We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was 3-4 stars but service was very poor”
Review of Gostilna Kos

Gostilna Kos
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Idrija
Price range: $6 - $15
Description: In our restaurant you can enjoy in many delights of Slovenian and Idrija's cooking, hidden in old recipes. We are known for the best Idrijski žlikrofi in town and won numerous awards for preparing them. Besides, we offer you warm lunch and food by order. For organized groups we provide organization of lunches, dinners and other events also outside working hours (just let us know in advance).
Restaurant details
Description: In our restaurant you can enjoy in many delights of Slovenian and Idrija's cooking, hidden in old recipes. We are known for the best Idrijski žlikrofi in town and won numerous awards for preparing them. Besides, we offer you warm lunch and food by order. For organized groups we provide organization of lunches, dinners and other events also outside working hours (just let us know in advance).
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

The food was okay. Nothing fancy, but we didn't expect it fancy so that was okay. The pasta was very great but the vegetable a bit poor.
Winning the big lottery would propably be easier than getting a smile from the waiter. She could hardly speak to us. I'm not sure about she just had an extraordinary bad day, or just hate her work place.

Thank Majken_65101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GostilnaKos, Manager at Gostilna Kos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Majken, thank you for your review. We are sorry about the attitude of our waitress. She must had a bad day because as far as we know she doesn't have any other reason. Sending you a big smile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

Great place to stop by for lunch - you should try žlikrofi, they are really good here and they serve big portions. I’d recommend this place to everyone visiting Idrija.

Thank larrissaa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

Excellent meal, superb stuff. Local food Žlikrofi, are one of the best dishes, I have ever eat. This is best choice in Idrija.

2  Thank GregorK96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GostilnaKos, Manager at Gostilna Kos, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hi Gregor! The team here at Gostilna Kos is delighted to hear such good feedback! We are pleased to hear that you are a big fan of žlikrofi! :) Thank you for the great review and hope we stay your first choice in Idrija! Come back soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017

Locals recommended this place for žlikrofi. Building is less than attractive with all kinds of extensions and between roads and sidewalks. Inner space is dark and with massive furniture. We ordered local specialty and food was good but nothing special. It seems that they are satisfied with the same quality from ten or fifteen years ago. Idrija needs more inns for improving quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GostilnaKos, Manager at Gostilna Kos, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hello Miha! Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you weren't as happy as possible with your recent visit and that our food didn't blow you away. We would like to mention that we have a very bright dining room on the first floor and we are sorry that you weren't informed about it. Please know that we take your comments very seriously, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Simple 'gostilna' at the entry of Idrija, a really good place for tasting the typical 'zlikrofi'. Quick service (even if it was saturday, because of a rally race in the town), large portions and honest prices. Recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GostilnaKos, Manager at Gostilna Kos, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hello Andrea! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so happy, you enjoyed our large portion of žlikrofi on your visit on a Rally Race Saturday! :) We are doing our best to be as quick as possible and to make sure our guests don't leave hungry (or thirsty). :) We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilna Kos also viewed

Spodnja Idrija, Slovenian Littoral Region
Spodnja Idrija, Slovenian Littoral Region
 
Idrija, Slovenian Littoral Region
Spodnja Idrija, Slovenian Littoral Region
 
Spodnja Idrija, Slovenian Littoral Region
Idrija, Slovenian Littoral Region
 

Been to Gostilna Kos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing