We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Did the job!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for just one night prior to an early flight to Mexico. A reasonable price for the room so no gripes there. We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on that. We did feel that the £5 parking fee should be included in the price. We were given a ticket to exit the carpark but the barrier was up anyway. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you need to stay before a flight from Gatwick. We were in the main building and could hear everything in the rooms around us, so very poor sound insulation.

  • Liked — Proximity to Gatwick
  • Disliked — Noise in surrounding rooms
  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were pleased to read you found the hotel convenient and close to the airport. I am sorry you were not made aware of the £5 parking charge, we do notify this on our website, please accept our apologies. Hoping you had a wonderful holiday and that you will return in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    507
    291
    159
    128
See reviews for
224
766
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

29 of our family met for lunch on Saturday 1 June. We had been given part of the Brasserie for our use although it doesn't normally open on a Saturday lunchtime. We had the buffet option which was reasonably good food with a good choice although some commented that the pork was rather dry and there wasn't a lot of desserts choices left by the time the slower eaters were ready. We were given exclusive use of the small garden off the Brasserie and were set up there with coffee and tea pots to help ourselves too.

The children really enjoyed spending the afternoon on the play equipment and chasing each other round the extensive gardens.

The service we received was excellent and Sayed, the Food and Beverage Manager and his staff were very welcoming and helpful.

My only criticism is that the making of the arrangements in advance via phone and email was not straightforward and at times frustrating trying to get to speak to anyone in person to discuss things. However, the end result was great and everyone had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dillydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your family lunch which I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed despite having some problems with communication before the lunch. Thank you very much for your comments regarding the staff, Sayed and his team. Hopefully, we may look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

For an airport hotel i find the 45 minutes it took to get from the airport sacrilegious and i had to pay £8 for this honor. what makes it worse that this is actually the airport shuttle service from the hotel. timetable wrong at the airport so we waited 1 hour for the shuttle so in total it took 1 hour 45 minutes to get to the hotel. the staff did not seem to care or understand our frustration. we are flying from Gatwick again in July and will be staying at the premier inn as it is right on the doorstep and you get much more for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry you had such a frustrating experience coming back to the hotel from the airport. At the hotel we try to advise all guests to take a timetable for the shuttle bus with them. The timetable at the airport is administered by Gatwick Airport and we are still waiting for them to update our timetable, this is after numerous requests. We advise guests to call Road Runners, our taxi firm when they get back to the airport as they only charge £9.50 and you can be back at the hotel in 10 minutes. I am very sorry about the terrible delay you experienced.
I do hope you may consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We got married in the Copthorne 4 years ago and returned on 1st June 2013 for a birthday treat. The hotel has gone down hill since we last visited, though I know they are refurbishing some rooms.

We stayed in a club room 109 which was supposed to be a good upgrade but the room was extremely shabby. It was clean but the carpets were very worn and stained as was the ceiling which had black grease marks on it. There was no bin in the room, there was in the bathroom though. The shower splashed everywhere when turned on as the holder was not designed well, the bath was tiny and stained and the hand rail was loose. The TV was an old CRT box not flat screen which I would expect for this type of room. There was a fridge which was good.

When I booked the room I knew there would be a complimentary drinks voucher and breakfast included. I had to ask for the voucher at reception and was only given one, so I asked don't I get one for my wife then?! At which point the receptionist said no but in the end gave in after I challenged this. There was also confusion that breakfast wasn't included when it was. Then on checkout we were expected to pay £5 for parking which was advertised but I presumed as a hotel guest this would be waived, it was when I challenged this.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely but the food and drink are extremely expensive and there is very limited choice either at the bar restaurant and the main restaurant.

Overall the staff were not that welcoming or helpful and I didn't feel like this was the fine hotel we had when we got married here just a few years earlier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you felt disappointed with your stay following your wedding with us 4 years ago, in particular relating to the room you occupied and several other aspects of your stay. We are very sorry you did not find the staff helpful or welcoming, also that you were not automatically provided with two complimentary drink vouchers. We have taken this point up with our Front Office Manager. You were actually allocated one of our Club Double rooms in our separate building across from Reception, ideally you should have been allocated a room in the main building which are bigger. We would like to contact you separately regarding your stay and will therefore e mail you.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the beginning of May. There are some good points about the place: Good location for Gatwick and still quiet, the grounds are very pretty, the reception area very attractive, car parking quite cheap to leave the car whilst going on holiday, the food in the pub was nice and the room was a good size. There are things that could be improved: The room needed updating, the TV was old, the toilet flush didn't work properly and the jacuzzi function on the bath did not work, they also didn't offer to help with our bags. Next time we go to Gatwick we might go back but only after looking around in the area for something else first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. Please note we are currently refurbishing our rooms in stages, we have completed 60 rooms out of a total of 227 and new TVs are being installed as well to all rooms. Unfortunately, we had to disconnect our jacuzzi baths some little while ago owing to health and safety reasons. I think you would enjoy our new rooms which are known as superior rooms and carry a supplement of £15. Hopefully, you will consider returning in the future. We are also sorry you were not offered help with your luggage on this occasion. We do hope you had a lovely holiday.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our room was one of their refurbished ones and was lovely, albeit compact.The bed was comfy and there was a window seat and table.There was plenty of wardrobe space and an iron and board were provided.Tea and coffee facilities and the toiletries were good.
The real surprise were the lovely grounds.
The pool had been our reason for booking the Copthorne, but half of it is in use for lessons until 6pm- the staff tried to persuade us to come back later-not a lot of use when you have a 6 am flight!We did use the small open area, but it affected both my husband's and my eyes badly.The steam room was nice.
Two of the restaurant areas were reserved for parties, the a la carte is overpriced and our pub meal was adequate.Our first choice was not available and my shephards pie was served without gravy.
The queue at reception was too long when we arrived.
I would use the Copthorne again because of its location and rooms and the airport parking, but I would investigate other places to eat as it was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissmmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly refurbished rooms. We are very sorry some other aspects of your stay were disappointing, particularly not being able to use the pool when you wanted to. We do try to cater for all tastes in our pub and restaurants, I will certainly mention to the chef regarding your shepherd's pie coming without gravy. Hopefully, you had a lovely holiday and that you will consider returning in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked into the Copthorne for one night as part of an airport stay and parking deal. The deal represented good value for money, and so to be fair we weren't really expecting too much from the hotel side of things. We were quite surprised at the decent standard of the hotel and found our room to be large and well appointed. For some reason the room seemed to smell quite strongly of soot, which we didn't get to the bottom of as there was no chimney. Apart from that, a comfortable overnight stay which put us in a good position to prepare for our flight the following day.

We ate from room service on the night of our stay, and the food was good but the choice was limited and the fare was basic and was surprisingly expensive; if I were to stay there again (which I would) then I'd avoid the room service option and order takeaway to be brought in.

The hotel represents a good option to park and overnight for Gatwick (it's about a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bodgejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We were very glad to read you felt the park and fly package was good value, also that your room was comfortable and a good size. We cannot think what the smell of soot might be, only that it may have been some type of cleaning product. We do try to cater for all tastes within our various menus, of course, if you prefer you can bring your own food or order it in. I hope you had a lovely holiday and will consider returning to us in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing