We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value simple overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hogs Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Awsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value simple overnight stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pub with rooms at the end of a country lane near A610 & M1 Junc 26 North Nottingham. Very friendly family-run establishment offering very comfortable room & bathroom. Outstanding value roast dinner for just £4 but not out of a packet, 3 fresh veg, lots of mash, a roastie & yorkshire pudd with nice pint of bitter. Bathroom recently refurbished to high standard, Local customers in pub in the evening dwindled down to handful of overnight guests, good hearty breakfast in morning, friendly staff. Lane could have been a challenge in snowy weather but it had all been cleared so no problem. Why bother with anonymous chain when you can have a local place like this for a stopover?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucks_Travelbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and we lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for one of our "Shop Till You Drop" weekend deals soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    65
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
50
92
13
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last night in room 5 having stayed two weeks ago in room 12. We were welcomed warmly by John the Manager and fellow Mrs Browns Boys fan who true to his word provided us a room with a bigger tv as we are at that age where the old eyes cant see the small screens so well. This stay too was on business and we didnt expect to be back so soon but immediately booked the Hogs Head as we had so enjoyed our previous visit. Within a few minutes of being in the room one of the bulbs went, John replaced it immediately. This room was in the older part of the hotel , it was very clean, spacious and well equipped. Down in the bar we chatted to John and again he was extremely helpful with dietary requests and allowing the meal to be finish in the room. The choice was plentiful and great value for money. Our bed was comfy and we slept well. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, toast, fruit and cooked, including poached eggs or omelettes and usual teas,coffee and friut juice, so you never leave the Hogs Head feeling hungry. We cant wait until we can actually get to stay here on a social visit so we can stay longer and enjoy it and its lovely grounds even longer. Many thanks to John and Staff for making us welcome and providing such wonderful hospitality. We hope to see you all again soon. Stephen & Carol Packer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bridg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello again,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed the stopover. You need to bring the good lady back in the summer for one of our weekend deal have a look at the website. You know you really need to do some shopping!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff were friendly and made us feel "at home" as soon as we walked in the front door. John, the duty manager, actually escorted us to our room to ensure we were happy with our choice,room 6. The room wasn't the largest we've stayed in but it was immaculately laid out. Matteress was a bit too firm for my liking but still managed a good night's rest. The shower wasn't the most powerful but I think a good "de-scale" of the shower head may increase the flow.There was a droning sound in the morning, our room overlooked the back garden.Maybe a room overlooking the carpark would be a better choice if you wish to have a lie in?
We used the hotel as a stop over, to avoid an very early start the following day. This gave us the ideal situation to sample their extensive menu.Could not fault the standard of the food or the polite and speedy service.The burning log fire made you forget how cold and snowy it was outside.Breakfast was up to the same high standard as the evening meals but I was a little bit disappointed to discover that although the menu started off with "Fresh tea and fresh coffee" the coffee was a help yourself affair from a water boiler and sachets of nescafe.
The hotel served it's purpose to a T and was good value for money. Will certainly stay there again if we're in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Suspect that rooms overlooking the carpark will be quieter, droning sound coming from back garden ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepilks408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for the review nice positive just what we like to keep us on our toes and we will look into the drone? Glad you enjoyed the stopover and we hope to welcome you back again for a weekend break go on you know you want to! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Just left the Hogs Head Hotel after one night spent in room 12. We arrived in ice and snow but the owner had taken the time to grit the lane into the hotel and carpark, what a pity the local council cant be as helpful with the road leading down. We were given a lovely welcome and the room was warm and spotless. Only one thing is that as our eyesight isnt brilliant, well purely an over 50s thing we found the tv a bit small but thats minor thing. We went into the lounge bar in the evening for a meal and explained my wife has recently had a big operation affecting her gastric and stomach so therefore could only eat small amounts and also takes a long time to eat. The Ladies on duty were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for them or the Chef and they did a beautiful roast meal for myself and a small meal for my Wife and she was allowed to finish this in the room. The bed was really comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice with friendly Staff and the Chef cooks to perfection. I have previously stayed here on business and this too was a business trip but a first visit here for my Wife. A big thankyou to the owners and Staff for creating such a great atmosphere in lovely surroundings, both inside and out and for going to the trouble of providing the history and information of Hogs Head in the rooms, not many do that and it was interesting reading. All in all we cant praise this Hotel enough, in fact they could teach the big hotel chains a thing or two, great value as. well, we didnt really want to leave but will definately be back but on a social visit next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillon2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your time reviewing our hotel, we have worked hard over the last weeks with the bad weather to keep our drive and carpark clear for guests, We even cleared the road at the end of the drive! On your next visit remind us re the TV and we will try and get you in a room with a larger one. Don't for get to check our website and Facebook page for the latest offers. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hogs head is a friendly, clean and welcoming hotel .All of the food is fresh and cooked in the hotel, nothing frozen everything fresh.
They cook the best Sunday roast you will ever eat. The staff are friendly and helpful we are certainly looking forward to our Christmas dinner in the week they serve for only £12-50 for a three course dinner and coffee.
I would recomend the hotel to anyone who likes fresh home cooked food .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, General Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your time reviewing our hotel we are glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you to our Christmas Celebrations.

The Christmas Carvery and party nights are going great and already we have return bookings for 2013 thanks to guests like yourself who appreciate good food with a great atmosphere. Have a Merry Christmas from us all at the Hogs Head Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights on the way from the west midlands to lincoln with visits to the peak district and Nottingham which are both very close. We had no chance to have dinner here, although it looked ver busy as we came back quite late, but breakfast was certainly very good. Everyone was friendly, the room was not large but sufficient and we enjoyed a good sleep. A bit difficult to find on the first day, as we first arrived in Awsworth Lane on the other side of the A road and could not cross and had to find our way around to the other side.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, General Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for the review glad you enjoyed your breakfast, Looks like a return trip is needed for a meal in the restaurant.

Keep an eye on the website for our special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked a single room on the basis of other reviews and I was certainly not disappointed, I was made to feel very welcome on my arrival and the room was warm, clean and comfortable, the bathroom was small but perfectly functional. I ate in the bar and the food was very reasonably priced and far better than the offering in a lot of other more expensive hotels I have stayed at. I needed to leave slightly before normal breakfast time the following day but they opened breakfast early for me - excellent service and I'll definitely be staying again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Squeaky floorboards can be heard in the rooms below so maybe an upstairs room might be needed if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, General Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hi MJ,

Thanks for the review your time is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awsworth
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,203 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham West Hotel
4.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
613 reviews
5.7 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogs Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogs Head Hotel

Property: The Hogs Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Awsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet corner of the Nottinghamshire village of Awsworth this small but well appointed hotel is reputed to have been an old coaching house. It is ideally positioned for the long distance traveller being one and a half miles from the M1, and being about the half way mark between London and Scotland. For the local business man, between Nottingham, Derby, Ilkeston and Hucknall.For the tourist it is in the heart of D. H. Lawrence country being under two miles from his birthplace and museum at Eastwood and just off the main approach to the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hogs Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing