We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Our flights were delayed and then rebooked for the next day so after a very long day of traveling, the airline booked us here for the night. We had a wonderful stay and are hoping to stay here again on our next visit. The hotel itself is rustic but elegant. The staff were so accommodating and set up the restaurant for all the passengers that had been delayed. The buffet had a wide selection and the service was excellent. The room was very clean. Hoping to return on our next trip! Would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you very much indeed for posting your review following your stay with us when your flight was delayed. Although I can understand the circumstances were not ideal with your travel plans being disrupted, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by our staff. Thank you also for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, that is the top mark, thank you so much. All guest comments are seen by our staff. We hope you are home safe and sound and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back now you have discovered our hotel.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Good location near Gatwick Airport, quiet hotel with good food (but a little pricey).
Usual amenities but no lift and no airconditioning/ventilation (reception can provide fan)
Option available to park car for longer than hotel booking and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrucieBEssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel nice and quiet, we are only 4 miles from the airport, however, as we are located just South of Gatwick we do not experience any noise. Unfortunately, owing to the nature of our building we do not offer a lift to the upper floor, however, we will always provide assistance with luggage. Thank you very much for awarding your stay 4 stars, that is great feedback, thank you. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Easily found, great price for an overnight stay and leave your car whilst holidaying abroad. Room was comfy. Will definitely use it again. Didn't use the restaurant as I wanted to check out the local area, found a nice pub further down the road.

Room Tip: Massive place so if you dont want a 5minute walk to your room, say so on booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all went well with your parking with us and transfers to the airport. It is wonderful that you awarded us 5 stars as I understand this was your first stay with us. Thank you so much, all comments made by our guests are shared with our staff. Hopefully, you had a lovely holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time.
With best wishes and thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We always stay here before & after our two holidays each year. We had a club room the first stay & it was lovely. We ate in the bar which is ok if a table can be found but pricey for the type of food served there. On our return we booked a standard room for the first time ever & it was a bit on the small side but well equipped & with a really comfy bed. Looking forward to our next stay in September now.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception. I did, but was given a room miles away on our second night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your return stay with us, feedback from regular guests such as yourselves is very valuable to us so thank you once again. We have noted your comments regarding the bar and food served. So sorry you had a room a rather long walk from Reception, the nature of our building is quite spread out in parts although we only have the ground floor and upper floor. We always do our best to accommodate guests in rooms near Reception if required. Thank you once again for your nice words and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Quite impressed with the Copthorne hotel. Check in was quick and easy and the free parking was organised and explained, dead easy, just fill in a form and hand in your keys.
The room was decent and clean, the bed was nice and comfy and there are tea and coffee making facilities and also satellite TV.
We ate at the Swan inn attached to the hotel and the food was good but a little expensive for what it was.
The only down side to the hotel was the surcharge for internet connection, this is really a basic amenity in a hotel these days - we knew about it before we came as it was clearly stated on the booking confirmation but still, make it free!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read your comments and how much you enjoyed your overall stay and found our parking procedures etc. all very straight forward. It is our company policy to charge for internet connection, I am sorry you seemed surprised about this charge. As you say, we do try to advise all guests in advance whether they book via the website or direct with the hotel. Please be assured your comments will be noted by our management. We very much hope you will return to us in the future, hoping you had a wonderful trip and returned home safely.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a lovely place to stay. The buildings are really nice and interesting. The value for money isn't too bad. I can highly recommend eating here, both in the restaurant and the brasserie. The breakfast was fantastic. I was very impressed with the friendly, helpful and reliable staff in all areas.
Where I was very disappointed was the total poor quality of wifi. It was virtually non existent even in the bars and reception areas. As for the rooms, there was no wifi connectivity. Very poor.
I felt the hotel also let itself down with the tile repairs in the bathroom in my 'Club' room. Very poor repairs undertaken and in a facility of such high class.
I may stay again, but I felt let down. Shame.
A final note. There is 'secure' 'barriered' parking but the barriers were up all Saturday evening and through to Sunday morning.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay although some areas let us down. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely building, parts date back to the 16th century, years ago the main building was a farm house. We are so sorry about the poor wifi connection you experienced, we are currently investigating this and looking at various options in order to improve the service, our sincere apologies. We have noted and asked our Chief Engineer to look into the tiling in your bathroom, as you say, for a Club room this workmanship is not acceptable. Lastly, regarding the barriers being open, we can control these from our Front Desk, we occasionally leave them open if we have a function taking place and there is a lot of traffic going to and fro, we completely understand your concerns regarding security if the barriers are open. Please be assured your comments have been passed to the Manager concerned. We do hope you will return to us in the future.
Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Although my stay was for only one night, I was impressed by the quality of the hotel and facilities.
I couldn't fault the room or the various restaurants. Even the bar food was excellent and I am hoping to stay again soon.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your nice words following your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel and the surroundings. Thank you also for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is great news and will be shared with all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: $75 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing