We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They think you should be grateful to stay there!”
Review of Kilcreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilcreggan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilcreggan
Reviewed June 23, 2007

It is difficult to know where to start with such a dreadful hotel. FIrstly they insist on a non-refundable deposit when you book, irrespective of the notice that you can give, which, although wasn't a problem for us, set the tone that continued.

Bed and Breakfast at weekends is slightly misleading as the "Breakfast" is a tray of cereal (of which you have no selection), cheap yoghurt and orange juice and a croissant left in the room the night before, with a jug of milk. Unexplained is also the fact that there is a tiny plastic fridge in the corner of the room to put the milk in although the yoghurts would not fit in too. Consequently we left the milk out which turned rancid.

The 'superior' room is tired, with cheap decor and incomplete finishings. The shower didn't stay in place which didn't really matter as there was no hot water anyway.

They insist that you check out the night before you leave as they don't have staff on in the morning to check you out. Why not? Getting checked in was pretty hard too as you have to rely on someone who works in the pub to come out and find you.

Our friends were then charged extra on a Sunday as they had not checked out by 10.00 - not that there was anyone waiting to get into their room.

Even though they explained that they hadn't had their 'continental breakfast the night they arrived, as they had had to move rooms due to the smell of vomit in the room, that was not taken into consideration. In fact the suggestion was made that it was there fault as it was in the original room. You couldn't make this stuff up!!!

Please don't stay at this hotel. The staff in the pub and restaurant are good and friendly but the managment/owners are doing this on the cheap and it really shows, even in the way that they run the bar/restaurant with expensive food and a pathetic selection of wine.

For the pleasure of the above, we were charged £70 per night. What a rip off.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Theforsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathrinesummer, owner at Kilcreggan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2007

Dear viewers

It is only fair to the people who read this website that they should be aware of both sides to a story. The comment "they think you should be grateful to stay there", is untrue and unnecessary. We are a family run hotel which caters for everybody's needs wherever possible.

Firstly,our policy is not a non-refundable option. We have a 48 hour cancellation policy as in most hotels which would have been stated at the time of booking.

The couple were booked into their room and there was no complaint made at that time, why was there no complaint made at that time? They were seen in the bar area for most of the night. They retired to their room later in the evening, a short time later a member of staff was approached with the lady demanding a different room complaining hers smelt of sick. On later inspection of here vacated room, we found the complaint to be unfounded as there was no odour of any kind. However, the lady was given a different room, one with a view of the Clyde. Not satisfied they then went on to complain about the breakfast.

There is nothing misleading about breakfast on a weekend. A choice is available, full cooked or continental. Although the picture that is shown is not how it is generally presented. Continental consists of branded cereals, Muller light yoghurts, orange juice, selection of sandwiches, crisps and fruit. The fridge is explained on arrival when having continental to keep the products fresh. All rooms are tastefully decorated with complete fixtures and fittings. On checking into our hotel, should the reception area be unattended there is a bell facility to let the staff know of your arrival. It is entirely up to the guest whether they prefer to check out the night before or in the morning, as there is always somebody available.

As I have been in the hotel business for many years, I know you can not please all the people all of the time. However, I do try my very best with good quality food at a reasonable price and an affordable varied wine selection.

I would just like to say on a personal note, that a lot of my guests, from all over the world, return time and time again.

Yours sincerely
Carol Hamlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Kilcreggan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 131 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Opa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 135eziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WALRUS06777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcreggan
2.3 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcreggan Hotel

Address: Argyll Road, Kilcreggan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Kilcreggan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilcreggan
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilcreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcreggan Hotel Helensburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing