We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than in the photos”
other travelers have booked this property
Cragowlet House East
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cragowlet House East
Covered Porch.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Cragowlet House East
Covered Porch.
Front Garden.
View from the road.
Front Door.
Front Porch.
Main Hall.
Lounge.
Lounge.
Kitchen / Diner.
Master Bedroom.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3.
Bathroom.
View from front garden - looking towards Bute and Arran.
Rhododendron in flower.
View from the Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilcreggan, Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
charlotte...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even better than in the photos”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were based in this house for a week whilst exploring the surrounding area. The house was really homely and felt much more welcoming than a normal holiday rental. This was in part due to the attention to detail, from blankets to snuggle under, a bottle of wine for the first evening and lovely soft bedding but also the warm welcome given by Brian and Nancy. My husband and I travelled with 4 children and there was plenty of room for us to eat and relax together in comfort. I dashed out of bed each morning to enjoy a morning coffee taking in the magnificent loch side views. Well worth every minute of the long drive from Kent.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Hi Charlotte,

Thanks for taking the time to do your review, its much appreciated. We love it when what we offer is exactly what you were looking for. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBE...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house, wonderful stay.”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the house for a 2 night stay for my parents' 40th Wedding anniversary (6 adults and a toddler). Didn't think it was possible for the reality to be as good as the reviews and the photographs but it really was - the house is beautiful, an amazing renovation project with lots of lovely details. Beautiful living room to relax in and leisurely breakfasts in the dining kitchen while overlooking the bay. Bedrooms all beautifully decorated with very comfy beds. Brain + Nancy were very hospitable, met us at check-in and showed us round the house to show us how heating and log burning stove worked and had previously sent us lists of restaurants nearby. They left boxes of toy cars and fishing nets which my nephew loved playing with. Great location for walks around the coast, the Knockderry Country house was good for some afternoon tasting of local ale - we didn't eat here but looked lovely. Helensburgh is 20-30 min drive away with lots of other restaurant options. Only drawback was the length of our stay, we only booked 2 nights and would loved to have stayed longer as it was such a perfect weekend. Will definitely recommend to friends and family and will hopefully be back for another longer stay ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing house in a lovely setting
Liked least: The length of our stay - too short!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
What can we say. We love it when people are surprised by the house. We also never cease to be surprised by the work people do before they leave - house was spotless.
Hopefully you can get more time to stay next time and get out on those bicycles :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kain P
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a Beautiful House!”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a great time in the house. It was more than I had expected. The rooms were very well decorated and had a full working kitchen. We had some of the best for our stay and beautiful sunsets! Brian and Nancy were there to greet us and show us the important details. They left us set for breakfast. The views were stunning and the Cragowlet House sits right on Long Loch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Really nice guys. Come back anytime. Thanks for the whisky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinaabbas
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with stunning views!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cragowlet House East for 3 days but I wish we had stayed longer. It is a beautiful house, very well decorated and comfortable at the same time.
The location is perfect. The views are stunning.
Brian & Nancy were there to welcome us. They even provided milk, bread, eggs, butter, jam, tea, coffee and wine. A big thanks to them.
We will surely come back and recommend it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
A pleasure to have guests like you. Its worth all the hard work when people enjoy their stay and take great care of your house. Come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A lovely house with a lovely view”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A beautiful house with all of the comforts of home, lovely beds, bathrooms and heating when needed. Brian and Nancy have thought of everything to make your stay an enjoyable one. Small touches of tea and coffee etc, were much appreciated. A well equipped kitchen for 'eating in' as there aren't a lot of eating establishments in the immediate vicinity. It would be so easy to stay indoors and look at the loch all day long but it's a good base to get out and about. We experienced deer and porpoises while we were there.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Great guests. Difficult to see any evidence of them being here since the house was so tidy when they left ! Their parting gift is certainly a first; an original water colour of "Crag Owlet". We will get it framed and find a prominent spot for it. Come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandenbus...
1 review
“Excellent house, where you feel right at home!”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house is even more beautiful than we expected. It is very well decorated. the house has a good sized kitchen and is well equiped. The showers were fantastic as were the fluffy towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful sitting area and kitchen
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Not sure how we manage to get such great guests. Lovely family. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous house and a wonderful location. The house is not only beautiful but immaculate with everything you could need and more, a lovely base to come back to every evening. Situated on the side of the Loch with stunning views. The children especially loved the rock pools where they found buckets full of interesting creatures not found at home.
Brian and Nancy were extremely helpful and thoughtful even before we arrived. None of us wanted to leave. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All great.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Fantastic guests. Not a cup out of place when they left. Our neighbours also loved such well behaved company for their kids. Come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing