly despatched to South Africa, free of charge! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boerenooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased that you had a fantastic time at the East Clare Golf Village, and we’re delighted that you’d like to return here!

We hold our staff to a really high standard of service, and we’re glad that they were able to provide you with all the help you needed, both during and after your stay. We’re pleased to read that your husband’s glasses made it safely back to South Africa!

We’d love for you to return here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Kind regards
Ger Teefy
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at East Clare Golf Village. The accommodations were clean and spacious, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed over the Christmas holiday, so the on-site clubhouse/restaurant was closed, and no excursions were offered. But the staff was very helpful in recommending nearby restaurants and sightseeing trips. We also took advantage of the free transportation to Peppers Pub for dinner and traditional music. The resort is located off the beaten path, so it isn't really close to anything, but it is conveniently located for easy day trips to Galway, the Connemarra, Bunratty Castle, Limerick, the Burren, and the Cliffs of Moher. The remote location also makes it very peaceful and serene. We saw some beautiful rainbows on Christmas day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita_Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at East Clare Golf Village – thank you for your words of appreciation and sharing you travel tips! It is great to read that you have found our accommodations comfortable and our team helpful and friendly. It’s very important to us to create a relaxing homelike atmosphere for our guests and we are glad that you seem to have experienced just that. We hope that we will have an opportunity to be of service again soon.

With kind regards
Ger Teef
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff and facilities are first-rate. Our spacious unit has all the amenities we require. Not being familiar with the operation of several devices, a call to the office resulted in an immediate visit by a member of the staff. I particularly recommend the day trips they offer. Alan with P&K Coaches was absolutely brilliant!

Room Tip: Be sure to request an accessible unit if needed. Ours was 100% accessible, except that the door thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at East Clare Golf Village and found our team members helpful and attentive. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Ger Teefy
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Houses were spacious and well fitted out providing almost everything you would want. Located a bit off the beaten track but we knew that before we arrived. This place has great potential if the bar stayed open in the golf club to provided meals and social drinking in the evening, as it closed at 5 o'clock.
Lots of places around for day trips so these places seem to be only used for bed and breakfast as there was nothing to attract you to stay all day, not even a nice walk other than risking your life on the lanes!
We certainly enjoyed our stay and the staff and quests were all very friendly. This is relatively new so I think it will be very good. Grounds were very well kept.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value, gorgeous spacious house plenty of room..2 bathrooms with excellent shower. Could do with a playground for kids as plenty of green areas around. Very remote, had 2 teenage boys with me. They cudnt go anywere on their own so I had to "taxi" them around. Gorgeous scenic part of Ireland though...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbief76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodyke
8.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
16.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Clare Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Clare Golf Village

Property: East Clare Golf Village
Address: Bodyke, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bodyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bodyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Clare Golf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tranquil setting, the comfortable 2-bedroom cottages at East Clare Golf Village offer a relaxing base only 5 minutes' walk from the 18-hole championship East Clare Golf Course. The modern cottages offer a fully equipped kitchen, with a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, oven and washing machine. There are 2 shower rooms and a dining room, with sofa bed, TV and stereo. The shores of Lough Derg offer plenty of opportunities for fishing, sailing and horse riding. Local attractions include historic Bunratty Castle and striking views across the Cliffs of Moher. Limerick can be reached in 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your East Clare Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Clare Golf Village Ireland/Bodyke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing