We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Years eve meal”
Review of Dukes Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dukes Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Armathwaite B&B and Inns
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent New Years eve meal”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We dined at the Dukes Head on new years eve with the family, lovely pub with excellent food especially the fish. Good varied selection of food on the menu, puddings also worth a try. The bar also had to good section of beers including guest beers from the area. Family friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturalharvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
17
48
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Under new licensees for the past 12 months this steadily improving, family run, village-centre pub/Hotel is worthy of a visit.
Among other improvements following its recent refurbishment the new landlord has introduced some new real ales on rotation and these are reasonably priced.

Well behaved dogs are still allowed in the pool-room bar, where bar meals can also be taken.

Alas not open at lunch time during the week (except over Christmas) roast Sunday lunches are currently £6.95 for one course, and there is also a full a la carte menu available and every evening too, with special offers on during the week.
Our latest visit a week before Christmas was for a family birthday and 8 of us were accommodated very warmly, in the welcoming dining area with its real fire, and all enjoyed their choice of meals with some lovely deserts available too.
Four of the party stayed overnight and were very complimentary about their 2 rooms.
Yes we shall return.

Room Tip: I believe all but one bedroom is en suite. At least one has a large king sized bed. Both rooms exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven Cumb
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in late November on a voucher deal and used the Dukes Head as a base for an afternoon in Carlisle.
Dropped our stuff in the room and caught the 13.11 train into Carlisle on the Settle to Carlisle line. Had a great afternoon round the bars of Carlisle before catching the train back about 6ish.
Quick wash and change before eating in the pub. We had a table reserved which was fortunate as the place was packed which is always a good indicator of the calibre of the food.
Our meals were great, lots of choice and very well cooked and presented. Staff were fab, had a quick chat with the owners who are going through a refurb program and making a good job of it too.
Our room was fine if a little small and the bathroom was dated but probably due a refurb soon.
My sister in law stayed in a much bigger room and said it was also fine.
We had a nice weekend and are going back in the new year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 8netherfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited this Hotel/country pub whilst staying with relatives in the area. The food was excellent and they even went out of their way to do a special pasta dish for the children which wasn't on the menu. The owners were very warm and welcoming. As i understand it, this place as been undergoing some what of a refurbishment following a change of ownership and is now certainly a very bright and welcoming environment, with lovely restaurant area and a very good menu. Including venison pie which was fabulous. Located in a fantastic area for a walk and generally enjoying the countryside. Wish we lived closer so could visit more often.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dplambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a very nice stay at this dog friendly hotel, we were not made to feel like 2nd class citizens as stated in a previous review. The owner and staff made us feel most welcome and we look forward to returning soon. Really nice hotel in a lovely village, value for money, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themoorgraners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nothing too much trouble.
Clean comfortable room with all necessary amenities.
An excellent pub with good food in the restaurant (Dine with the locals) and a superb breakfast.
An extremely enjoyable experience with first rate service at a good price.

Room Tip: Room 5 The room we had was very comfortable and met all requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed with our dog for 2 nights and we were given a very warm and friendly welcome. The room was comfortable and very clean and given that the new owners are in the middle of upgrading and refurbishing the slightly tired looking bathroom is likely to improve. The food was excellent (the game pie is to die for) we would certainly return for another visit.
Victoria, Jane & Bert the dog

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armathwaite
8.6 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
202 reviews
3.2 mi away
Staffield Hall
Staffield Hall
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
992 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox & Pheasant Inn
Fox & Pheasant Inn
#1 of 2 in Armathwaite
209 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#1 of 1 in Warwick-on-Eden
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Head Inn

Property: Dukes Head Inn
Address: 2 Front Street, Armathwaite, Carlisle CA4 9PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Armathwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Armathwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke's Head Inn is in a popular Cumbrian village, set in the heart of the Eden Valley. Armathwaite is adjacent to the river Eden, popular with walkers, canoeists and anglers. Armathwaite's station, just a 5 minute walk from the Duke's Head, is on the Carlisle-Settle railway line. We have five letting rooms, with en-suite or private bathrooms. Our restaurant is open seven days a week, with daily, seasonal specials, We always have at least two cask ales available in our lounge and snug bars, where you are ensured of a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing