We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our two year old before our morning flight in December. We checked in with a pram, lots of bags and a toddler and were given a room on the first floor and there isn't a lift! We mainly chose this airport hotel as it had a pool and we thought it would be nice to arrive at the hotel and all go swimming, so we were very disappointed to find the pool is actually the use of a pool within la fitness not a hotel pool and it was closed early as it was Sunday.
We ate in the bar area and ordered food. My partner ordered his and they brought out the wrong thing, so reordered and it was wrong again. I think this was mainly down to the bar staff's lack of English, he had to ask a colleague what we wanted (a bacon bap not a bacon and egg as was stated on the menu- not too difficult) Our room was also much too hot making it difficult to sleep, however the bed was very comfortable and the parking great.
I wouldn't stay here again - it is a lovely looking hotel but for the price I would stay somewhere else.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Arraminta32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very sorry to read that you were disappointed with several aspects of your stay. Most of our family rooms are located on the first floor, unfortunately, we do not have a lift but you should have been offered help with your luggage. We have also noted your comments regarding the standard of English of some of our staff who misunderstood you, so sorry about the problems you experienced with your food.
May we thank you most sincerely for your honest and informative comments.
Kindest regards
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

To experience a traditional English cottage style Hotel set in rural countryside yet less than ten minutes drive to Gatwick airport , this would be hard to beat !.I stayed three nights in a standard room it was large and airy with TV coffee making facilities, very comfortable bed, extremely clean throughout . The restaurants were always very busy in the evening , and a room service menu is also available. Hotel staff were always very courteous, friendly and helpful enjoyed The hotel is set in beautiful gardens, and is a pleasant walk to the nearby village,There is a pleasant indoor pool with steam room ( best avoid after school hours as there are swimming lessons and the instructor is really loud).20mins bus ride to Crawley for shops and bus stop next to hotel .Would definately stay again .Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from fire exit as people bang the doors
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review. Yes, we are so lucky with our location and our beautiful building, and yet only 10 minutes from the airport. The pictures you took are lovely, thank you very much indeed. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back next time.
With very best wishes and Merry Christmas
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times and have to say that the staff are always there to help. Breakfast is always hot and fresh. The lovely chef Elizabeth always seems to be running about to make sure her customers are happy. It's nice to see such dedication. The food in the bars and restaurant are always good. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Some of the room are in desperate need of a make over. I will keep coming back due the wonderful personal service I always receive.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank RJS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are so glad you are always well looked after by our staff, that is a great compliment, thank you. Elizabeth is a highly valued member of our kitchen team, many thanks for mentioning her, your comments will be passed on to our Head Chef as well as Elizabeth herself. I wonder which room you stayed in. We have now refurbished over half our bedrooms this year, we are just in our last stage of the project to be completed by 31 December. Our refurbished rooms are very nice and have been receiving some excellent feedback. When you next book, please ask for one !
With very best wishes for Christmas from us all at the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have now stayed a couple of times in this hotel and have always found it to be very good.
The decor is rather conservative, like a gentleman’s club although it does have a “pub attached”.
Food is either in the restaurant which is a little pricey but has reasonable fixed price menu or bar food which may suit some tastes (remember Vesta food?). The breakfast is served from 06.30 and is buffet style for hot and cold, ideal if you are in a rush and can’t wait for it to be cooked. Twice I have had excellent full English breakfasts here, good food and surroundings.

Rooms are of a good standard and serve their purpose, a good quiet comfortable night’s sleep. The club rooms offer that little extra space and facilities but worth the extra price? Good if you require these extras.

The hotel staff do compliment this hotel, nothing is too much for them and although on my last stay a small mistake was made on the bill, it was rectified immediately.

There is a small car park charge for guests which I do disagree with but is now standard around all airport hotels, this hotel only charging £5, cheap compared with others.

.I would definitely recommend this hotel as a stopover for the airport but would also consider it if staying in the area for pleasure

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review, we were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by our staff. We are also glad you fine our location convenient for your needs. Yes, we have charged for car parking some some years now, we believe this is in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area, as you can imagine parking is in huge demand at certain times of the year.
Thank you once again - we hope to welcome you back soon and wishing you a very merry Christmas
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Myself, Husband and 7 year old Granddaughter stayed for one night before our flight out of Gatwick we used park and fly. The check in process was very easy. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We had a family room which was more than big enough.
We ate in one of the bars and although the menu was basic the food was good. The staff were all very helpful. We had a taxi arranged for us to take us to the airport the following morning as we were leaving very early and the bus only went once an hour and the cost was £4.50 per adult the taxi was booked at a convenient time for us and we were charged £9.50.
We called the same taxi company on our return and they were there in less than 10 minutes. The check out process was effortless after 4 days. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We were so glad to read you enjoyed your stay with your granddaughter. We hope you had a lovely holiday and are very glad to read you would return to us in the future.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With best wishes for Christmas and the New Year.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have just come back after staying in this hotel which was very pleasant, however at check out we were informed that we would have to pay £5.00 for car parking. If you are a guest in the hotel for the night I found it unbelievable that you would be charged to park your car in the hotel car park for the night. We booked on line and I can't see anywhere that it informs you of this extra charge, although when we went out to the car the charges are displayed in the car park itself but as it is so close to the airport one would argue that the charges are for people not staying at the hotel not for actual paying guests. It left a bitter taste to what was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millymollymandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are very sorry you were not made aware of our parking charge of £5.00. This was listed under Guest Services, we have now moved this statement to the top of our home page so it is more visible and guests are made aware. We are very sorry about this. I do believe this charge is in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area, we have charged for car parking for over two years now.
Thank you once again for your review.
Wishing you a very happy Christmas.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed for night before flight from Gatwick and used park and fly. I was very mindful of negative reviews I'd read on here but it was actually pretty good - bearing in mind it's only really a stop off and not a destination in its own right. Room was quiet, bed comfy and had everything you'd expect. Bit rough round the edges but that doesn't really matter for a night's stay. Ate in the pub on site, standard pub food prices really and not extortionate for what you get despite other reviews here. Again it's an airport hotel so the bar isn't set that high! Food pretty good as well. Parking process very smooth and simple, with plenty of staff and all very helpful. Only downside was the breakfast we decided to buy on top before leaving for our flight (we have a hungry toddler in tow). Not worth it. Expensive, uninspiring and you'd do better to wait til you get to the airport. Would definitely stay again though: it does the job it needs to and at a good price.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. It was very kind of you to take the time. We hope you had a lovely holiday and glad to hear everything went well. Actually, as it happens, although our airport related business is very important to us, we also offer some excellent meeting facilities and people stay with us who are visiting or on business in Sussex. As you can imagine, the next two weeks we have lots of Christmas parties. Thank you once again for taking the time, we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: $80 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing