We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the last minute booking”
Review of The Rock Inn

The Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Georgeham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thanks for the last minute booking”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Turned up without a reservation. Mark worked his magic and gave us a table after a pint of Otter. Really pleased they could fit us in. Great atmosphere and lots of good seafood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    173
    53
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a great evening! First class!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Thank you so much to all at the Rock Inn for making our night amazing! We were staying in Braunton for a few days and we booked to go to the Rock Inn on the Sunday night. It was a perfect night, with great service, great food and wine and also great ambience.
Will definitely come back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loveagoodgetaway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Book ahead at weekends!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good choice of menu with reasonable prices. I had green Thai veg curry which was delicious - nice crunch still to the veg. My husband had belly pork which was tasty but had soggy skin - crackling would have been nicer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well prepared and presented food, well kept beer and a pleasant environment. Hits all the right notes and we'd return without question.

Worth calling ahead to book as it does appear to be well subscribed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Just had a very enjoyable meal at The Rock Inn - we had looked at the menu online, and my husband was looking forward to the fish pie, but it wasn't available and neither was the lasagne. Disappointing! However my husband settled for the fish & chips and I took the crab. Both were nicely served and very tasty. My husband followed his main course with a crumble, which he enjoyed. I was too full for anything else! The service was friendly and discreet. Our order was taken & served to us in a timely manner, and we had time between courses to allow food to digest. Don't let parking (or lack of spaces) in the car park put you off! It was difficult to park our car, and we had to double park, however there are notices asking you to let a member of staff know if you had done so, and when you are needed to move, you are politely asked to do so. Someone then double parked in front of us, but it was all dealt with very politely so was not an issue. Would we eat at The Rock again - yes we would (always the acid test!).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Inn also viewed

 
Croyde, Braunton
 

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing