We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous!”
other travelers have booked this property
House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House
Pool Pool & Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
House
Pool
Pool & Garden
Pool & Garden
Farmhouse
House & Loggia
Loggia
Loggia
Access to Lower Garden
Parking Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Arta1315
Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed in this villa for a week and it was really nice. Stunning surroundindgs, very lovely and weloming manager. a little piece of paradise. we will recommend this place to our friends and we would like to return there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the farmhouse should you decide to visit Tuscany in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue7373
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautiful farmhouse nestled in the hills with fantastic views. The location was great for visiting sights, Pissa, Florence and Lucca but had a get away from it all feeling. The house was clean and well equiped with fresh clean bedding and ample towels, tv and wifi. The loggia was a great addition for the evening for bbq's and the house provided enough seating and comfort for us all. The drive up to the house was fine you just have to take your time. Some lovely restaurants surround the area but we also ate in as the kitchen was very well equiped and the dining area had ample seating. A beautiful house in a beautiful setting will definately return in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Many thanks for your wonderful review of the house, location and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the farmhouse when you next visit Tuscany. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Farmhouse in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After a great deal of research I booked this farmhouse because of the accommodation and its proximity to Lucca hoping that the description of the house and location would match our expectations. The house and location didn't just meet our expectations it smashed them!

On arrival the house was clean and well presented. Bed linen and towels were beautifully fresh, clean and plentiful. The bathrooms and showers were nicely prepared and clean.

The farmhouse has been superbly refurbished resulting in a superb finish and an excellent space on each of the three floors. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space in each bedroom. Whilst we never used it, the dining room in the house is spacious and could easily accommodate us all without being cramped. The outside covered eating area is perfect with great views over the surrounding tree covered hills. A lovely place to enjoy leisurely lunches and dinners when not eating out. There is a well equipped kitchen with everything needed to produce family meals for eight.

We had to "endure" one day in which the temperature dropped to 32C, so the pool, also very clean and well maintained, is a godsend in August. The insect screens and fully functioning shutters helped keep the house as cool as possible throughout the day. Mosquitos are an issue so take plenty of Deet and hopefully you'll be untroubled.

The local house manager is super helpful and very efficient taking a genuine interest in our enjoyment without being intrusive. The gardener and pool man did a great job and were unobtrusive.

Much has been written in the visitors book about the access path to the house. Frankly, there is nothing to worry about if you follow the guidance provided, i.e. a small car and drive appropriately. It is an easy walk to the village but a bit of a tug back up the hill. (Good for working off the excesses!)

The local community is friendly with a very good pizzeria in the village and a bar that serves great food too. Spring water is available free in a nearby village which is well worth seeking out. That said the tap water is very drinkable too.

Quite simply this is a beautiful house in a stunning location; just perfect for a very relaxing holiday and a base from which to visit Lucca, Volterra, San Gimignamo and Florence to name a few.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. All the best, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tranquil Villa located in the Beautiful Tuscan Hillsides around Lucca”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve just returned from a brilliant 2 week summer holiday in this beautiful villa in the Tuscan hills where we stayed with 3 generations of our family – me and my wife, nonna (who’s 91!), our eldest son and his girlfriend (from Canada) and our other two grown up sons. Communication with the owner was fantastic from the very first e-mail (thank you, Paul!) and the directions to the villa, restaurants and local shops were excellent. The access to the villa is up along a long narrow country lane with a tricky length between two narrow walls - especially as we had been given a 9 seater Fiat Scudo by the car hire company – with only an inch or two on either side. Intimidating at first. but take your time and you’ll soon get used to it. The minibus also gave us plenty of room and had plenty of space for our luggage.The house is well equipped and easily accommodated us all – great having 4 bathrooms! – and the large loggia outside was fantastic for evening meals and for cooking on the bar-b-q. (we even managed to cook some delicious cuttlefish!). (We liked the fly screens on all the windows!) We have stayed at various locations in Italy and in our opinion the villa, pool and gardens were among the best of any we have stayed in, particularly with the beautiful views over the Italian hills. The pool maintenance man came once a week to clean the pool, other than that we were not disturbed again during our break. The Villa provides a great base from which to visit and explore this gorgeous area and the network of autostradas are not far away - Lucca is about 20 minutes drive away, Florence an hour, Cinque Terre 90 mins away. It was so great to stay here, we didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seclusion, views, loggia, and the swimming pool at night
Liked least: the road
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
Many thanks to you and your family for choosing to book Casale dell’ Uliveto and taking the time to write an excellent and informative review of your stay, it's very much appreciated.

Best Regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband & I were travelling with friends and there was more than enough room for the 4 of us.
The setting is beautiful as are the gardens & pool
The road in is hazardous and you need to ensure that your car is not too wide to fit through.
The bathrooms are a little tired and the house looks a little cluttered as if the owners have just left. The facilities are good and everything we needed was there.
It is a great spot to make your base and do day trips to all the wonderful places the area has to offer.
The village & local pizza restaurant Tre Tiglia is a very easy walk from the house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The loggia & pool were the things that attracted us to this property
Liked least: The house smelled of stale cigarette smoke when we arrived as did some furniture
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful setting, gardens and pool during your recent stay. The road is very narrow and uneven as the house is approached through olive groves but we point this out in all correspondence with guests and highlight this within our advertising.

We will look into your comments regarding the tired bathrooms.

We do request guests not to smoke within the farmhouse but, unfortunately, this is very difficult for us to police.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldM...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and fabulous location”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a fantastic 7 nights at this lovely, lovely villa in the Tuscan hills where we stayed with 3 generations of our family for half term. Communication with the owner was fantastic from the start (thank you!) and the directions to the villa etc were excellent. Yes, the drive up to the villa is narrow but once there, it is just the most wonderful location. We hired a Fiat 500L which was plenty big enough for our family of 5 which included two Grannies and a 9 year old. Plenty of space in this car for all of our luggage and comfortable for all. The car managed the drive to the villa with no problems at all. The villa is very well equipped, beds very comfortable and the 3 bathrooms were a real bonus. Pool and gardens gorgeous. Hubby said the gardens were the best of any villa we have ever stayed in and I would heartily agree. Everything very well maintained and we would definitely recommend and return. Lucca is about 20 minutes drive away. We also visited Florence for the day (took the train which was approx. 14 euros each return), the beautiful hill town of Montecatino Alto (take the fab funicular train and then a short walk to the beautiful village square) and the lovely villa and gardens at Villa Torrigiani. The Villa provides a great base from which to visit and explore this gorgeous area. Great week :-)

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Thank you for your excellent review, it's much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn E
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent retreat in the Tuscan Hills”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We are a family group of six adults who stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Farmhouse is spacious and homely and very well equipped. It is easily reached from Pisa airport and the picturesque walled city of Lucca is nearby.
We traveled to Florence by train from Lucca station and drove our rental vehicle to Pisa and also to the beach at Viareggio.
There is a supermarket approximately 15 minutes drive away in Lucca which was ideal to stock up on supplies.
The owner had advised us when booking that the access via the driveway was narrow and that a large vehicle would not get through it. Taking this advice on board we rented a Citroen C8 people carrier (7 seats) which cleared the entrance and drive although it was a close fit even with the wing mirrors retracted. We also took out Collision Waiver Damage Cover just in case but this was (luckily) not needed.
PS - Mosquito spray was needed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful rural location
Liked least: mosquitoes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2013
Thank you for the review following your family stay at the farmhouse. We are all very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and the property met with your expectations. Great tip about the Citroen C8 people carrier as we have a number of guests that require this type of vehicle. We already have some guests booked for 2014 that have booked a C8 as a result of this information. Many thanks, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing