We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Born in San Lucas”
Review of Hotel Toliman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Toliman
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I come back to San Lucas, Toliman every couple of years. This is the 1st time my wife and I have stayed in this hotel as we usually stay with family in the area. It will definetly not be the last time. The management is 1st class and the hotel and its grounds are very well kept with spectacular views of Lake Atitlan and the surrounding volcanoes. Next time we plan on spending at least 4 or 5 days there. Price was about $65 for the 2 of us for the night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hector B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Toliman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 288 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

I came back recently from a wonderful vacation in Central America. I traveled to San Lucas Toliman, Guatemala and spent 4 relaxing days at Hotel Toliman. Accomodations were comfortable: Spacious rooms, plenty hot water, spotless and beautifully decorated. I truly enjoyed early morning walks in the beautiful and nicely kept hotel grounds. My favorite place was the hotel restaurant with friendly service, delicious food and amazing views of Lake Atitlan. This is a place that I definitely will visit for a longer period of time and have more time to explore nearby towns, or just to relax and enjoy nature at it's best. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Lake Atitlan. Beware: No TV or phones in the rooms. However, all modern communications devices are readily available at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife Yolanda and I spent 4 days and we had a great and relaxing time that you will forget the world looking all around the hotel, the volcanoes and sorroundings of lake Atitlan , food was super delicious at anytime of the day, hotel acomodations are great, and perfect just like having a second honeymoon. Chatty and Juanita so friendly and you are the best management team for this hotel and Service was magnificent. Hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Any room is good
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I had traveled to Central America more than two decades ago, and now that our children left home we decided to retrace our trip. I speak Spanish, so we rented a car and tried to venture out of the most touristy paths. Our efforts were rewarded when we found the Hotel Toliman. The town of San Lucas Toliman is not one of the most popular destination for international tourists, but perhaps for that reason it is much more quaint, genuine, and we felt very safe (an appreciation confirmed by all the locals we talked to). The hotel itself sits on the shore of the bay of San Lucas, with a wonderful view of the lake and two neighboring volcanoes. The rooms have no frills (and don't have lake view) but are very comfortable, clean and have a traditional antique feel to them (reminded us of Antigua). However, the gardens and restaurant more than make up for the rooms not having lake views. The garden is beautiful and the restaurant has a pleasant and elegant ambience, with huge windows and a deck overlooking the garden and lake. But what made this the best place we stayed in Guatemala was the sum of its beautiful setting, delicious food and the hospitality of its manager, who is fully bilingual and made us feel at home. She also helped set up a tour to several towns around the lake including natural hot springs, and a visit to the local Mayan Cofradia and the Mayan saint Maximón. We started missing this hotel as soon as we left!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejbcasillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank La_ViajeraGt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chati C, Owner at Hotel Toliman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jepsitavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chati C, Manager at Hotel Toliman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Regula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chati C, Owner at Hotel Toliman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lucas Toliman
8.4 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
670 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
8.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
7.0 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
470 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toliman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toliman

Address: Avenida 6, San Lucas Toliman 07013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Lucas Toliman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lucas Toliman
Price Range: $71 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic and comfortable family-run hotel built on the grounds of a former coffee factory. While its extensive gardens and lake views foster a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, our central location in a Guatemalan town unspoiled by tourism lets you experience traditional village life. An excellent place to undertake outdoor adventures and eat delicious local food, supplied mostly by our own organic garden. For more information, please visit our website and social media pages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Toliman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing