We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience!”
Review of Hotel Toliman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Toliman
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I Was in San Lucas Toliman for 8 days working at the San Lucas Mission. Our group had dinner the last night at the Hotel Toliman to commemorate our visit. Food was excellent and atmosphere on outside deck divine. For a special treat try the fresh squeezed orange juice!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank swgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 304 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful spot overlooking the lake. Quieter and authentic, compared to Panajachel, this gorgeous hotel in San Lucas Toliman is a great place to relax and use as base for exploring Lake Atitlan. Chati, the proprietor, is a wealth of information and resource for travel arrangements. Quick and inexpensive boat takes you to Pana, if you want to commune with tourists, and all around the lake for exploring the other villages. Would be officially five star if it had TVs and phones in the rooms, but who needs those things when you have wifi?

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

It is an excellent hotel! The staff is wonderful, the bedrooms vet cozy and the view is just amazing! The pool relaxing.... What a view from the pool! And the food is simply amazing! You can catch your own fish for dinner and it is an amazing experience and delicious too!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Gabriela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have visited and stayed in towns around Lago de Atitlan 5 different times, and only this year discovered the amazing Hotel Toliman in San Lucas Toliman. I always traveled through Panajachel and stayed in Santa Cruz or San Marcos, but I wish I had known about Hotel Toliman years ago!

The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous - carefully tended flowers and views of the lake at every turn. If you are someone who is interested in birds, this would be an amazing place to stay - every morning you wake to the singing of numerous species of birds. There is a whole lower garden area with trees and plants that seem to attract and nurture a vibrant bird community.

The restaurant has some of the best food I have had in Guatemala (right up there with my favorite vendors of tostadas, chuchitos, and tamales in the streets and public markets :) The most remarkable thing to me about the food is the fact that much of the produce comes from the hotel's very own organic vegetable garden, which is an attraction in itself (don't miss getting an informative tour of the garden while you're there). Every dish I tasted was fresh and delicious - I was really impressed.

In terms of location, staying in the town of San Lucas Toliman is a different - and in my opinion, better - experience than some of the more touristy locations around the lake. There are not as many obvious activities or attractions for tourists in the town itself. However, this felt like a welcome change; walking through the streets of San Lucas is a much more mellow experience - people are friendly but not too distracted by your presence because they are not depending on your business for their livelihood.

That said, there are plenty of things to do while staying at Toliman. At the hotel itself, you can kayak on the lake in the Hotel's kayaks, swim in the pool and in the lake, and of course relax and read in a hammock. There are also numerous excursions the hotel can help you arrange: a boat ride around the lake, and to visit other lakeside towns where you can peruse beautiful handmade ceramics or get a relaxing massage; a ride in a pick-up truck to Santiago Atitlan for a day in the craft markets; a hike up the nearby volcano or around part of the lake with a trusted local guide. Chati, the hotel manager who is also fluent in English, has many wonderful connections in the local community and always seems able to help you find what you need. My Mom and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days and never felt a lack of things to do.

I rarely write reviews of where I travel, unless I feel I just have to tell people about a really special spot that you can't miss - Hotel Toliman is absolutely one of them! I hope you go and have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mansarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful old hotel. The restaurant has breathtaking views of the lake. The grounds are large and beautiful, with many places to walk and rest. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with lots of hot water. Chati, the proprietress, is delightful. Down-to-earth, good-natured, and very experienced. San Lucas Toliman is a small town, not a "destination" spot with much to do -- but a terrific place to stay as a base to explore the lake area. We visited an interesting coffee processing cooperative, where the Mayans are developing a wide range of agricultural and health developments for the community. Be sure to wander into town and visit the Casa de Maximon, the god of a syncretic Maya religion. I've visited many Maximon places, and find the whole concept fascinating -- many informative resources online.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suds5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This charming resort is far from the bustle of Panajachel but offers spectacular views of Lake Atitlan. The rooms are tastefully appointed and comfortable. The grounds are lush and beautifully groomed. An organic vegetable garden provides fresh delicacies to the restaurant, and the onsite helipad adds a touch of glamor. The proprietress goes out of her way to ensure that her guests' needs are more than met. This is a truly exceptional place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I didn't actually stay at Hotel Toliman ( I stayed at a castle-like hostel down the road, called Don Pedro) but I ate here for dinner one night and had the best meal I've ever had in Guatemala. And I've been down here for 6 months now.
All together we were a group of 5 and not a single one of us had any complaints. From the ceviche, to steak, to chicken cordon bleu and 2 types of whole fish (fried and grilled), we all loved everything! I don't think a single bite was left over. Not to mention the drinks! Margaritas made with fresh strawberries and sugar... heaven. We've tried re-creating the margaritas many times since then and can not make them exactly as Hotel Toliman does - but we'll keep trying!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lucas Toliman
8.4 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
695 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lush Atitlan
Lush Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
255 reviews
7 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
516 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
835 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toliman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toliman

Address: Avenida 6, San Lucas Toliman 07013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Lucas Toliman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lucas Toliman
Price Range: $72 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic and comfortable family-run hotel built on the grounds of a former coffee factory. While its extensive gardens and lake views foster a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, our central location in a Guatemalan town unspoiled by tourism lets you experience traditional village life. An excellent place to undertake outdoor adventures and eat delicious local food, supplied mostly by our own organic garden. For more information, please visit our website and social media pages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Toliman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing