We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A must do”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kilmun, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan C
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is an amazing house with a mix of old and new. Clean comfortable with everything you need. Even has a snooker table to keep the men happy.
From booking to return of deposit everything was plain sailing.we had outside caterers do a posh dinner in the stunning dining room.

Couldn't recommend this place enough. It's a must do and must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to review us. Not all our happy and satisfied guests bother. We would love to have you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bravehear...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend for Paul's 60th”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just returned from a fantastic weekend with our friends for Paul's 60 th birthday the house is lovely I was surprised how warm it was for a old house there was 14 adults and 2 kids plenty of room the adults and kids had a ball weather was good too so that's a bonus we had great food and drink and it was great to be able to have 2 lovely dinners sitting at such a big table we all had a blast thanks Helen and Paul x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - not so many of our satisfied customers do! We appreciate your appreciation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Recently stayed Friday - Monday with my husband and friends for my 40th Birthday. We also booked a hot tub to be ready on arrival which we had for the duration of out stay, this cost a we bit extra but was well worth it!
The house and grounds are beautiful we felt like we where in Downton Abbey in the dining room! and we all fell in love with the Aga. The basement was a lot bigger than we thought and had everything we needed and more for a fun packed weekend of good company, food and drinks and even had a wee disco in the basement on Friday night for my birthday. We met the neighbour when we arrived and he was totally fine with us playing some music and spilling out into the hot tub till the early hours.
I would definitely book this house again we all had a fantastic time and best birthday yet!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
Glad you had a good time - thank you for leaving the house so nicely. It was lovely to host you. The majority of our guests have a lovely time and appreciate the house, but not many of them take the time to write it up on tripadvisor...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietteO...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great location. Fantastic holiday!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

As a big family, we rented Old Kilmun house to celebrate my birthday and it suited our needs perfectly. The house is grand but homely, and the gardens (and Arboretum next door) and the views are simply beautiful. There was so much to do in the area, and we were blessed with the most gorgeous weather ever. Definately coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the house and the location
Liked least: We could have done with a big teapot but I think this has been replaced already
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2016
Thank you so much for choosing us, and also for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We don't have any illusions that we are perfect, but we do our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W
1 review
“A Beautiful House in a Beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Hugely enjoyed my time at The Old Kilmun House - it's a lovely old house in a very beautiful part of the world.

John, the owner, was very helpful and kind enough to drop off a couple of bottles to welcome us to the property. We were very comfortable just lazing around the house or out exploring the area.

The property was well appointed but not fussy. Would definitely recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
I am so glad that you enjoyed it and thank you for making the effort to review us. we don't leave bottles for everyone - that was a one-off promotional thing from a sponsor agency!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison-11...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing - like a mini downtown abbey”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Kilmun House over new year. When arrived the house was clean warm and beautifully decorated for the festive season. The house had all the amenities you could ever want and more (including friendly neighbours who recommended some stunning walks up some waterfalls).

The house itself is amazing, reminded me of downtown abbey with a big christmas tree in the hall and all the different rooms round every corner and a particularly grand dining hall with an open fire.

The rooms were really clean, cosy and the beds were very comfy. Despite it being and old house in the middle of winter, we were never cold.

Location was ideal and easy to get to even with public transport all the way from London! The setting is beautiful, right on the bank of Holy Loch. I would recommend it to all!

Cheers!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Log fire, Location and the house itself.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2016
Thank you so much We also love the house at xmas and new year, and it is a great winter house when filled with energy as positive and warm as yours. Although 320 years old, it is actually never cold because the heating works and the walls are four feet thick. Cheers to you, too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay heaps of character”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Kilmun house was the perfect venue for our family NYE celebration. Easily accommodated everyone in the beautiful dining room and the kids loved the games room. Lots of character and beautiful views. Short drives to get you out and about walking etc

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2016
So glad you enjoyed it. Hope we can welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing