We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hall Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hall Hills
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just back from our third stay at Hall Hills and as good as ever. The cottages are lovely and clean and a fantastic place to stay in a wonderfully peaceful location. Jude and Tim are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The selection of toys and DVDs in the laundry are great for the kids if the weather closes in. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had our second stay at Hall Hills with a large group of 15 adults and 7 children. Once again we had a fantastic stay. Jude and Tim were very accommodating, cottage was simply stunning, perfect for children with games and toys provided, excellent sound system, very clean and a real home from home. Would recommend these cottages to families or large groups and a great base to see the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather_Muirhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful place and a lovely host. We spent 4 days and could have stayed forever that is how beautiful the property was. I can fully understand why it is winning awards and is a credit to Jude and her husband for providing such a welcoming and inviting place to stay. We where very sorry to leave. Ther is eveything you would need and more for your stay at Hall Hills and the surrounding country side is just as beautiful. It was one of the many highlights of our trip and one I will never forget. Thank you once again form Joe, Elaine, Robert & Linda (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you like a quality place to stay this is it......this is the second stay here and I have to say that it is one of the best places I have stayed in a long time. Everything you need is here and nothing is too much trouble hats off too the owners for a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: all the cottages are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivHowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at Hall Hills for a long weekend with a group of 18 friends and couldn't have wished for better accommodation. We had all of the cottages booked and each was beautifully clean and had great facilities - the built in speaker system being a particular highlight! I can imagine that staying as a couple, family or smaller group in any of the cottages would be a fantastic experience as well. The area is picturesque with easy access to Carlisle and plenty of relaxing countryside walks.

The service from owners Jude and Tim matches the quality of the accommodation. They are truly lovely people, very relaxed and easy to chat to which only enhanced our stay.

I can't recommend Hall Hills highly enough so if you're thinking of staying there, do it! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

18 of us 25-35 year olds got together for a long weekend from all over the county. We ordered our food and drink to be delivered for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in comfort and style. No bedroom was a short straw, all equally unique and comforting. The Folly together with built in speaker system and free wifi allowed is to wine, dine and party together until the small hours.
All rooms and facilities were impeccably clean and we were greeted with a warm welcome by the owners on site.
We didn't make use of the onside bar but I can imagine it would be a lovely touch for a special event.
Fantastic place to get together of for a romantic break. Thank you
Hall Hills for a memorable one!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoggsyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed with our two cocker spaniels in March and it was lovely. Jude the owner couldn't be more welcoming and there was a lovely welcome pack with local produce on arrival. The accommodation was modern and clean with some fancy extras like the fact you could play music in all the rooms. My wife and I found it relaxing like a home from home with great walks in the area, the pups seemed to like it too. Would definitely recommend it and will go back with friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnscarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hall Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Hills

Property: Hall Hills
Address: Hall Hills Raughton Head, Dalston, Carlisle CA5 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Dalston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dalston
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hall Hills is a cluster of 5 4-star and 5-star self-catering cottages that have been given a gold award by Visit Britain. They offer luxurious self-catering in a lovely part of Cumbria close to the Lake District and not far from Carlisle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing