We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with an sustainable organic garden!”
Review of Hotel Toliman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Toliman
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place with an sustainable organic garden!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had such a great time at Hotel Toliman this past December!
The place is amazing and the people are even more incredible...I felt at home!
A group of friends and I visited Atitlan and didn't wanted to leave!
Our rooms were clean and with no TV - so you really have the opportunity to relax by listening to the birds outside - a special thanks to the girls who kept our rooms always impeccable and were super attentive and helpful.
The grounds are amazing with fountains, chairs, beautiful trees, including avocado and orange trees - and a hammock!
The restaurant is pretty amazing, the best food ever (especially "Caldo Tlalpeño!), the menu has great Guatemalan and international dishes and all cooked by amazing people with fresh and organic products from the garden in the back of the hotel and cared by an amazing man who loves gardening!
The town of San Lucas Atitlan is beautiful -especially the colorful cemetery - because we were there during Christmas, we saw different celebrations in the main plaza and even played fossball with some local kids!
We also visited the local bar and try tacos on the street...and no, we didn't got sick!
We really loved the little town!
Back at the hotel, we went to Lago Atitlan and did some kayaking and it was free of charge, great adventure!
We visited a few towns and travel to other cities and all was arrange by the folks in the hotel!
Much love to all the staff at the hotel -they are really sweet and so respectful!
And to Chati who treated us like family, I will never forget such an amazing time in Guatemala!

So, what are you waiting for? Make a reservation at Hotel Toliman, you will enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed at a suite and had a great fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    39
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
48
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

At the Toliman from Christmas to New Years. Enjoyed the festive atmosphere, holiday feasts and a lively New Year's Eve! Rooms are comfortable, clean and a great price. Resturant is delicious with full bar. Spectacular setting on crystal blue Lake Atitlan with easy access to highland villages, crafts and beautiful Mayan people. Great hospitality from staff and local owner who supports the community. You probably can't do better :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four days in July. The hotel is very well maintained and has fantastic views of Lake Atitlan. The restaurant was fantastic and the staff was great. It is about a three hour drive from Guatemala City. The only drawback was the rooster next door that started to crow every morning at 4:00 a.m. Despite the rooster, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy and Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for a week and it was absolutely great. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The garden outside is well kept and the organic veg. Garden next door supplies the excellent hotel restaurant. Propriator Chati is friendly and extremely helpful and speaks perfect English. Beautiful outside restaurant deck overlooking lake is wonderful spot to have coffee and breakfast. Grounds and room are secure. Free Internet in lobby and wifi. Recommendent this place without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with fantastic service and wonderful food. Chati Cajas and her daughter Angela are delightful, and were so responsive and helpful to me as I planned our group's stay here. They can help you arrange boat journeys around the Lake, and so I recommend staying in peaceful San Lucas Toliman and enjoy the other villages at your own pace. Such beautiful surroundings to return to each night after a day filled with exploration!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2luvbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The setting was lovely, and the courtyard rooms charming and spacious. There are lovely outdoor areas to relax and enjoy the views. Chati Cajas, who runs the hotel, was warm, accommodating and helpful always.

The restaurant food was fabulous on every occasion, even when we asked for special favors like more yogurt and less fruit! Yes, there were plentiful and delicious vegetables and fruit, and portions sizes plenty for any appetite. The presentation was lovely.

Have I mentioned the swimming pool, or the view of mist rising over the lake from the deck as you eat?

As with most Guatemalan locations, if you can't sleep through the occasional rooster crowing, bring your earplugs....

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the street opposite the reception office are nicer in that they all border on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Would never have guessed it by judging the small native village surrounding, but Hotel Toliman was a 4star experience! Very well-trained, kind staff look to please your every need. All staff is native which gives that unique sensation of being in Guatemala. Food was very good and decently priced. Great view from restaurant. Beautiful landscaping throughout. Free kayaks available and in the morning the lake is mirror calm. We even got a local Mariachi to serenade my wife on her birthday. The highlight was renting a local tour boat that took us to visit other towns around Atitlan: thermal ponds and Panajachel are highly recommended stops. We loved this place and want to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arudeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lucas Toliman
8.4 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
666 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
784 reviews
8.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
463 reviews
5.5 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
289 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toliman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toliman

Property: Hotel Toliman
Address: Avenida 6, San Lucas Toliman 07013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Lucas Toliman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lucas Toliman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic and comfortable family-run hotel built on the grounds of a former coffee factory. While its extensive gardens and lake views foster a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, our central location in a Guatemalan town unspoiled by tourism lets you experience traditional village life. An excellent place to undertake outdoor adventures and eat delicious local food, supplied mostly by our own organic garden. For more information, please visit our website and social media pages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Toliman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing