We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation in a fantastic location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Super soft linens in the main kingsize bedroom.
The large garden with beautiful views across the village
The view out to Morte Point on a fvourite local walk.
Beautiful Putsborough just 5 minutes away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Georgeham, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation in a fantastic location”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our holiday in Barley Cottage was fabulous & the cream tea on arrival ensured a perfect start. The cottage is beautifully decorated & is very well equipped. It is also perfectly situated for many activities including surfing, walking, cycling, pubs & restaurants. Only complaint is that a week just isn't long enough!!!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bater2014
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfectly located and comfortable, spotless, beautifully decorated house”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved staying in Barley Cottage. Such a comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated house with everything we needed....coupled with a perfect location. Georgeham is beautiful...the scenery, walks, pubs are great and a few minutes drive from our favourite beach, Putsborough Beach. Thank you for the warm welcome...flowers and cake! Cake, cuppa tea on the decking was the first thing we did when we arrived!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maeva K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in a wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were so happy to find that the reality of Barley Cottage more than matched the pictures on the website. Our holiday had a great start from the minute we arrived. The cottage was very clean, very well decorated, very cosy and the rooms were spacious and light. The attention to detail was fantastic and it was clear that everything we might need had been thought of. The location is fantastic, close to all the places you would want to visit in the area, with great local amenities. The owners were very helpful and communication was efficient and very friendly. We hope to go back next year. So do book Barley Cottage... but not before we get in there first!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennydale
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great house in a great location!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Barley Cottage was exactly what we were looking for. It is comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated, spacious, well looked after and well equipped with a great enclosed garden for the children. Georgeham is a lovely village with two pubs, a shop and children's play area but isn't as busy as Woolacombe or Croyde. A big advantage of Georgeham is the fact it is only 10 minutes by car from Putsborough Sands - a brilliant beach for families (and surfers!). We really appreciated the welcome pack on our arrival - particularly the amazing homemade chocolate cake!! We liked Barley Cottage so much we are going again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light, bright and comfortable feel of the house.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony A
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Loved this place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Loved this cottage. It was everything as described - modern, roomy, well stocked and handy for just about everything - walks, beach, pubs/restaurant. Something for everyone and the welcoming pack was a bumper bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality and location of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2013
We are so pleased you had a good stay at Barley Cottage. Thank you Anthony and we really hope to welcome you back again ... maybe even with 2 freshly baked cakes x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern, stylish feel to the cottage - have stayed in some really dark, pokey, cold ones in the past!
Liked least: Sun everyday would've been good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Barley cottage and many thanks for your lovely comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best wishes Jacqueline & Simon, Barley Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HannahKR
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So fantastic, we've booked to stay again!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed at Barley Cottage for a week last August as we have friends that were staying in their holiday home also in Georgeham. We found the cottage homely, well presented, a good size and very welcoming. The bedrooms were all ample and having 2 bathrooms was a bonus. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great so we didn't have a chance to enjoy evenings out on the decking having BBQ's! As the title says, we enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked to come again this August but for 2 weeks this time. Many Thanks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That there was enough room for 6 of us!
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing