We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, one not to be missed.”
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire U
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb, one not to be missed.”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Willowbeck Lodge has set the standard for all other establishments to emulate.
The term "Bed and Breakfast" doesn't convey the luxury, comfort and delicious food provided by its charming hosts John and Liz McGrillis.
I would recommend booking dinner as you will not be disappointed.
I have no hesitation in recommending this 5 Star establishment.
Dave & Kath.

Room Tip: Book dinner, they are great cooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
122
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I travelled up to Carlilse on the Settle to Carlisle Railway, staying over at Willowbeck Lodge. This B & B certainly lives up to it's 5* award and the hosts, Liz & John are extremely welcoming. Willowbeck is in a very tranquil setting and the rooms are extremely spacious with everything you could want. We had a lovely evening meal on the Saturday and breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious and plenty of it. We were going for our train directly after breakfast and asked Liz and John if we could have a taxi, however John insisted on driving us to the station. Not only, that, before the train left Liz came running down the platform with my glasses which I had left in the room. Above and beyond the call of duty and we would certainly make a return trip to this B&B if we go up to Carlisle again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

What a fantastic place! The rooms are warm, comfortable and immaculate with super bathrooms. Have stayed in many hotels and resorts in the USA and have always been impressed at how clean, fresh and spacious they seemed compared to the UK. Well, having stayed at Willowbeck I am delighted to say that good old Blighty is well and truly back on the map for me. This place takes "B&B" to another level. Stayed three nights with my wife and two kids and we were made to feel as welcome as old friends. John and Liz do a fantastic job looking after their guests and I was amazed by their energy and genuine pleasure at looking after us. The breakfasts are magic, but I have to say that the awesome roast beef we were served on the Sunday afternoon was the best I have ever had anywhere! Location is great, only a few minutes from the M6 and access to the Lakes etc. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickrick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Together with my wife, daughter/husband and toddler, we stayed at this lovely place from the 29th to the 31st January 2012. Both proprietors made us very welcome and the smile from Liz
(one of the proprietors) was genuine. John (Liz's husband) kept on asking us if we wanted more food at breakfast and I think we have all put weight on because of this short stay near Carlisle !! The place is quite elegant and stylish throughout. But the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The pond opposite the main building brought up a pleasand bucolic feeling to the place. In spite of the cold, the ducks were moving about quite happily. But one, was quite still and would not move at all (later on we found out it was made of plastic !! a gift from a satisfied client some months ago !!).
Finally the rooms were all very clean and comfortable and we are now planning to go back in the Summer to better explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Our rooms had under floor heating which was very welcome in these quite cold days we spent in Carlis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carioca15001906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2011

With a wonderful setting, and an appealing architect designed property, we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. We feel the hosts went beyond the call of duty, and helped with many of our additional arrangements. With all the necessary facilities, and stylish décor giving a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are very happy to recommend Willowbeck.

Room Tip: Adjoining cottage with kitchen good for a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakewell
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had the most delicious meal of loin of pork, it was tender, moist and tasty. The family were so helpful and the room was huge, so clean and so well equipped. We were even given fresh milk on our tea tray. The following morning the breaksfast was really outstanding - one of the best we have ever had. We very much hope to return next time we go to Scotland and want to break the journey. What a find, this is an outstanding gem with hosts who are prepared to go the extra mile to look after their guests.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashfordh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This gem just off the M6 was a wonderful suprise.
The owners are a joy,the food lovely and the rooms have everything you could want.
Recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
991 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
991 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#15 of 20 in Carlisle
222 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Property: Willowbeck Lodge
Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing