We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do you like plenty of walking..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Do you like plenty of walking..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

On arrival hotel looks nice, nothing like the sterile chain hotels we see these days, set in nice grounds and building is fairly old with new additions over the years. Checked in smoothly and given number for my room (366), told it was ground floor which sounded good, however I must of had the furthest room possible from reception, it was that far i had to count how many steps when returning to reception area later, 250 steps in total, i was placed at the end of an anexe. I was offered at checkin an upgraded room which had recently been decorated for an extra £30 which i declined. Room was compact but appeared clean, had the usual facilities you would expect of a 4 star hotel, iron/ironing board, 24 hour room service, tv, desk area etc, the bathroom was in need of redecoration, the toilet seat was peeling as it was wooden with a film coating, the tiles above the toilet had obviously in the past been cracked and fallen off but had been poorly repaired and looked a bit of a mess. Wifi is charged at £5 for 24 hours. Restaurant prices are expensive as you would expect at a hotel near to Gatwick, a sirloin steak was £31!! although there is a bar/lounge area you can eat a burger and chips for £13. on this occasion I can say that a room at a premier inn would beat the one I had here although you don't get the facilities at a premier that this hotel offers.

Room Tip: Ask for one near to reception otherwise you had better bring your walking boots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the timet to post your review. We were pleased to read you enjoyed yoru overall experience, however, we can see certain areas of your room were not up to standard and these have been noted. Owing to the nature of our building some rooms are a distance to walk, although this is very similar in other hotels also. We have 227 rooms in total spread between a ground floor and up upper floor, the building is in the shape of an H. We always try to accommodate those guests who need to be close to reception. Thank you once again, very much for your review.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    507
    291
    159
    128
See reviews for
224
766
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A nice hotel close to the airport with clean rooms and safe parking for the car. Ideal location for quick transfer into the airport. There is a shuttle bus, but it's only £9 for a cab we so chose that option. There is a nice outside seating area for a drink and the restaurant looked nice, but we went down the road to the Dukes Head as it's our favourite place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plfara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and your nice words, thank you for awarding your stay with us 5 stars. Yes, the taxi fare is very reasonable, we would normally recommend that. The Duke's Head is very nice so hopefully you had a great start to your holiday.
Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel, booked by my company a few times now. The rooms are a good size, they are clean and comfortable. The staff are all helpful. Yesterday I stayed for one night, my room had twin beds, I went back to reception and asked if I could have a double bed, changed in 2 minutes no problem. Last time I ordered room service, the menu is a bit boring so asked if I could have something from one of the restaurants. I was told he needed to check, rung me straight back and lovely food was sent up very quickly from the restaurant. Yesterday I ate in the restaurant, lovely service and food. Holiday Inn and Best Western please take note, you are not a patch on this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old part, on the 2nd floor, the room I last had was ground floor and overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarkava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your complimentary review of our hotel and also for awarding us the top level of 5 stars, that is great, thank you. Yes, the rooms in the old part of the hotel or main building are just like home from home. We are so glad our staff were nice and flexible and able to provide you with food from the restaurant in your room. Customer service is our most important area, all our staff observe this and want to help our guests in whatever way they can.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Copthorne before travelling to Gatwick airport the following morning and found the rates very reasonable for 2 rooms and parking.
The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated but it is very difficult struggling with suitcases up stairs- no lift!
This is our 3rd visit to the hotel and last year enjoyed a lovely meal in the pub area within the hotel but this time none of the staff seemed to know what they were doing. The drinks took ages to be sorted and I was served my drink in a pint glass, I was not drinking beer! We ordered fish and chips and mushy peas and when the food eventually arrived there were no mushy peas. We queried this and were told the kitchen had run out of them but they had not told the waiter! The food also was only just warm. As I said no one seemed to know what they were doing.
When we returned from holiday our car was parked at the front of the hotel ready for us so that was good.
We would still use the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernsoftie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and that you have stayed with us before. We have naturally passed your comments regarding your meal on to our Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. Please accept our sincere apologies. We normally receive compliments regarding our food and service, we can only assume there may have been some new staff looking after you. Whichever way, this is very unusuall and we are very sorry as our food and customer service level is extremely high.
Thank you anyway for taking the time to post a review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Really nice hotel, setting, inside well furnished. Staff very welcoming if not knowledgeable. Room was very nice and more than adequate. Restaurant very nice, but food and wine average. We used the leisure facilities which were run by a different company and made a feedback comment that the pool was dirty with a thick dark brown grease mark all the way around the top edge. It was possible to scrape it off where it was so thick. No acknowledgement received on our feedback questionnaire.

However, on our return from holiday and on collecting our car that had been left in the care of the hotel, we found scratches on the offside mirror that was definitely not there when we parked the car. We pointed this out, and one of the staff took photographed the damage and told us someone would be in touch with us regarding the incident. After a week we twice tried to contact them and finally received an email to say that as no member of staff could confirm this damage had occurred whilst the car was in their care, they were sorry they were not responsible in any way and that was the end of the matter. We felt that the hotel was making us to be liars. Its left a bad taste in our mouth and although it is convenient for Gatwick Airport, we will not be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review. While we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel, we are very sorry about the damage to your wing mirror. I beleive you will find nearly all the hotels near the airport offer car parking and have an "open" car park which is used by other hotel guests and members of the public using the hotel. I am very sorry but in a situation such as this we cannot be held responsible, however, we do appreciate how upset you felt. I am very sorry if this isolated incident has deterred you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Copthorne the night before catching an early flight from Gatwick. The staff all made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. There was plenty of choice of where and what to eat at different price points - we chose a bar snack from a comprehensive menu. A highlight for us was that we could sit outside on the lawn in the late afternoon sunshine and wander round the grounds and garden.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banhadlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's surroundings. Thank you also for awarding us 5 stars, that is great news, thank you.
We are so lucky to have beautiful gardens to enjoy and yet we are only 4 miles or 10 minutes from the airport. We hope to welcome you back next time, thank you once again.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Hotel is well located for Gatwick and the rooms and facilities are good. Unfortunately when I returned from holiday my car was damaged. The staff were very understanding and took photos of the damage. I was advised that the hotels CCTV would be checked and even told by a member of staff that the hotels insurance would take care of it.
A week on I received an email from the hotel to tell me that they were sorry but they had not been able to find out what had happened and they hoped my car could be repaired under the cost of my insurance. There website T&Cs makes no mention of parking at your own risk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry about your car being damaged. This occurred when your car had been brought round from our long term car park to our pick up car park. Unfortunately, under the circumstances we were unable to accept responsibility as your car must have been damaged by another vehicle parked alongside. We are very sorry you returned from holiday to this damage. It is something that might happen in a big, busy car park and I am very sorry we could not help you. I wish to add this is a very unusual occurrence.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing