We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for the start of our holiday before flying out from Gatwick in the morning.

We purposely booked one of the upgraded rooms but I would not recommend these. They are in the separate block across from reception and very cold! The room we had was tiny, nothing like the photo on the website. The bathroom was also very run down with the flush coming off the wall and many other things falling apart. We also didn't have the robe and slippers in the room for which I rang for 3 times when at last they were sent about a couple of hours later.

One of the reasons we chose the hotel was for the spa however we were disappointed to find out the leisure centre is separate from the hotel and they don't seem to want to have anything to Do with each other. When we went to the leisure centre they sent us across back to the hotel to get towels, they weren't willing toe get these for us! We were also annoyed that there is actually no jacuzzi despite them still advertising this on every website in the photos and despite me mentioning this a number of times.

The food was average, unfortunately some flights were cancelled that evening so we had 2 school groups arrive which seemed to get priority over us ordering our food.

Unless things change I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mini10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with the standard of our club rooms, we have made sure your comments have been addressed by our Maintenance Department. We are also very sorry you were shown poor service by the staff in the leisure club and that you were under the impression the club had a jacuzzi/spa bath. We are looking into all our publicity in order to make sure other guests are not misguided. May we thank you once again for your constructive review.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

the hotel is conveniently sited just off the A23 but there the praise stops. i was there for a business meeting so let me tell you about my experience. Awful car park, little signage to reception. The reception area was dark and jaded, staff unhelpful. Room for meeting very average. food very average. The line of rooms reminded me of a prison, dark corridor, cold and numbers on rooms hardly visible. Nothing sadly to commend this hotel. Worst crime? Disinterested and sour faced staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were naturally very concerned to read your comments regarding directions from the car park and the poor facilities provided to you. What concerns us most are your comments regarding our staff, please be assured this matter will be addressed as poor customer service is not acceptable, normally we find our guests are very well looked after by our staff. Thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this well in advance and have used the hotel on many occasions in the past including for our Wedding reception. To be honest it's looking a bit tatty at the edges these days. The conservatory where we hoped to sit is more like an extension to the Swan pubs bar with a giant TV screen showing Sport channels. So we opted to sit in the main bar and were shuffled around various tables and chairs. The tea itself arrived quickly and the portions were generous enough. However, the sandwiches at the edges were dry showing they had been pre-made and stored. The selection wasn't great with many ham and tuna but only one with smoked salmon. Scones were good but the pastries were poor/soggy showing they were particularly fresh or had been stored incorrectly. Marginal average and tempted to mark as poor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFW321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for posting a review following your Mother's Day afternoon tea. We are very sorry you felt disappointed with the area where your tea was served and also the quality of the sandwiches and pastries. I am only sorry we did not have the opportunity to provide replacements or to address your disappointment at the time. Your comments have been passed to our Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager to report back on. In the meantime, we do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

BA put us up in this hotel after being stranded in Gatwick due to snow closing Jersey. On arriving at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. Reception staff were very polite and checked us in very quickly. After finding our room, which was a twin and very spacious, on the ground floor we headed back along the long corridor to the bar where we ate a really tasty and very well presented meal then headed back to our room. The room had everything required and was clean, comfortable and tidy. We had a great nights sleep and awoke, showered and then went to the buffet breakfast room which was also very good with very courteous staff. We arrived at the hotel at night so had a better look around the next day. Although very clean and comfortable, parts of it were looking very tired and could do with a touch up. Single glazed windows and rough skirting boards. Old tv's and damp on the bathroom ceiling. All in all a very convenient location, approx 15 mins from Gatwick North in a taxi. Would stay there again. Thanks BA for sending us there and covering the bill.

Well done Copthorne, just a little extra TLC required.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmajsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent review following your overnight stay with us. We were very glad to read you were well looked after by our staff, had a comfortable night and enjoyed your meal. Please note we are currently updating our rooms. The work is being carried out in sections. We were glad to read you enjoyed your surroundings the next day.
Hoping to welcome you back again soon,
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the night before flying out of gatwick and was a little disappointed.

The hotel when booked looked fantastic, which first impressions of the entrance etc lived up to but our room was very small and cramped due tithe amount of furniture in there. It felt like we walked five miles with all our cases from the reception to our room.

There was a funny smell to the room almost like it had been smoked in.

The room was clean though but very warm and as we were on th ground floor we didn't feel able to leave the window open.

The price was very reasonable and included parking for a week.

The staff were helpful and made arrangements for taxis to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gidwood43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent reveiw following your stay with us prior to your holiday. We are sorry you found your room small and a long walk from Reception, I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to offer you a room move but this may have been very tiring for you. We are glad you found our service to be of a good standard and the staff were helpful. I do hope you will consider returning to us in the future, hoping you had a most enjoyable holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here over night and left the car for 18 days. We were very impressed with the efficiency of the staff especially as regarding the parking. We were on the road 10 minutes after arriving back at the hotel. Our room was large and well appointed. It was clean and very comfortable. We eat in the restaurant and had an excellent meal. The food was well cooked and presented and the staff very helpful and pleasant. The tabla d'hote menu was excellent with a good choice of dishes and good value. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The atmosphere in both the hotel and the restaurant was welcoming and helpful. Didn't have time to use the health club but would suggest it gives the hotel an advantage over those without. We went to the airport on the coach but on our return, as the bus from the airport only runs once an hour, we contacted the recommended taxi firm. They picked us up within 10 minutes and it only cost £1.50 extra ( for 2 people) than the cost of the coach. Excellent value and a very pleasant driver. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet and peaceful night before the start of their holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your review following your recent stay with us as part of your holiday. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, your meal and that you were well cared for by our staff. Many guests choose to stay with us prior to their holiday as we are close to the airport and also our taxi company are quick and efficient. So, thank you very much once again, hoping you returned home safely and that we may look forward to welcoming you back when you are next flying from Gatwick.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while visting the nearby airport and paid extra for the club room. The actual hotel is lovely and the setting beautiful. However its rather run down. The carpets are thick black with dirt and worn down after many years of wear. The room was ok, I did expect more for the price. The rooms really need updating to keep in touch with modern times (esp for the price). I have stayed in other copthorne hotels in other countries which are alot more modern.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for the club room. Its not any better than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boo_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Many thanks indeed for your informative review. We are sorry you felt the accommodation provided in the form of the Club room did not provide the standard you were expecting having paid the supplement. We are glad you liked the style of hotel and surroundings which we are very fortunate to have with being so close to the airport. We were very concerned to read you felt your room was not clean and that the carpets needed replacing. This year we have commenced a refurbishment project of our bedrooms which is being carried out in stages.
We very much appreciate your comments and sincerely hope we may look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: $73 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing