We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,765)
Filter reviews
1,765 results
Traveler rating
486
598
342
186
153
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
598
342
186
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion d'orlibrary barwhite swanhealth clubtaxi servicecar parkinglondon gatwickdays parkingshuttle busbuffet stylestayed here for one nightstandard roomlong haul flightpre flight staypark and flyan overnight staynight's sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,187 - 1,192 of 1,765 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Despite its convenient location we found this hotel to be unsatisfactory. The check-in clerk was not very welcoming and just shrugged his shoulders when asked why residents had to pay to park their cars! The check-in process was laborious as he refused to accept the reservation until I was made to remember that it was made in my wife's name, not mine, after a farcical guessing game.

The room was stale, at best it had not been aired, at worst there had been smokers there with little attempt at cleaning. We were eventually moved and the next room was a little better.

At £13.50 we declined to take breakfast having seen the rather sad offering.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are very sorry you found your stay disappointing both from the customer service side and accommodation provided. We do charge £5.00 for parking, I am sorry you were not made aware of this fact. Our charge is in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area and is advertised on our website. We are very sorry the person who checked you in seemed disinterested. He should have pointed out the easiest way to locate a booking on our computer system is via the booking name, it is an easy mistake to make by forgeting the booking was in your wife's name, we are very sorry about this, also that you had to change rooms. We have also reported to the chef your comments regarding breakfast. Please accept our apologies.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review as information for other travellers.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We parked, then flew, then stayed one night on our return. We ended up in a executive room which was very comfortable.

On arrival at 130am we were told our room was not ready - a bit strange! But the duty manager arranged tea for us whilst we waited 2 minutes. We were tired and irritable but I suppose it was no big deal.

Bus to airport is about 4.50 and goes directly there. But on its return its visits other hotels so could be slow. It doesn't run late and a taxi after midnight was £14 - other reviewers say £9/10 for day time.

We shall stay again here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canary2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are sorry you had to wait for your room, however, glad you were well looked after. Yes, our shuttle bus costs £4.50 each way per person. It takes you direct to the airport on the way but it is a longer journey on the return and we do recommend guests might like to take a taxi. I can only think the taxi fare was more because of your timings.
We hope you had a lovely holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked for car park and overnight stay on our return form holiday. Very helpful on booking in no concerns. However upon our return the car had been moved from its original position and placed under trees resulting in it been covered in bird droppings. When we went to book in after a long flight and arriving at midnight the male night manager was surly to the point of rudeness, pointed in the vague direction of the rooms and said go across the road, leaving us to try to find the room.

We could find no lift which meant dragging the heavy cases up 2 flights of stairs and the carpets were threadbare and in need of replacement. The room was of a decent size, the bed comfortable and clean but the bathroom let it down, there was hair from the previous occupant on the floor of the bathroom, the bath looked grubby and had a chip out of it and the seal had gone around the bath, the tiles were cracked on the floor and the tiles on the side of the bath were coming away from the sides.

When we booked out, we avoided the man from the previous night and the pleasant female member of staff dealt with us efficiently, including getting rid of the unnecessary forms that her colleague had got us to complete from the previous evening. On the whole it is good value for money when you take into account car parking but they need to put the night manager on a charm course as if he was the first person that I met after getting into England I would be tempted to get back on the plane!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yummymummyLincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. Firstly, we are very sorry about the bird droppings on your car, unfortunately at this time of year it can be a problem and as our car park is lined by trees although we do our best not to park guest's cars in this area we sometimes have no alternative.
We shall certainly follow up your comments regarding the unhelpful attitude of the Night Manager. We will be able to identify who this was and he will face an investigation by our Front Office Manager. We do not accept this attitude.
We will also examine the room you occupied in line with your comments, please accept our apologies for the standards of cleanliness and maintenance. Unfortunately we do not have lifts in either the main building or the area you stayed in across from reception. As it happens, we are currently refurbishing our bedroooms and have just completed 60 rooms out of a total of 227.
I do hope you will consider returning to us in the future, also that you had a most enjoyable holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the Copthorne over night due to a flight from Gatwick in the early hours, as well as using the carpark for a week. Upon arrival we were given our key and told which way the room was. The room was lovely, comfortable beds, fresh towels etc. However, the drink making facilities in the room only consisted of coffee- unfortunate if you do not drink coffee! In addition to this, it seems odd in such a well presented room to have big bulky televisions on the desk.

There are various restaurants to eat at, with a range of prices, you are looking at an average of £12 for a main meal here, plus drinks and anything else you may require.

From having to ask questions about where places are, it appears that some of the staff do not know the basics of the surrounding area, such as: the nearest petrol station, where to book an appointment for a beauty treatment- which we ended up just forgetting about. However, to mention by name Charlie was a wonderful member of staff who ended up showing us around the hotel once he realised that nobody had told us anything, he also offered to make our taxi arrangements for us for the morning! He was a polite, friendly and approachable young gentleman.

Collecting the car was far from simple. We arrived at the hotel at 1.50pm, spoke to three members of staff as they did not appear to have our car on the system? Or could not find our car key, meaning my partner had to walk around different car parks with a member of staff to find the location- then all of a sudden the key was found. I understand in busy hotels there can be hiccups, but it just appeared very unprofessional and unorganised which meant we did not leave the Copthorne until 2.30pm after a long day of travelling home.

Overall I would say that the ground surroundings make the Copthorne a 4*.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTabb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your informative review. We were glad to read you enjoyed your room but found some other aspects of your stay disappointing. We are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms and all rooms are having the TVs replaced with flat screen TVs. Our Head Housekeeper is investigating why you only had coffee provided. We are e mailing you separately regarding when you stayed so we can look up your room number. Our Front Office staff should have been able to advise you regarding local facilities so we are investigating this point as well. I am also sorry you had the worry of your car keys and locating your car. We have a clear system in place regarding the handing over of car keys and location of cars when guests return. I need to investigate what happened, however, we are very sorry your journey home was delayed.
Thank you once again for your review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Second year staying at this hotel as a start base for our annual holiday abroad. Prices very good. Reception staff polite and helpful. £4.50 each way per person to use transport bus to take you to Gatwick Airport. Meal prices in hotel very competative and have several restaurants to chose from. Be aware of the lady driver who drives the bus she thinks she is competing in the Gran Prix, she also doesnt seem to like children and has a sharp tongue!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems request a ground level room, this year we seemed to be the other side of the hotel upstairs - there are no lifts. If you use internet request code for WIFI from reception
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronyahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to note you enjoyed your stay - only sorry to hear the bus driver drives too fast. We will take this up with the operator.
We hope you had a nice time and that you will return to us again soon.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews