We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Curious Pig in the Parlour
Ranked #2 of 3 Copthorne B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great, Staff, Great Food, Great room. There is nothing I could fault with my stay. The hotel was only 15 minutes from where I choose to park before flying from Gatwick.
The Room was a fair size, very clean and had nice views of the garden. The restaurant had a good choice of food and my evening meal was very good. Good nights sleep and up for a full English very nice Breakfast. The Staff were also very nice and hard working. I will definitely book again as it is really Ideal for stay either before and or after your flights from Gatwick. I have stayed in many hotels in the area for this reason and this being the best by a mile. Will definitely rebook which is best to do early as it is only a small hotel/Pub

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night on Easter Saturday and wish we had stayed longer. It's newly renovated tastefully with lovely little pieces of decor that gives it a homely feel. We had a drink in the gorgeous garden out the back in the afternoon, before going in to the pub for dinner in the evening. The staff were all very friendly, nothing seemed to be a problem for them, giving the place a relaxed feel. The food was superb. We had a 3 course meal which was delicious and reasonably priced. The selection on the menu was brilliant too.
The room we had was on the ground floor and was lovely. Got no noise from the pub at all, so we had a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.
This was all topped off by a lovely breakfast in the morning, cooked to order again with a lovely selection.
I would highly recommend staying here, we will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexV86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I would highly recommend The Curious Pig to anyone who wants to relax.

The room was perfectly dressed and it made so comfortable with immaculate linen and the most comfortable bed.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming to everyone. The food was delicious and you can tell that both the front of house and kitchen staff work well as a team.

I may even extend my stay, it was so good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after a days racing at Lingfield on Easter Friday as the curious pig is only 10 mins away. We stayed in the parlour room which was an excellent room with a kingside bed, exceptionally comfortable, and lovely decor. It has little stairs leading to the room which made it feel like your own apartment with a large comfortable day bed/sofa. Lovely touches in the room like illy fresh coffee and white company bathroom products, soft fluffy towels and bathrobes were a great addition.

We had our evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant and on Friday night even though they were fully booked the service was good. The food was delicious I had one of their famous pizzas, one of the best pizzas I've ever had and I've eaten them in Venice and New York! And my husband had steak which came with large chunky chips and a delicious sauce, he asked for it rare and it came rare they weren't scared to cook it as requested as some places do. The restaurant has the same decor as the room and is quirky and stylish with great pictures, oak doors for tables and they give you your bill in an old hard backed book. The wine list is comprehensive and reasonably priced.

Breakfast could not be faulted, cereal, toast from uncut bread which you help yourself to and is in abundance and the cooked breakfast was just what you wanted on the plate no menus just ask for your favourite cooked breakfast items! The sausages were fantastic and it was all served with a huge cafetiere of more illy coffee. Katy one of the staff was extremely attentive and made us feel very welcome.

The only thing that would have made the room perfect for us would have been for the velux windows to have had blackout blinds, they just have regular blinds, which makes it tricky if you want to sleep in as they were quite light in colour but it wasn't a deal breaker for us.

I would suggest the management get up to speed on social media, previous trip advisor reviews shortly before we stayed were not preferable, although we can't see why, but we couldn't see management responding to those bad reviews. Also twitter interaction is poor.

All in all we are definitely going to return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Purpleprincessemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed overnight at the weekend. Lovely clean rooms, very well laid out and even though we had a room at the front we suffered very little noise from the road thanks to secondary glazing. The restaurant and bar was nicely decorated and relaxing, even though it was quite busy. The service was a little slow, but the staff were lovely and friendly. There is a lovely big garden out the back with plenty of seating and had it been a bit warmer we would have made more use of it. The food was very good and the steaks are worth the price. There is plenty of other items to chose from as well.
Would recommend the Curious Pig for a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stopped off at the Curious Pig on our way home from the airport. Have eaten here in the past but the pizzas had been recommended by various friends so took the opportunity to try one. The pizza is cooked in a proper pizza oven, came to the table piping hot, with loads of topping. And the good news for locals is that they do a take-away! New decor is a great improvement on what was previously The Hedgehog but a bit lacking in atmosphere it being a Tuesday lunchtime. Good service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

It was a beautifully sunny spring day, and on a whim my husband and I stayed overnight at this charming hotel. The rooms are named after different breeds of pig and we had asked for a quiet room. The room was well laid out with thoughtful touches and was indeed quiet and comfortable. The sunny afternoon was made for enjoying a drink in the large garden, and in the evening we enjoyed a first class meal in the very busy restaurant. To be honest, service was on the slow side, but the staff was charming and the food was worth waiting for - a steak for my husband and a thin and crispy pizza for me. Breakfast was superb and really set us up for the day. What more can I add - oh yes, we hope to return! Thanks to all the staff we met.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
2.8 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
The Old House Inn
The Old House Inn
#1 of 3 in Copthorne
71 reviews
2.6 mi away
Windfalls Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
4.9 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#5 of 19 in Crawley
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linchens
Linchens
#3 of 3 in Copthorne
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Curious Pig in the Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Curious Pig in the Parlour

Address: Effingham Road | Copthorne, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3HY, England (Formerly Hedgehog Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Copthorne
Price Range: $95 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curious Pig Pig in the Parlour is a new pub with beautiful accommodation, only 7 miles from Gatwick airport. Offering expertly cooked, charcoal oven steaks - including 28 day dry-aged Black Angus cuts, and homemade pizzas cooked in our imported Italian wood-fired pizza oven - The Curious Pig really does cater for all. With accommodation starting from £85 a night, in newly refurbished rooms complete with premium bedding, fluffy towels and White Company toiletries - we offer a super-comfortable stay, with added homemade luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Curious Pig in the Parlour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Curious Pig In The Parlour Copthorne, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing