We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of peaceful paradise in Tuscan...”
other travelers have booked this property
House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House
Pool Pool & Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
House
Pool
Pool & Garden
Pool & Garden
Farmhouse
House & Loggia
Loggia
Loggia
Access to Lower Garden
Parking Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeremy H
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little piece of peaceful paradise in Tuscan hills”
Reviewed November 4, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

"Absolutely stunning" was the comment from our normally hard to please teenager!

House is excellent, with all you need plus a pool with best view and under cover dining area perfect for BBQ ( also included). You don't really need to leave house much but there is easy access via car to Lucca, Pisa, Florence and Cinque Terre.
For a great evening locally... walk 10 mins to the local pizza restaurant in the village then walk back with flashing fire flies lighting the way... an unbelievable experience!
Although some have said the road to house is fairly narrow, not sure why last review recommended narrow wheel base... it's not that narrow!!...we easily took an Opel Zafira ( 7seater) without any issues. In fact the road to the house through the olive trees really adds to the authentic rural Tuscan feel.

This is definitely one my favourite place in the world to be. (4 times visitor and hopefully more to come)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding views from very high up in the mountains”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our second visit to this excellent farmhouse which is reached via an interesting drive up a narrow track on the edge of the mountain. Cars with a small wheelbase only recommended such as a Fiat Panda. An ideal place for a family to stay with its own swimming pool. The friendly Tre Tigli Bar and Restaurant, which is well worth a visit, is a 10 minute walk down the mountain to the village. It might take a little longer walking back home though.
Thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeloRider...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful property in a stunning location”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was a family holiday with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We all found the property to far exceed our expectations based upon the photos on Trip Adviser and the reviews from other guests.

As noted by others a smaller sized car is beneficial for the drive up from the village, we had a Fiat Panda which was perfect. We took the drive slowly and all was OK.

Driving up to the property we were dazzled by the beautiful scenery surrounding the house, the wooded hills (Mountain?) and the village down below.

As to the house itself, we found this to be restored and finished to a high standard and furnished to the same level. All rooms were clean with fresh laundry and towels. The kitchen was well equipped and we cooked several times when we had stayed in the property for the day.

The pool was central to the lazy days we enjoyed, perfect for our boys to spend time swimming and/'or floating around in the sun.

The village itself has many interesting properties and we found the community to be welcoming and accepting of our limited Italian, though a fair few spoke English. We visited Jimmys Bar and also Tre Tigli for dinner a number of times too - fabulous to be able to walk into the village for dinner.

Whilst we did not have any issues with the property we spoke with the local property manager a number of times and found Catia to be so helpful with places to visit and ideas of what to do - thank you!

As for places to visit, we did thoroughly enjoy Lucca, visiting several times - a short car journey away. Pisa was busy but worth a visit as were some of the local beaches - about 40 minutes drive for the ones we chose.

All in all the whole family agreed that the this was one of our best holidays with the house, pool, location and locals being the main part of this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arta1315
Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed in this villa for a week and it was really nice. Stunning surroundindgs, very lovely and weloming manager. a little piece of paradise. we will recommend this place to our friends and we would like to return there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the farmhouse should you decide to visit Tuscany in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue7373
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautiful farmhouse nestled in the hills with fantastic views. The location was great for visiting sights, Pissa, Florence and Lucca but had a get away from it all feeling. The house was clean and well equiped with fresh clean bedding and ample towels, tv and wifi. The loggia was a great addition for the evening for bbq's and the house provided enough seating and comfort for us all. The drive up to the house was fine you just have to take your time. Some lovely restaurants surround the area but we also ate in as the kitchen was very well equiped and the dining area had ample seating. A beautiful house in a beautiful setting will definately return in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Many thanks for your wonderful review of the house, location and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the farmhouse when you next visit Tuscany. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Farmhouse in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After a great deal of research I booked this farmhouse because of the accommodation and its proximity to Lucca hoping that the description of the house and location would match our expectations. The house and location didn't just meet our expectations it smashed them!

On arrival the house was clean and well presented. Bed linen and towels were beautifully fresh, clean and plentiful. The bathrooms and showers were nicely prepared and clean.

The farmhouse has been superbly refurbished resulting in a superb finish and an excellent space on each of the three floors. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space in each bedroom. Whilst we never used it, the dining room in the house is spacious and could easily accommodate us all without being cramped. The outside covered eating area is perfect with great views over the surrounding tree covered hills. A lovely place to enjoy leisurely lunches and dinners when not eating out. There is a well equipped kitchen with everything needed to produce family meals for eight.

We had to "endure" one day in which the temperature dropped to 32C, so the pool, also very clean and well maintained, is a godsend in August. The insect screens and fully functioning shutters helped keep the house as cool as possible throughout the day. Mosquitos are an issue so take plenty of Deet and hopefully you'll be untroubled.

The local house manager is super helpful and very efficient taking a genuine interest in our enjoyment without being intrusive. The gardener and pool man did a great job and were unobtrusive.

Much has been written in the visitors book about the access path to the house. Frankly, there is nothing to worry about if you follow the guidance provided, i.e. a small car and drive appropriately. It is an easy walk to the village but a bit of a tug back up the hill. (Good for working off the excesses!)

The local community is friendly with a very good pizzeria in the village and a bar that serves great food too. Spring water is available free in a nearby village which is well worth seeking out. That said the tap water is very drinkable too.

Quite simply this is a beautiful house in a stunning location; just perfect for a very relaxing holiday and a base from which to visit Lucca, Volterra, San Gimignamo and Florence to name a few.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. All the best, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tranquil Villa located in the Beautiful Tuscan Hillsides around Lucca”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve just returned from a brilliant 2 week summer holiday in this beautiful villa in the Tuscan hills where we stayed with 3 generations of our family – me and my wife, nonna (who’s 91!), our eldest son and his girlfriend (from Canada) and our other two grown up sons. Communication with the owner was fantastic from the very first e-mail (thank you, Paul!) and the directions to the villa, restaurants and local shops were excellent. The access to the villa is up along a long narrow country lane with a tricky length between two narrow walls - especially as we had been given a 9 seater Fiat Scudo by the car hire company – with only an inch or two on either side. Intimidating at first. but take your time and you’ll soon get used to it. The minibus also gave us plenty of room and had plenty of space for our luggage.The house is well equipped and easily accommodated us all – great having 4 bathrooms! – and the large loggia outside was fantastic for evening meals and for cooking on the bar-b-q. (we even managed to cook some delicious cuttlefish!). (We liked the fly screens on all the windows!) We have stayed at various locations in Italy and in our opinion the villa, pool and gardens were among the best of any we have stayed in, particularly with the beautiful views over the Italian hills. The pool maintenance man came once a week to clean the pool, other than that we were not disturbed again during our break. The Villa provides a great base from which to visit and explore this gorgeous area and the network of autostradas are not far away - Lucca is about 20 minutes drive away, Florence an hour, Cinque Terre 90 mins away. It was so great to stay here, we didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seclusion, views, loggia, and the swimming pool at night
Liked least: the road
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
Many thanks to you and your family for choosing to book Casale dell’ Uliveto and taking the time to write an excellent and informative review of your stay, it's very much appreciated.

Best Regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing