We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absaloutly perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hogs Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hogs Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Awsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absaloutly perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights friday 1 and sat 2 march. On arrival staff very friendly and allowed us to check in early.. we stayed in room 3 which i can only describe as perfect lovely en suite and very comfortable bed. Staff could not of been more helpful. Breakfast both mornings was fantastic with plenty of choice. Meals were fantastic value in the resturaunt and very tasty drink prices also good. We will definatly be going back thank you all at the hogs head for an excellent weekend
Darrell and Mechelle

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your time with us come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    65
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
88
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in 'traditional' room 8 exactly as shown in Review photos. Everything worked and room/hotel was very clean & warm. En-suite shower & toilet is small; check when booking so the room provided will satisfy your personal needs. There are also refurbished/modernised rooms, so there is a choice to make on booking.
Simple pub food was cooked fresh and very good value, and there is a well stocked bar. Well frequented by locals which is always a great endorsement. free wifi throughout. The excellent cooked English breakfast will set you up for the day ahead but the self-serve cereals needs expanding with fruits and yogurts at least; the hot water urn with tea and coffee sachets needs to be removed and fresh pots of tea/coffee included in the table service - make these small changes and the breakfast will be complete.
Good car park with plenty of room and safe places for commercial vans. Very friendly & helpful staff - just ask if you need anything for your room (iron & board for example).
Overall a satisfactory stay, quiet location and good night's sleep - perfect for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumpybumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to give a a review, hope we can welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean and welcoming
Friendly service from staff
Good value for my two day business stay.
Evening meals tasty and well priced.

BUT if you use the satnav to find it then keep on driving a few hundred yards down the road and turn left at the end.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for your time leaving a review glad we made your stay a good one and you enjoyed our food. Hope to see you when you are next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had driven over 250 miles to attend a family funeral and chose the Hogs Head because I knew it from when I lived in the area. Check in was at 2pm but as this was the time of the funeral the owners made sure that the room was ready for 12 noon. The single room was classed as standard, but it had every facility that I could possibly want. It was clean, warm and quiet and the breakfast was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Sandra,

Thanks for the review sorry your visit was not for a different reason, but we are glad we could help. Hope you can come back soon for one of our weekend breaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pub with rooms at the end of a country lane near A610 & M1 Junc 26 North Nottingham. Very friendly family-run establishment offering very comfortable room & bathroom. Outstanding value roast dinner for just £4 but not out of a packet, 3 fresh veg, lots of mash, a roastie & yorkshire pudd with nice pint of bitter. Bathroom recently refurbished to high standard, Local customers in pub in the evening dwindled down to handful of overnight guests, good hearty breakfast in morning, friendly staff. Lane could have been a challenge in snowy weather but it had all been cleared so no problem. Why bother with anonymous chain when you can have a local place like this for a stopover?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucks_Travelbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and we lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for one of our "Shop Till You Drop" weekend deals soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last night in room 5 having stayed two weeks ago in room 12. We were welcomed warmly by John the Manager and fellow Mrs Browns Boys fan who true to his word provided us a room with a bigger tv as we are at that age where the old eyes cant see the small screens so well. This stay too was on business and we didnt expect to be back so soon but immediately booked the Hogs Head as we had so enjoyed our previous visit. Within a few minutes of being in the room one of the bulbs went, John replaced it immediately. This room was in the older part of the hotel , it was very clean, spacious and well equipped. Down in the bar we chatted to John and again he was extremely helpful with dietary requests and allowing the meal to be finish in the room. The choice was plentiful and great value for money. Our bed was comfy and we slept well. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, toast, fruit and cooked, including poached eggs or omelettes and usual teas,coffee and friut juice, so you never leave the Hogs Head feeling hungry. We cant wait until we can actually get to stay here on a social visit so we can stay longer and enjoy it and its lovely grounds even longer. Many thanks to John and Staff for making us welcome and providing such wonderful hospitality. We hope to see you all again soon. Stephen & Carol Packer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bridg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello again,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed the stopover. You need to bring the good lady back in the summer for one of our weekend deal have a look at the website. You know you really need to do some shopping!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff were friendly and made us feel "at home" as soon as we walked in the front door. John, the duty manager, actually escorted us to our room to ensure we were happy with our choice,room 6. The room wasn't the largest we've stayed in but it was immaculately laid out. Matteress was a bit too firm for my liking but still managed a good night's rest. The shower wasn't the most powerful but I think a good "de-scale" of the shower head may increase the flow.There was a droning sound in the morning, our room overlooked the back garden.Maybe a room overlooking the carpark would be a better choice if you wish to have a lie in?
We used the hotel as a stop over, to avoid an very early start the following day. This gave us the ideal situation to sample their extensive menu.Could not fault the standard of the food or the polite and speedy service.The burning log fire made you forget how cold and snowy it was outside.Breakfast was up to the same high standard as the evening meals but I was a little bit disappointed to discover that although the menu started off with "Fresh tea and fresh coffee" the coffee was a help yourself affair from a water boiler and sachets of nescafe.
The hotel served it's purpose to a T and was good value for money. Will certainly stay there again if we're in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Suspect that rooms overlooking the carpark will be quieter, droning sound coming from back garden ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepilks408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for the review nice positive just what we like to keep us on our toes and we will look into the drone? Glad you enjoyed the stopover and we hope to welcome you back again for a weekend break go on you know you want to! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awsworth
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham West Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
5.7 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogs Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogs Head Hotel

Property: The Hogs Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Awsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet corner of the Nottinghamshire village of Awsworth this small but well appointed hotel is reputed to have been an old coaching house. It is ideally positioned for the long distance traveller being one and a half miles from the M1, and being about the half way mark between London and Scotland. For the local business man, between Nottingham, Derby, Ilkeston and Hucknall.For the tourist it is in the heart of D. H. Lawrence country being under two miles from his birthplace and museum at Eastwood and just off the main approach to the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hogs Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing