We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Truly Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taiana's Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uoleva Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taiana's Resort
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise Truly Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We knew when we first spied Uoleva Island and Taiana's Place from our boat transfer that we were in for the adventure of a lifetime. Noah, Finau, Kalafi, and Taiana are the friendliest and most gracious host and their tropical getaway is a true deserted island experience. My wife and I are avid snorkellers and this location never disappointed us. A few minutes walk either left or right down the beach and gorgeous reef teeming with fish and marine invertebrates await those that want the experience. Our first day there we went on a walkabout thru the interior of the island to see the other side. We took along their dog Scooby who just went chasing pigs and chickens while we tramped thru the forest. Just before we found the other side we heard the chatter from the trees and looked up to find that we were underneath the flying fox or fruit bat roost. Too cool. We spent two weeks with this Tongan family and will definitely be back. While you are there listen to Kalafi's stories of old Tonga. Very interesting. Thank you also goes out to Noah and Finau's son Malakai for the beautiful shell he presented to Dionne on our arrival and for climbing the coconut trees to get us our Tongan sodas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The location is stunning! The couple/ Tongan family who run it are the real deal, kind and helpful. The fales are super rustic prepare yourself for -- it's like camping. It really is the deserted island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moredaysoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

A perfect location for our Easter weekend away from church bells. You literally live ON the beach, so the swimmnig is good and there is a good snorkling spot a short walk away. It took us 3 hours to walk right around the island. These rest of our 3 day stay was whiled away reading books in hammocks. The beach front fales provide shelter from wind and rain and are great for enjoying the sun too. Comfortable mattresses, with mosquitto nets ensure a good night's sleep in this tranquill setting. Mosquitto coils were freely provided too. Our hosts went out of their way to make as welcome and as comfortable as possible. The bathroom block is basic, but adequate and we dined each night on the beach, watching stunning sunsets followed by moon rise and a wonderful display of stars. The food was good, filling Tongan style - fish, taro and a different sauce each night. I would reccommend you take some snacks and lunch food as of course there are no stores. Next time I will take more fruit and veggies - some salad with dinner would have been nice. We have already booked our return trip, during whale watching season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Taina's resort on Uoleva island is a perfect rustic getaway - accommodation is in a traditional Tongan hut which is spacious for sleeping and your luggage. You feel like you have the world to yourself with your hut at the water's edge with perfect sand and water only seconds away. The hosts Kalafi and Taina are very sweet, Kalafi is full of stories and is very open. You can help yourself to endless amounts of coconuts. Bring your own supplies for food and water. You can also request a cooked dinner by Taina which fish and coconut milk will certainly be ingredients, and most likely taro/cassava!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

This "resort" gave me and my partner the most comfortable and quiet week ever.. Location and atmosphere is unique, so are the hosts Taiana and Kalafi. We were the only guests and felt like being in someones home, eating their lovely homecooked and seldf-fished food.. Located basically ON the beach, dont hesitate, book your fale if youre going to Ha'pai now!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aotearoa (New Zealand)
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Taiana's Place is the best value you will find in Tonga! Beachfront "fales" - brekfast and dinner for 2 people for 7 days cost us T$395!! I almost felt guilty only paying kalafi that amount.

The location is stunning, long sandy beaches, palm tees, native bush... etc!

The snorkelling is quite good - although in general we found Tonga's snorkelling average in comparison to Fiji and other islands we have visited. It's still enjoyable though and you see some interesting fish - just not the bright colored coral that I love.

Kalafi and Taiana are absolutely gorgeous. Such lovely people. Kalafi is so proud of his piece of paradise and you can tell that he just lives for Uoleva island - which is so nice to see. Far too many Tongans and Samoans just want to leave the islands and live in Australia or new Zealand.

The beach fales are very basic - but clean. The toilet facilities are are also pretty clean.

The only thing that i would like to see Taiana's resort doing - is tidying their rubbish up a little more. there are lots of glass bottles and bits and pieces of old building materials lying round the back of the resort. It's not a biggy but the place would look much neater if they weren't there. It's tough though because the location is so remote - rubbish must be a huge problem for all the resorts out there.

All in all Taiana's place is a big thumbs up. I would recommend spending at least 4 or 5 days there. We were originally staying for 3 - but ended up staying for 7...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

I went there , just intending to stay for three nights prior to exploring other parts of Haapai, but found it absolutely relaxing . I read six novels in the eight nights that I spent there . There is no electricity on the Island, only about six permanent residents, no roads , tracks or anything , only pristine sandy beaches all around the island. It takes three hours to walk around the island, you can swim safely anywhere., the snorkelling is amazing. I found the whole place the ultimate in de -stressing. Its amazing hour quick the time flies by without the pressures of work, telephones , tv .etc. Kalafi and Tianna were kind and generous hosts , but never intrusive, The meals were often very delicious,sometimes basic, and the Fales were clean ,the grounds tidy . There were no mosquitos. Over the years i have visited many parts of the pacific , but this place is now my my favourite. Can.t wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtowngeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uoleva Island
0.0 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenity Beaches Resort
Serenity Beaches Resort
#1 of 1 in Uoleva Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Foa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taiana's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taiana's Resort

Property: Taiana's Resort
Address: | Uoleva Island, Uoleva Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Ha'apai Islands > Uoleva Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Uoleva Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Taiana's Resort Tonga/Uoleva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing