We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always a reliable Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox & Pheasant Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Armathwaite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fox & Pheasant Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Armathwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“As always a reliable Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A pleasant environment with great walks along the Eden followed by a good traditional Sunday lunch. Plenty of meat and veg, good beer and cheerful staff.

My only wish is that the beef could be cooked rare - but it seems as always Health and Safety have decided how we must eat our beef! Doesn't detract from the meal though

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    25
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
98
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lively "local" pub with bags of atmosphere. We were here for a family meal. Staff attentive even on a busy lunchtime. A problem with one of our "mains" was resolved efficiently and to our satisfaction. Starters are huge and in fact we found them so big that we did not completely enjoy our main courses. Private parking opposite. I would say booking a table is probably essential to avoid disappointment.

We will definitely be back and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Fox and Pheasant four or five times on various Salmon fishing trips to the beautiful Eden Valley. It is exactly waht you would hope for in a country inn. Great hosts, real ale, wonderful staff and the owners present either cooking a hearty breakfast or pulling you the first pint after a long day on the river. The food is also wonderful. I stayed in a nice bedroom with ensuite overlooving the filelds down to the river. You will love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lovely cosy bar with an open fire and a good selection of beers. Staff were very friendly, the food was good with lots of choice and generous portions. Breakfast was served at a time that suited us. Room was nicely decorated, warm and clean. There is wi-fi but only in the bar and the phone signal was patchy as you might expect from being out in the country! We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: we used three of the rooms and all were good quality, warm, and quiet so no worries about which one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This pub is simply gorgeous! The setting is stunning area. The staff were friendly. Our room was cold, which we did report so hopefully this is a quick fix that would make this hotel of excellent standard. No discount was offered, although we did not report it until the next morning, as we hoped the room would warm up. The shower was hot but the water not warm enough for a bath (again hopefully a quick fix of the heating system). The room was decorated to a high standard. There is a guest lounge with tv, which was also cold (although they would probably light the fire if you asked). The breakfast was good. Dinner was fine, in large servings. I would recommend this hotel, but if there is a problem, let them know as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxandPheasant, Owner at Fox & Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am really sorry that you felt your room was cold. If you had let us know we could have provided you with extra heaters or a hot water bottle ( as advised in our information book in the rooms) We checked with all the other guests who stayed that night and the next occupants of your room, all of whom said the rooms were warm and the water hot . Regarding the guest lounge , the fire had not been lit when you arrived ( although the fires were lit in the bar & snug) as I was putting up xmas decorations. I left the fire unlit when I had finished as your young children were in there alone watching television but I did switch the radiators on for them . Regarding discount my husband did reduce your bill by £30 by not charging you for the dinner,bed & breakfast package as originally booked or charging for one of your children
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We met up with friends from Scotland (halfway between and a lot more comfortable than Hadrians Wall). Excellent food; excellent beer; friendly service. A good base for local walking or wider excursions by car to the Wall or northern Lakes. Walking distance of station for Settle-Carlisle line.
Bedroom en-suite facilities of a high standard - just what is needed after a day out in the countryside. Cosy bar with open fire and unpretentious decor. Definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 with a great view across the meadows to the river Eden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here on our way back from Scotland and took advantage of their special offer for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast which was fantastic value. The bedroom was cosy, bright clean and had been refurbished but was in keeping with the charm of the aged building. Both breakfast and evening meals offered plenty of choice of good quality food with generous portions. The pub and restaurant are cosy, warm places to relax and enjoy the friendly atmosphere created by all the staff. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 which was a standard size double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armathwaite
0.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Staffield Hall
Staffield Hall
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dukes Head Inn
Dukes Head Inn
#2 of 2 in Armathwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Pheasant Inn

Property: Fox & Pheasant Inn
Address: Armathwaite, Carlisle CA4 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Armathwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Armathwaite
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Fox & Pheasant Hotel Armathwaite
Fox And Pheasant Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing