We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New menu - wow!”

Kings Arms Georgeham
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Georgeham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Under current ownership since June 2010, this charming British Pub in the pretty village of Georgeham is less than 2 miles from some of the best surfing beaches in the UK, and on the doorstep of Exmoor National Park and the rest of beautiful North Devon. Boasting a pretty, cosy, inviting pub, we give fantastic value for money, we cook fresh local ingredients,pour the finest real ales, and above all deliver great and truly genuine hospitality to everyone who walks in the door, every day of the week!!Dog and child friendly, and open 7 days a week, we look forward to seeing you soon....Ever-changing delicious and applauded menu, and owned and run by ex-River Cafe/Seafood Restaurant chef and London-experienced restaurant manager-turned-pub proprietor Steve Cave, The King's Arms is this corner of North Devon's little secret gem.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New menu - wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We visited the pub today for the second time during our holiday as we like it so much. We tried the new menu which is being launched this weekend. Wow! We had the smoked haddock fish cakes with hollandaise sauce. They were full of flavour, big crunchy breadcrumb coating, nice fresh salad and chunky chips - delicious. Managed to fit in dessert. Cointreau creme brulee with orange shortbreads amazing and cooked perfectly. We also tried the flourless pear gateau - very rich and moist. A nice satisfying bowl of peach and apple crumble just like mum makes. Even if you know the Kings Arms, get along and try the new menu -fabulous. If you have never been, then go. You will surely love the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavepatrol, Owner at Kings Arms Georgeham, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Ah brilliant!! Thank you!!

It's such a stressful time changing menus...I love doing it, but taking well-loved dishes off and throwing new ones in the 'mix' is quite nerve-jangling!! Great to hear it's been so well-received!!

Hope to see you again soon,

Thank again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    144
    38
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best pubs ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Kings Arms in Georgeham is a great pub, one of the best I’ve been to and I’ve been to many. Very friendly service, great for really good ales, child & dog friendly. The background music it plays is good, and the sound systems quality too - plenty of melody no unnecessary thumping bass.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Great little pub, food was brilliant! And the service provided was great, the people who work here are all so friendly!! We spent most our holiday evenings at this pub.

Helpful?
2 Thank jodie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Kings Arms last summer while on holiday, and came again this year for an evening meal after being recommended to us by Claire and John at Putsborough manor. It was busy and didn't start serving until 6 so booking was essential. We took our two border collies along and received a very warm welcome. We had bangers and mash with a pint of Courage, chargrilled chicken burgers, and a black bean and chick pea burger with sweet chilli sauce. The pub was extremely busy but the staff worked really well and made for a nice lively and friendly atmosphere the whole time. The food was really tasty, nicely presented and well cooked. One of our meals was forgotten and the waitress apologised and quickly sorted it out without any fuss. We had treacle tart, caramel panacotta, and apple and almond gateau for dessert... Absolutely delicious! Everything a good honest British pub should be with great atmosphere, great food and drink, and all welcome. Definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Celebration of adoption”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews we decided to celebrate our sons adoption here
Nice surroundings
Staff friend land helpful
Menu extensive
However
Out of 5 meals ordered. Only 2 where nice
Other 3 where passable
2 very bland 1 just not nice
Also not sure if it's trying to be restaurant or pub. If it's a pub then a bit on the expensive side
If a restaurant then why let dogs in
That was very of putting overall
Ok but I won't be going back

Helpful?
1 Thank slinkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavepatrol, Owner at Kings Arms Georgeham, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello,
I just wanted to respond following your review of your dinner with us.
I'm really surprised that it was so poor.
We were delighted to have you join us, especially on such a big day for your family. What we didn't say on the night, in an effort to ensure you could relax with your new family, was that we had to discount 4 tables bills, and do quite a bit of 'smoothing over' with them as your lovely little lad, was; how can I delicately put it; quite vocal...
We had noise complaints for the duration of your stay, and although I do understand the difficulties of keeping the little ones quiet, and was happy to prefer to deal with other upset guests than speak to your table about it, given the occasion, I was really disappointed to receive such a poor review.
It cost me quite a bit to allow your table the latitude on such a unique evening for your new family.
I agonised over whether to respond to your review or not, but this little business is MY baby, and I just wanted you to know the situation. Perhaps if you'd known the lengths we went to on the night, or remembered the pleasant chat we had prior to your departure, or the pleasure the little one had on meeting the lovely dog at the bar, the review may not have been posted in quite the same way.

Hope everything is going well, and wishing you and your family our best.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Arms Georgeham also viewed

Georgeham, Braunton
 
Croyde, Braunton
 

Been to Kings Arms Georgeham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing