We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, cosy, cottage idyllic village locat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Skirr Cottage

The old walled cottage garden with its ancient willow tree and abundance of indigenous flowers.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The old walled cottage garden with its ancient willow tree and abundance of indigenous flowers.
 Board games and a glass of local mead wine in front of the log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The old walled cottage garden with its ancient willow tree and abundance of indigenous flowers.
Board games and a glass of local mead wine in front of the log burner.
Skirr Cottage was the home of the acclaimed writer Henry Williamson.
Please leave your comments in our visitors book; we love to hear about your experience.
Relax in the cozyness of a thatched Devon cottage, after a hard day at the beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Georgeham, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anniemcco...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, cosy, cottage idyllic village locat”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our second visit to this beautiful cottage sits in a perfect village location.Next to the local church with a trickling stream alongside, and gorgeous garden, providing a warm, cosy relaxing atmoshere to sit in the summer evening.

Inside the cottage comes equipped with 2 cosy log burners to snuggle up to in the cooler evenings.The usual amenities and a great outside hot shower which the men loved. Ideal if you've been the beach or surfing.
Two great double bedrooms, very comfortable beds with crisp fresh cotton linen and a single bed in a nook on the landing wich is great any younger children

There are 3 stunning beaches a very short drive away approx 5 to 10 mins in car. The cottage comes with a parking permit for the local putsborugh beach, which is an added bonus

Alan the owner always extends a warm welcome with a phone call to check all is well also a selection of goodies for our arrival and to recommend places to visit trips etc..
2 pubs within walking distance serving great food at excellent prices. we preferred the Kings arms a stones throw from the cottage.

Recommend a meal at the Pierhouse at Westward Ho with views over the estuary,
Trips to Clovelly, Lynton/Lynmouth to name just a couple.

This cottage is in an ideal location to discover the many fabulous attractions of North Devon with lots of beautiful walks too.

Another perfect holiday for us. AbsolutelylLove love love this cottage and the village of Georgeham.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2017
Hi Anne, thanks for your really kind words about our cottage and the surrounding area and thanks for choosing to stay with us again. You are always welcome. Best. Alan and Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredandBe...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“The outdoor shower is wonderful!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family had a lovely week at Skirr Cottage in July. The cottage itself is very well equipped, with mod cons, as well as having a wonderful old world charm - it even has its own blue plaque! Location is great - there are so many amazing Devon beaches nearby, perfect for surfing/body boarding and the local (gastro) pub is just a stone's throw away. The outdoor shower is gorgeous - hot and private(!) and perfect for rinsing off wet suits!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaFredG...
Tollesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“The outdoor shower is wonderful!”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a smashing week we have had staying at Skirr Cottage in Georgeham.

We've had a mix of weather and the cottage has looked after us well. The log burners warmed the cottage up on the wet chilly day and the stone walls kept it nice and cool on the hot days.

My absolute favourite thing is the outdoor shower. Birds tweeting, the church bells ringing and the hot shower beating down on my head. Perfect.
One evening we came back in our wetsuits from the beach and went straight to the shower. Bliss.

The front garden is a really beautiful place. A real country garden. Plenty of space for the children to play with a ball whilst we relaxed in the sunshine.

The cottage is very quiet and the beds are all extremely comfortable so it's the perfect place for catching up on sleep!
That said, there is so much to do in the area! We visited Putsborough beach which is simply stunning. The children loved playing in the pools left behind by the tide. You get free parking there (normally £8.50) when you stay at Skirr Cottage.
Woolacombe was fun and we all enjoyed a sunset swim there after a meal at The Red Barn.
On the rainy day we went to a swimming pool followed by a fabulous meal at The Kings Arms which is a stone's throw away from the cottage. The children had sausages and we had lamb/fish followed by a yummy cheeseboard. The wine is really good too.
The church next door to the cottage is interesting so worth a visit.

We are already planning a trip back in the autumn so we can make full use of all of the board games in front of a cosy fire!

Thank you to Alan & Clare who gave us lots of tips before we went (and also returned the toys we left behind - oops!). Thank you both so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thankyou Anna Fred George and Joshua for your kind words, we are so glad you enjoyed your trip and that you love and made use of the outdoor shower as much as we do.
We hope to to welcome you back again.
Have a great rest of your summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A magical cottage”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A perfect, magical retreat for our anniversary. Thanks to Alan and Clare, who were perfect hosts too. We will remember our stay in Skirr Cottage always and would highly recommend it and the surrounding area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Such kind words, thanks for being perfect guests and for choosing to spend your anniversary at Skirr Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thanks for your kind words Mike, we hope to welcome you back again. Have a fantastic summer. Alan and Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Charming”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Rustic cottage full of charm and character, wife adored the bed.? Love georgeham. Loved the cottage. If available we will book next year too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Hi Natasha and John,
Thanks for leaving a glowing review for our cottage. We hope to welcome you back one day.
Best
Alan and Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G
1 review
“Wonderful.”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were looking for a cozy cottage for a Christmas break. My wife booked the cottage for 5 days over Christmas. The owners sent us some really good information - they even helped us source a turkey (which we collected from a farm 15 mins walk away).

As we turned into the road we passed a beautiful cottage, next to a stream, with a thatched roof. I remember thinking that it looked lovely. It even had a blue plaque, as a famous author lived there. When I realised that it was ours, I knew that my wife had chosen a good one!

When we arrived, we found that we had a Christmas tree ready for decoration, two wood burners set up and ready for lighting, and a few treats - which were very welcome after the journey. The owners phoned once on the first evening to check that we had settled in. We had their contact details but didn't hear from them again.

The cottage was a good size for our family of 5. The master bedroom was huge and the second bedroom was big enough for our 3 small children to share (1 in the cot). As it happened, one of the boys preferred to sleep on the bed on the landing (sounds a bit strange but it's tucked in a cozy alcove and he had 5 solid nights sleep!).

Downstairs was spacious - you have a living room with a TV (we only managed to tune into BBC 1, and 2 and CBeebies - which was fine for us - consider packing some dvds which can be run through the playstation). The dining room was my favourite space - there is a solid wood table large enough to comfortably sit 8, and the room has its own wood burner.

The kitchen is a galley kitchen. The cooker is fantastic (double electric oven with gas hobs). It's a galley kitchen, so it's not huge, but it's big enough to work in and we cooked our Christmas dinner in there with no probs.

Downstairs you also have a bathroom and a separate utility room - so handy!

There is central heating and a good supply of wood for the burners. There is Wi-Fi (password found on the bottom of the router), which is handy as there is no mobile phone reception.

The beach is around 10 mins drive. We went there twice. You can park for free if you show them the keys for the cottage. It's a sandy beach, awash with surfers! Tip - go at sunset - the sun descends over the sea and lit the sky up with the most beautiful crimson and violets. People travel the world for a beautiful beach, and I learned in that moment that Britain has the most beautiful. I've attached a couple of pictures.

The countryside surrounding the cottage comprised of fields and hills. We took a walk through the church grounds (directly next to the cottage). We spotted headstones from the 1700s.we then went along a footpath and into the fields and had a view of the sea. On a clear and brisk winter's day, that was special. There's a picture attached from our walk (not the best photo, I know!). We found the footpath by leaving the cottage and turning right - after a couple of mins the footpath entrance is on the right.

We were very lucky to have found the cozy cottage that we hoped for. We had a Christmas that we will always remember. We'd like to return in the summer, as u think that'll be an entirely different experience - but having stayed there I know it'll be just as good.

The 5 star rating is justified due to the quality of the cottage, the assistance of the owners (without ever coming close to imposing), and the beauty of the surrounding area. Would highly recommend and would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thanks for staying at Skirr Cottage, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay over Christmas.
Best
Alan and Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing