We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic little house”
other travelers have booked this property
Cragowlet House East
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cragowlet House East
Covered Porch.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Cragowlet House East
Covered Porch.
Front Garden.
View from the road.
Front Door.
Front Porch.
Main Hall.
Lounge.
Lounge.
Kitchen / Diner.
Master Bedroom.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3.
Bathroom.
View from front garden - looking towards Bute and Arran.
Rhododendron in flower.
View from the Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilcreggan, Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
franzpfef...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Fantastic little house”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Brian and Nancys House for 3 days and it was overall lovely. Nice house, great sorroundings and great landscape. It lay directly on the waterfront and we enjoyed more than one sunset there. They were very forthcoming with all of our requests and we thank them for letting us stay there.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Great guests. Good communication before they arrived and then left the house spotless when they left. Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta Oli...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and unforgettable”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cragowlet House East is a beatiful house with elegant decoration and very cosy, extremely clean and comfortable at the same time. We just loved our stay there. The views are stunning and we will never forget the morning coffee hearing the waves in the garden.
The owners are very, very kind and left us a welcome present and worried if we arrived ok and needed something. They are very nice and supportive.
Moreover, the position of the house is great, The area is beautiful. The area is beautiful, with beaches to go with the kids and we also spent a great time in Kilcreggan pub. Apart from that, it's near many important things to visit in Scotland and in a week we could go to Edimburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Inchmurrin island (we found it in the list of suggestions of the owners of Crawgolet and we loved it, it's a paradise with great food), Inveraray castle, the island of Arran (wonderful as well) and the National museum of rural life and Summerlee Industrial Museum.
We have spent a lovely stay in Cragowlet and we would love to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Thanks for the fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will award you the prize for the most travelled visitors to Cragowlet. I normally don't advise visitors to go to Arran unless they are staying overnight - but you proved me wrong :-). Come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Hi, glad to hear you had a great time. Come back anytime & thanks for taking such good care and leaving the house immaculately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seanan_Co...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was hard to leave this home”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights as a sort of birthday / well needed break and we were blown away with this house. The level to which the house is finished is amazing and it feels more like a home. The decor is impeccable and the wood burning stove was such a lovely addition. Thankfully we got lucky with the weather and took a long walk up the hills and around the little village of Kilcreggan, bumping in to some very helpful local, before retreating back to the house on both evenings. It's kitted out with plenty of board games and a great sound system in the living room which means that there was seldom a quiet moment. Thank you to Brian and Nancy for letting us stay here! We will all be back soon hopefully, my only regret is that we weren't able to stay much longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2016
Hi Seaman,

Glad you all enjoyed yourselves. The place was spotless when we got here and stripping the beds and clearing out the fire was above and beyond.

Come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for two nights with a small group of friends. The photos do not do justice to how gorgeous the house is. Brian and Nancy were very accommodating and left us with great advice regarding local walks and where to eat. They even left us a bottle of bubbly! The kitchen was very well laid out and had plenty of room for everyone to be involved in the cooking. The living room is beautiful, with rather comfy seats and a log burner. All of the beds were very comfy (making it rather difficult to leave...). The shower and bath in the main bathroom were glorious - they even have a sound system in the bathroom, which makes for a very relaxing bath time! All in all, we were all bowled over with the house. I would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior design
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thanks Fiona, love it when people enjoy all the things we put a lot of thought into. Hopefully the new double Duvets on the single beds keeps them cosy in winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy Cove”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My partner and I stayed here with two other couple friends for the weekend. The house is beautiful and very well equipped. The kitchen and wood burning stove were particular highlights. Although we never met in person, Brian was very welcoming and helpful throughout the stay and we felt completely at home. We could easily have stayed longer and I think we will return in the future to this lovely and peaceful accommodation.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Hi, thanks for the great review. If we could give guests a review you are your party would be 5*. The whole house was spotless + towels collected together and beds stripped . Come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Hi Andy/Linda,

thanks for taking the time to give us such a glowing review; especially since it has been months since your stay.

Hopefully next time you come we will be here to greet you in person.

Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing