We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dukes Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$73
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinegrove Hotel(Carlisle)
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Carlisle(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$76
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
37
36
11
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
36
11
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish cakeschocolate brownielovely atmosphereopen firepieadverse reviewspuddinglasagnawarm welcomenext morningbreakfast was excellentsalmonalesdogbarmaidscrummy
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 102 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We've visited a couple of times over recent weeks & I have to say that we received a great welcome from the Licensee & the team on each occasion. Our second visit was to celebrate my wife's birthday with family & friends, the team really made that extra effort to make the evening a success. The food was well presented, cooked to perfection & were generous portions too. Our visit coincided with their Friday night steak night offer, any steak for under a tenner, so great value too. Well done to the team at the Dukes Head!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Be_Steve09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Male owner unprofessional in the way he 'greated' us. Room very poor, would not consider staying there again unless the current owner move on and the rooms (especially room 2)has a complete facelift. Village was nice and nearby pub very good, they were warm and welcoming!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were directed to the Duke`s Head Hotel by a young man on reception in our Travelodge, south Carlisle. How grateful we are to him, even though it was miles away from our base, we plodded on through narrow lanes, diversions, almost giving up hope of getting there, how glad are we that we persevered.
Expecting a usual pub meal, what a great surprise, it was terrific to find a welcoming attractive restaurant, lovely staff, (owners night off) superb food, plenty of it and beautifully presented, excellent value and we can`t wait to return and stay for 2 nights if they have room. We travel throughout Cumbria 2/3 times a year, and to have this hotel as a base would be great, but we shall see, it could be full when we ring, I hope not, it was a breath of fresh air.
Why people get upset to find the hotel hasn`t room, its obviously popular, but hasn`t got elastic sides, only having 4 rooms. P & M Hunt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Booked amazon deal for weekend away. Stayed over Easter weekend. Weather gorgeous. Location beautiful. Pub warm and welcoming as were the owners. Food excellent. Rooms well equipped. Large beer garden overlooking river. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWanderersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. English breakfast was quality, the snack lunch and evening meals were exceptional. The real ale was in good form especially the Dukes Head bitter. The rooms very comfortable and clean. Staff were pleasant, polite and made our stay a very pleasant one.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews