We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful escape from reality, in the hills of...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Villa Rosa Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath The Rose Garden and Birdbath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath
The Rose Garden and Birdbath
The Cottage Kitchen
The Serenity Path
The Cottage Dining area and Loft Stairs
The Cottage Sitting Area and Patio Entrance
A view of Sant'Andrea di CompitoVillage
Spring in the Garden
Part of the Villa Gardens
Cottage Cutting Garden
Summer Flower Display
Springtime on the dining patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jtktand3
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful escape from reality, in the hills of Tuscany!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from our vacation, never wanted to leave. If you are looking for an old world escape, this is it. The area is quaint. The cottage is rustic. I will just repeat the rave reviews of previous guests! John and Bill are amazing hosts, they love what they are doing and it shines through. They were always available with directions and tips. The local restaurant has amazing food, at a fraction of the big city costs. My husband would walk to the local bakery for incredible focaccia and croissants. Two tips: Get there before its dark the first time and as someone else noted, the cottage is down the lane between signs 13 and 15- this is very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: I had to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2013
This lovely couple enjoyed a morning walk to the bakery on the hill
every morning. They really enjoyed the area, and met the guests
staying in our B&B next door...they joined us for wine and cheese
around the fireplace in the evening. We enjoyed meeting them very much, and hope they return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyLang
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“You may have thought 'heaven' was a myth - think again!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

At Il Rifugio, we have just found heaven, but you don't have to die to enjoy it!!!

This classy B&B in a little village 15 minutes from Lucca, ticks all the boxes.
The accommodation is of the highest standard - lovely bedroom (cable TV to boot!), spacious ensuite and sitting room with day bed, finished with the best of fittings. Add to this, incredible breakfasts served in the beautiful gardens.

Bill and John set standards of hospitality of the highest orde,r where nothing is too much trouble: another cup of coffee (or red), printed instructions for you daily excursions, being escorted to the local hairdresser, doctor or pharmacist.

On a practical note - you need a car and make it a small one, as the tight roads & very narrow laneways can be a challenge. We would advise not dropping off at Florence airport - we & many others spent half an our driving around in search of the Car Rental area! Pisa, only 20 minutes away, is a far better option.

This by far, is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. We would highly recommend it - you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts Bill & John, & their hospitality
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
The wife of this great couple arrived with a serious cough and fever,
so off to the village doctor we went. She improved during their stay
here, and was able to see many of the sights in the area. They really
appreciated the comfort and convenience of the place, and we were more
than happy to make their stay rewarding. We hope to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Tuscan retreat.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent a week in the cottage at "il rifugio" and had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and comfortable with a secluded courtyard for dining or relaxing. Bill and John were the perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and generous both with their time and their hospitality. The setting was so peaceful but within walking distance to two excellent restaurants, a shop and a bakery. Bill's garden was amazing...... eat your heart out Alan Titchmarsh. We plan to return next year when we can enjoy the roses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bill and John's hospitality.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
Actually Alan Titchmarsh is an inspiration for us!...this wonderful couple were real garden lovers and appreciated the amount of work
which goes into the final product..we welcome them back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugrshack
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Absolutely beautiful apartment, Bill and John are wonderful hosts. The apartment was perfect; every room was from a dream, from the bedroom with a view of distant mountains, and the private back patio for drinking the generously provided Proseco. Bill and John are wonderful for both the hospitality, the beautifully tended gardens and the intimate knowledge of the small village, with the best places to eat where one feels like royalty. The mountains are so green, with wonderful olive groves, and very close to the absolutely beautiful city of Lucca, with music flowing through the streets.

If you are looking for a friendly, off the beaten track small town experience, you can do no better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hopitality, food, location
Liked least: having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2013
The "Cottage" is an ideal place for a honeymoon, as it is private,
although close to the villa. We enjoyed this couple's visit very
much...they are now a part of our growing Sant' Andrea and "Il Rifugio"
family. We hope to see them again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iconsidin...
Ennis, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We recently returned from our honeymoon at Il Rifugio, and we had a fantastic time. We couldn't have been looked after better by our hosts Bill and John. The cottage was clean and well stocked upon our arrival, and it is just the perfect romantic get-away for two. The village is lovely and people are friendly, and it's the perfect place to enjoy a bit of dolce vita. The cottage is completely private, but if we wanted some company, Bill and John were always there to share a bottle of house wine and lots of funny stories under the wisteria..... life couldn't have been better. Thanks Bill and John, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
The Cottage is ideal for a honeymoon...completely private, but near enough to the main house for socializing. Our guests love the village and its people...and these guests were the perfect travellers. We would welcome them back anytime...it was a pleasure having them with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi_Jacq...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Heaven in a perfect package”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved this beautiful place - our accommodation was spotless and well maintained; the gardens were a joy to either dine, dream or just recharge the soul in; and our hosts really helped us to pick out the best places to visit and hire a bicycle from.
We were thrilled to find the village has a great bakery within walking distance and 3 super restaurants nearby.
Il Rifugio really is as wonderful as the great reviews and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and gardens
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
These guests were with us in the Cottage for several weeks. They were an absolute joy to meet. The husband spent many happy hours touring the hills around the village on his bicycle, while the his wife sun bathed in the villa gardens and enjoyed walks in the hills. We look forward to their return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$135
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing