We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hogs Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Awsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Bargain Weekend”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A Bargain from Booking.com - 2 nights for the price of one, turned out to be an excellent buy. The staff were as friendly and helpful as you could ask for, and went the extra mile. The two breakfasts and dinner we had were excellent home cooked food. The room, although narrow, was very clean and comfortable and had plenty of complimentary hot drinks. Thank you everyone at Hogs Head, we had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham And Muri... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, General Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon, Fancy some Christmas Shopping and a party night come and see us in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    66
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
51
92
13
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff and locals using the bar were all very welcoming and friendly. The food was plain and simple, my room was small but contained everything I needed. The price was very reasonable. The hotel is located near IKEA just off J26 of the M1 and is easy to find.

Room Tip: Noisy floorboards in the room above room 9 can be disturbing if the occupants are walking about in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, General Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the review, sorry about the creaky floorboards that part of the hotel is 300 years old and its a constant battle to stop little things like that cropping up but we will do our best. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We go here regularly for Sunday lunch and enjoy it every time. It's not your typical plastic "Toby Calvary" it's good honest food. If you go midweek the home made chips are a real bonus. If you're wanting good food, not fast food it's worth a try

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank uk_richy_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, General Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us and we hope to see you soon but don't forget to book Sundays are usually busy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thank you Hoggs Head for a very welcoming stay this weekend, we had three rooms booked for the Download festival, great location, just a 20 min drive from Donington Park. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, the rooms clean, what more can I say - had a great weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrainesway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, General Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the review and glad we could be of help with your visit to download festival not so muddy this year so no need to deploy our wellie wash. Don't forget to book early for Download 2014 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked two rooms at this hotel for a friend and myself who were staying for two nights to attend a wedding nearby. We wanted to avoid the normal "budget chain" hotels and this offered very good value (booked through Booking.com 2 rooms, 2 nights, B&B was £132 in total). I arrived rather later than planned on Friday night due to traffic but having called ahead I had a warm, friendly greeting and felt it was not a problem. Everyone was friendly and helpful. A good breakfast choice and a bonus to be included in the price. Some quiet background overnight traffic noise and some machinery whirring in the morning but to be expected given the location. Lots of parking. We were a bit apprehensive that there would be pub noise but actually it closes fairly early so not a problem at all. A little dated in areas but really for the price it was excellent.

Room Tip: We asked for two quiet rooms near to each other and stayed in 6 and 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the hogs head so good infact we stayed an extra night, all staff very friendly manager very helpful as was the chef.we had a nice ground floor room, lovely big bed had a great sleep all three nights... Well done hogs head we will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne131966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Think you have given us a new tag line "So good we stayed an extra night" Lovely to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you back here sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Hog's Head. We found the hotel very good, for value, service and cleanliness. We ate there the first night and enjoyed the food, well cooked and well priced. The breakfast was also very good. In particular the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Only one small point.Our room was newly refurbished to a good standard, but would have been even better with some 'pegs/hooks' in bathroom to hang the towels up with...but minor point.
Definately recommend a stay here.

We also went for a drink at the nearby 'real ale' pub the Gate Inn...super place..really recommend this also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for the feedback will look into the towel hanger situation and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awsworth
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,207 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
625 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
615 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Trowell M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogs Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogs Head Hotel

Property: The Hogs Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Awsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet corner of the Nottinghamshire village of Awsworth this small but well appointed hotel is reputed to have been an old coaching house. It is ideally positioned for the long distance traveller being one and a half miles from the M1, and being about the half way mark between London and Scotland. For the local business man, between Nottingham, Derby, Ilkeston and Hucknall.For the tourist it is in the heart of D. H. Lawrence country being under two miles from his birthplace and museum at Eastwood and just off the main approach to the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hogs Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing