We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pit-stop before flying from Gatwick”
Review of The Old House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Copthorne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pit-stop before flying from Gatwick”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Needed a quick nights stay-over before a super early flight from Gatwick. The rooms are lovely, and the manager Raj was a real charmer, sadly had not much time there, but I can highly recommend the food, and service, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
34
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed for one night as I was visiting friends locally and wanted to make a weekend of it. The old pub and restaurant have been very stylishly updated and the new B&B building is very well designed with great decor and lovely finishing touches.

The weather was poor and traffic bad so we ended up being very lazy and eating a late lunch, dinner and breakfast without leaving the grounds. The food was really very good and, although not cheap, I thought it was reasonably priced for the quality. The drinks were a bit pricey, but that is probably because I'm from the Midlands and always balk at the cost of a white wine south of Watford which is why I've stuck with 'excellent' for value.

The staff were incredibly friendly and polite and it felt more like a small hotel than B&B at a pub.
I would definitely stay again, although, because the rooms are off the pub garden (which is also very stylish) I wonder if you stayed there in the summer, but needed an early night for an early flight, whether you might find yourself getting a bit annoyed with people enjoying themselves outside your window until closing?

Anyway, that last bit is just a musing and another reviewer from the summer didn't seem to mind. I put 4/5 for cleanliness only because the person I was with spotted it was very dusty under the bed. I would never have noticed and don't really care but felt I couldn't put 'excellent' after he had pointed it out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ES-R1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Family group Saturday evening at 6.00pm 4 children 4 adults. We were warmly greated and looked after throughout our meal. The menu choice is impressive for vegetarians and lots of fish alongside choice meat dishes. The ingredients were fresh and high quality resulting in some fabulous flavours particularly the scallops, squid (special) the risotto and the burger. Others in the party also rated the pork, chicken and mackerel. The place was already busy with a warm ambient atmosphere. The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. When we asked for tap water for the table this was served in chilled bottles with chilled glasses. It's these touches and detail that all contributed to a lovely meal and great experience. The coffee was also very good. The garden is large which the children enjoyed. it also has lots of rustic large tables for outside eating. We will return its very convenient from M25 near Gatwick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elbowsoffthetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to the south coast. The rooms are a recent addition to the pub and they have been done out in a very attractive style. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms and I really liked the shower in the en-suite wet-room. We ate in the garden as it was such a warm evening and the food was good - although I could have done with a few more chips after cycling 40 miles to get there! The staff were welcoming and friendly and the bar had some good local beers. Would certainly stay here again if we got the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
3.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
4.5 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Inn

Property: The Old House Inn
Address: Effingham Road, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Inn, despite its name and age, is actually a new country dining pub with rooms. Situated just minutes from Gatwick Airport yet with a surprisingly remote feel, the Old House Inn has been recently renovated to an exceptional standard and has been transformed into a wonderful country pub offering outstanding food, drink and accommodation. Whether you are looking for a quick lunch, a delicious evening meal, a private party, a business meeting, an overnight stay before your flight in Gatwick or a relaxing weekend away, the Old house Inn is the perfect destination pub. The Old House is part of 'Pub group of the year 2016' by the Good Pub Guide and also received a Dinner award and 4 Stars Silver for our accommodation by the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House Inn Copthorne, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing