We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The kindest folks and a beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Clare Golf Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Clare Golf Village
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The kindest folks and a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My review is belated, but I owe so much to the kind and helpful resort manager, Ger Teefy.
Accidents and health issues occur during travel and we were unfortunate to need emergency medical care on our visit to Ireland and at this resort in 2010.
There was a good outcome because of the help provided by the staff at this place, and the doctor who made a house call. Ger went beyond any reasonable expectations to help us and we are grateful!

In other respects, the golf course and the cottages are lovely and we would love to return for a relaxing and hopefully uneventful stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Craftylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    63
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
108
79
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester,uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

As members of Diamond Resorts we booked a four day break in East Clare Golf Village with a view to touring western Ireland. Based well off the beaten track it was a serene and peaceful. The accommodation was of exceptional quality. The cottage was one of the rejuvenation suites, with air and water filters even in the showers, magnetic beds and infa-red duvets. Even neck care pillows. We drove over 1000km in the four days and saw much of what we planned including Limerick, Waterford, Galway and Tuam. The staff were very kind and helpful but we didnt think alot of the restaurant with transport they advised. We will definitely return in the next few months.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a rejuvenation suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlchelliekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Well-equipped vacation rental off the beaten path. Our room was two-bedroom, two-bath with an additional sofa-bed downstairs. Clean, homey feel with all the necessary kitchen accouterments to facilitate making meals in your villa. We enjoyed picking up a few grocery items at the Topaz in Tuamgraney and relaxing in our villa in the evenings. A car is an absolute must as this resort is several miles from the nearest village with pubs, shopping or entertainment.

They do have tours you can book through the resort and we are extremely happy we did since it allowed us to visit the Burren and take a break from the somewhat scary driving experience in Ireland. Our tour guide/driver (Allen O'Neil) was wonderful. Very entertaining and educational and took the experience beyond the boring drone that some tours can have.

The road into and out of the resort is somewhat frightening as it is narrow, winding and has hedges or stone walls on either side. I recommend having a passenger work as a spotter for passing cars to be on the safe side as several of the curves are blind and both locals and visitors drive probably faster than they should. Of the two ways coming into the resort, I would advise against taking the road from Feakle as it is essentially only slightly larger than a standard US bike path. A car coming the opposite direction means one of you has to reverse until finding a driveway to pull into.

Overall this was a great location that I would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Auntie_LaLa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great place to relax but Dont even try to go to this place without a car of your own as we did. Cant fault with the facilities in the resort except for the fact that you are expected to be here without your own vehicle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varma600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The village looks very smart on arrival and the villas are modern however they are modestly furnished. The lounge-kitchen is a decent size with a shower room / toilet off it. This leaves the 2 small bedrooms upstairs to share the upstairs shower room. There is a small patio outside however we only had 2 chairs and a tiny table for it.
Our villa had very visible settlement cracks such that the bedroom door could not close properly.
The access to the village is a couple of miles up a very narrow twisty road.
There are a number of restaurants in the nearby local villages, mainly decent quality pub restaurants.
The Wood Bros restaurant in Killaloe and the small Snug bistro in Mountshannon were worth a visit.
There is a short golf course on site serving pub grub during the day mainly.
Ennis is quite a nice town about 20 minutes away and there are some tourist attractions in the area however the location is a long drivepp from attractions such as The Burren and The Cliifs of Moher and too far really for Ring of Kerry although we did go there one day.
We had booked for a week and left after 4 nights and someone else checked out early just before us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuartaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahersiveen, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed just for 1 night.

House was extremely well equipped including towels and linen. House had a very homely feel.

Had double room and twin room. There was a sofa bed in the lounge.

The location is remote and a car is a must because it was not walking distance to any of the towns or villages. Some of the local pubs were offering a free shuttle service on there traditional music nights. Also reception offered a servive to book tours.

Would definately go back great location for exploring the Shannon/Co. Clare region.

Room Tip: Sleep 6 Comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilikeabargin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
263 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We are Diamond Resort owners and this was a timeshare exchange for us. Our unit was very comfortable for two couples. The twin bedroom and the king (two twins pushed together) were of equal size and with the same furniture. There is sufficient living room furniture for all to watch TV or read in comfort. The kitchen has everything you need if you wish to cook in as well as laundry and dishwasher soap. The beds were very comfortable although we found the duvets rather cheap. Toiletries were supplied, but only in one bathroom. Internet was free and reasonably fast. Do take advantage of the shuttle to Peppers for music night. It is a fabulous experience and not touristy at all. Note that the Village is about 2 km. off R352 so keep driving even when you think you must have missed it! The unit needs heated towel racks and updated TVs. 7.14 Euros seems a tad expensive for electricity. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Village.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodyke
8.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
16.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Clare Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Clare Golf Village

Property: East Clare Golf Village
Address: Bodyke, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bodyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bodyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Clare Golf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tranquil setting, the comfortable 2-bedroom cottages at East Clare Golf Village offer a relaxing base only 5 minutes' walk from the 18-hole championship East Clare Golf Course. The modern cottages offer a fully equipped kitchen, with a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, oven and washing machine. There are 2 shower rooms and a dining room, with sofa bed, TV and stereo. The shores of Lough Derg offer plenty of opportunities for fishing, sailing and horse riding. Local attractions include historic Bunratty Castle and striking views across the Cliffs of Moher. Limerick can be reached in 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your East Clare Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Clare Golf Village Ireland/Bodyke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing