We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hogs Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Awsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was in the ideal location for my visit to the area. Plenty of parking. I had a meal which was well prepared and presented, the cost of which was very reasonable. There was a large menu choice.
The room was clean and well stocked with the makings for drinks.
The next one is a first for me - the television worked properly and all the expected channels were available AND the free wi-fi worked with no problems - UNBELIEVABLE - well done Hogs Head, other hotels should copy you.
The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello Dimelord,

Thanks for the review, much appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be back with us again soon. Check out our website for what's on in the area and our special deals. Your comments are very useful and help us keep the standards we set rising.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    64
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
87
13
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights here, needed some where near Ripley to visit our frends. Service was first rate, nice warm welcome when we arrived, nice room and comfy bed, didn't sleep well though as the weather was so hot!! Great brekkie in the morning from smilling staff, only minor complaint was no mirrows near a plug so difficult to see to dry your hair, lady thing!! Over all an enjoyable stay, would stay agin!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiequested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi Debbie glad you enjoyed your stay with us yes it was a really hot few days probably the Hogs Head Micro climate! Will look into the position of the socket for the hairdryer and see what can be done thanks for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Loved the place first visit won't be the last food is great and I'm a chef my self cooked to a great standard cheap and the hotel all in all is just relaxing peaceful place to get away from a busy life ! :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrwiggles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks Mrwiggles for your review much appreciated I will pass on your comments to our chef.

Hope to welcome you back soon thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Toon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a lovely family run hotel, bar and restaurant. The staff and the friendly welcome make it what it is. Unfortunately the rooms are looking a little bit tired and dated, woodchip on the walls, sink in the bedroom, very small TV, very difficult to watch. If you aren't going to be in the room much then this is more than compensated by the fantastic homemade food, the great value, selection of beers and very warm welcome. Really handy for the M1 yet has a real country pub feel. My advice is spend as much time as you can eating and drinking in the bar and retaurant and then you won't notice the room so much.

Room Tip: Only saw the one room but we looked onto the carpark at the front of the hotel but there were fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toontoontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hi ToonToon Traveller, Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to review your visit. Your room was in the original part of the building which dates back around 300 years so when converted to a hotel we had to be a little imaginative with the plumbing so choose to have a full size sink in the location you describe rather than try and squeeze a small one into the shower room. Thanks for the comments on the food and service we work hard to ensure that our guests are helped if required as much as they wish with directions and transport options. Just got to agree with you re our guests spending as much time eating and drinking in the bar that's a hotel owner mission. Hope to see you again soon and good luck with the house hunting not to far away we hope so you can come and join us for our Sunday Carvery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackbridge
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great staff great food great room great sleep oh and great bar service!! I booked because of proximity to M1 I had an evening meal and a breakfast both of which were........ great cooked by a chef who doesn't drink!!! how strange is that? I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends who might be in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dougie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hi Dougie,

Thanks for taking time to review the Hogs Head Hotel, Yes it was a busy night and as you saw we sometimes have to go above and beyond for our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, How about making a weekend of it check our website or Facebook page for special offers. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip a few months ago. The hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking and check-in was nice and quick. The hotel/restaurant has a lot of character and the rooms are basic but adequate and clean and the bed was really comfortable - I slept like a log. One comment I would make about the room is that the heating was on and there was no way to turn it off so I left the window open overnight which meant there were a few loud noises around 6am as I had a room overlooking some tractors but other than that I had a great night's sleep.
The food in the restaurant is amazing for the price which is reflected by the popularity of the locals flocking to eat here around dinner time. I would recommend the homemade garlic bread and the cajun chicken.
I was in the area a few weeks later for anoher business trip and requested to stay at the same place with work so I could try something else on the menu.
Overall a very lovely hotel with friendly staff and if I'm ever in the area again I will definitely be staying here. Or at the very least, eating here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello Moominparky, (Great Name)

We really appreciate you taking time to leave a review for the Hogs Head Hotel, Reviews keep us on our toes. Glad you enjoyed our rooms and food.

We are sorting the radiators at the moment and as part of our green policy and will be utilising our solar panels to power the heating system.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and keep an eye on our website for some great special offers and you can now follow us on Facebook too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Food was lovely but the room was far from acceptable. View onto storage containers and rubbish, old landrovers, etc. Cobwebs, old chewing gum marks visible when laid in bed. Pillows like concrete TV so far away couldn't be watched! Colour scheme very scary indeed!
Staff in restaurant were lovely, as was food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello Alison, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, unfortunately you did not bring your concerns to us during your stay so we were unable to deal with them at the time for you. The rooms you booked for your stay are very popular with many repeat bookings.Sorry the room decor was not to your taste, we do describe them as traditional/standard rooms and there are pictures of these rooms on this website, our website (hogsheadhotel.co.uk) and booking.com.
Our investigations have found that the marks described under the shelf were caused by the kettle in the room being boiled whilst under the shelf. With regard to the view out of the window the vehicles you describe are used as part of our charity work, one of our directors has been raising funds for Macmillan Nurses but taking part in a charity drive across Australia. Once again thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awsworth
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham West Hotel
2.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
5.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogs Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogs Head Hotel

Property: The Hogs Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Awsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet corner of the Nottinghamshire village of Awsworth this small but well appointed hotel is reputed to have been an old coaching house. It is ideally positioned for the long distance traveller being one and a half miles from the M1, and being about the half way mark between London and Scotland. For the local business man, between Nottingham, Derby, Ilkeston and Hucknall.For the tourist it is in the heart of D. H. Lawrence country being under two miles from his birthplace and museum at Eastwood and just off the main approach to the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hogs Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing