We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet but very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilcreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcreggan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilcreggan
preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quiet but very nice”
Reviewed September 19, 2009

the kilcreggan hotel is a beautiful hotel over looking the water the food is good and the service is excellent the owner (carol) had us laughing from the moment we met her. its a very quiet area so you will have to travel if you want activities but we didn't find it a problem we drove out to the local towns with directions from carol and one day we took the ferry to helensburgh and then the train to Glasgow center it took about an hour and cost about £8 but was a great day out. there is a bar in the hotel which seems to get quite busy with locals at night and a bar a few minutes walk down the road that has sky for all the footie lovers we stayed for 3 nights and loved every minute

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preston_lass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    13
    14
    12
See reviews for
26
33
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stopped for lunch at the Kilcreggan Hotel on our way from Cove Park to Helensburgh - a big mistake!
In the bar we were told that the usual chef wouldn't be in till 4 pm. but that everything on the menu was available.( A very pleasant and friendly waitress served us by the way). So two of us ordered mussels which arrived cold with some kind of sauce dribbled over. We sent them back of course and ordered the soup. One more table was occupied and the person who ordered mussels there also sent them back. Not only because they were cold but she found the first twelve shells empty!
At the end of the meal someone came to our table - the owner? - to explain that the mussels were cold as they had been left too long at the hatch in the kitchen! The person at the other table was told that as mussels is only a starter course she couldn't expect that many! Shades of Fawlty Towers indeed. No apology was offered and when the bill came the mussels were still itemised and charged for. This was only corrected after yet another complaint.


May Chipulina

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaboStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilcreggan hotels

Great Eccleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Stayed at the hotel with my wife on Friday and Saturday evening, had a warm welcome on arrival, the room was wonderful and views to die for overlooking Loch Long. The evening meal was a delight and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was a treat and didnt need anything else for the rest of the day, we where served by the owner and fealt like part of the family. We had a coffee in the Conservatory Tea room in the afternoon which is a lovely touch and another fantastic meal the evening after. I stay in a lot of hotels with my work but found the whole experience very enjoyable and sad when we had to leave. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatesyGreatEccleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We were booked in for a 2 night stay with mixed feelings due to a previous bad review; however, we would like to thank the staff for making us most welcome and compliments to the chef for the best soup we've ever tasted. In fact the full English/Scottish breakfast and both evening meals we had were exceptional. The rooms were both large and very comfortable. Overall a most enjoyable stay in a friendly atmosphere and we would definitely return should the opportunity arise.

  • Liked — Size of the rooms
  • Disliked — TV Reception - weak signal
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I was introduced to the Kilcreggan Hotel through business, a few years ago. Since my first trip I have stayed here numerous times, both through business and pleasure and have found it nothing but a pleasurable stay.

I have stayed in many hotels and B&Bs throughout the world, but nothing compares to the warm hospitality, comfortable rooms, relaxed atmosphere, good food and friendly service that we experienced here.

Having read the previous reviews, I can only assume there must be unresolved issues regarding the cancellation policy, as the owners went out of there way to make all of my stays as comfortable as possible.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether on business or pleasure, with or without children for a relaxing time.

  • Liked — Relaxed and comfortable
  • Disliked — That I had to leave!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stopped at the kilcreggan hotel for a week and loved it , it was like walking into a big family home ,our room overlooked the loch . the staff were very friendly they even managed to provide a last minute birthday cake for my daughter , the food was fab and a good price too . The owner carol was great she pointed us in the right direction for things to see and do. We are looking forward to going back at christmas. ( AFTER READING THE OTHER REVIEWS I COULDN'T NOT WRITE MINE AS I COULDN'T BELIEVE WHAT I WAS READING) This hotel is a lovely place to stay

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doris161023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

What a fantastic small hotel away from all the hustle and bustle and with great views of the loch and a good base for exploring. The food was scrumptious and we never left the restaurant without feeling full. We stayed in the family room which had plenty of room for all 5 of us. The staff were courteous and the management were chatty and couldn't do enough to help. We will definately be staying at the hotel again. The surrounding area is beautiful and there are lots of places to visit for the adults and kids.

  • Liked — Great food and views
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kjr-lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcreggan
2.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
405 reviews
19.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcreggan Hotel

Property: Kilcreggan Hotel
Address: Argyll Road, Kilcreggan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Kilcreggan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilcreggan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilcreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcreggan Hotel Helensburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing