We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for hiking Hadrian's Wall”
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We loved this small boutique hotel, conveneiently located near Carlisle, UK. We had always wanted to hike a portion of Hadrian's Wall and this was the perfect base. Our hosts showed us maps and advised on best hikes. The trail proved muddier than we anticipated and we arrived back at Willowbeck with muddy shoes and jeans. They washed our shoes and clothes with a smile and returned all clean the next morning.
Dinners were a real treat. They dicussed our tastes and preferences each day and made a menu with great choices tailored to us! Room was very clean and quiet and quite comfortable. We highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviaGalveston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Willowbeck Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently stayed at Willowbeck Lodge for 3 nights. Wow, what a gorgeous place. The building and the gardens are beautiful. The lodge is superb, with 2 guest lounges and a dining area. The main lounge and dining area are first class with fantastic views of the garden, which is beautiful and has a large pond that attracts interesting wildlife. It also has a beautiful stone wall and a log burning stove. Our room was suburb, and spacious, with a juliette balcony overlooking the garden.The breakfasts were gorgeous, as was the evening meal. The pace of the lodge is laid back and informal.

John and Liz the owners are brilliant. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and attend to your every need, nothing is too much trouble. They are a lovely couple and we enjoyed a lovely evening having a chat and relaxing with a drink in the garden.

This place is definately worth a visit and we highly recommend it.

Thanks John and Liz for a lovely stay

Room Tip: We stayed in the Willow Room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Back for a second visit to this lovely little village and gorgeous B&B. Once again visiting family in the area and were made very welcome. My husband ate far too much of the breakfast!. but we had a wonderful nights sleep in their really comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Vsited last year with friends - we were so impressed we returned this year in spite of living fairly locally. We had the searate cottage, with 2 ensuites(small), and lots of space to relax in.
The evening meal was worthy of a very special occasion - excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I had an overnight stay here on our way from the Midlands to the Isle of Arran. Willowbeck is a few minutes from the M6, but could be in another world, it is so peaceful. Our stay was perfect, from the moment we arrived until our departure after breakfast the following morning.
The owners were themselves away, but we were welcomed by Sue, who showed us to our room, the Willow, which was fresh and clean, with a large bathroom and a Juliette balcony, overlooking the garden and lake. A while later, Sue earned extra brownie points by producing a killer vodka based cocktail - not what you would normally be offered in your usual B & B. She then went on to produce a delicious dinner, all freshly prepared. The following morning, we had an amazing breakfast, again freshly cooked to order, by Hazel. We have stayed in many B & Bs in the US, but have never found any to equal them in the UK, until now. Willowbeck is a wonderful place and is a credit to all concerned. Congratulations.

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms are good here, but it was nice to be in the Willow, where we were able to open t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed two nights at Willowbeck, the second night being our wedding night. The location was superb for our Gretna wedding and Willowbeck was peaceful and relaxing. We were able to take lovely pictures with privacy in the beautiful surroundings. The inside was spotless with hosts paying great attention to detail. The food was diviine and upon hearing of our forthcoming marriage on arrival, a bespoke evening meal was prepared with a wedding card from the owners and fresh flowers on the table. John and Liz are the perfect hosts in a perfect venue. Our stay was heaven and we would not hesitate to recommend Willowbeck Lodge.

Room Tip: Willow room was very spacious with a wonderful view, ample storage space and good size bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I were travelling back from a trip to Scotland ,where some expensive and highly hyped B & Bs were somewhat disappointing, We broke our journey in Carlisle, having made a previous internet booking for Willowbeck Lodge. What a delight awaited us...all the website info was correct and the place exceeded our expectations. We were made to feel like old friends and after a beautiful meal cooked by Liz we settled down for the evening with a few drinks with the hosts and set the world to rights. The house is extremely stylish and very clean - we had a lovely ensuite bedroom and a great cooked breakfast the next morning. I can't find a negative thing to comment upon! From the warm welcome and excellent service to the stylish ambience and catering, this is indeed a 5 star establishment. If we return to stay in Carlisle, this is where we will be.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,014 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Warwick Hall
Warwick Hall
#12 of 61 in Carlisle
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range: $169 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing