We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run out of cold water?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Run out of cold water?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a year ago and got a much better room then for my money. Was allocated room 419 on arrival. Make sure you hire a Sherpa to escort you as it seems like the furthest away from reception. The room itself was a nice size and the bed was very comfortable...that's all it had going for it.

The furniture was stained and chipped, carpets worn and in need of replacing. Best bit was the bathroom. My room last year had a nice double bath, marble counter tops, gold taps. This one was a tiny bathroom with such reduced headroom over the bath I couldn't stand up straight having a shower. The sink and pedestal were so unstable they were actually coming away from the wall and I reckon if I had put just that little bit too much weight on it, it would have come away completely along with half the tiles around it.

You may wonder why the cold water reference in the title of my review. Well....the whole hotel seemed to be super heated to such a degree I could have probably fried and egg on a radiator. The huge metal radiator in my room was on full whack when I first arrived. Such was the heat I half expected to see a couple of Swedish men having a sauna in the corner of the room. First thing I did was turn it off....or at least I thought I did. Opened the (very old fashioned) metal windows to let some air through. Half an hour later I realised it was still quite hot in the room...radiator still on full whack. The thermostat was teasing me. Who knew you could have them for decorative purposes only?

Also going back to the bathroom, I got luke warm water coming out of the cold tap. New thing they're trying out?

In conclusion, if you are allocate any room starting with a 4....run! Ok so that’s a bit OTT. Ask for another. I get the impression that the rooms on that side of the hotel are probably the originals and the ones on the other side are slightly newer.

Still, good night’s sleep and it was only somewhere to rest my head. In conclusion this hotel desperately needs to overhaul and remodel its rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry the standard of accommodation did not meet your expectations and that your room was very hot. We are pleased to advise you that the rooms in our 400 block are being refurbished with immediate effect including room 419, the room occupied by yourself. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay, we do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    507
    291
    159
    128
See reviews for
224
766
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night when flying from Gatwick. We also left our car there for four nights. First impressions of the hotel were good. Nice friendly welcome on rreception and everything looked shiney and clean. The room was also very clean. It was warm although a bit oldfashioned with a big old television and the bathroom could do with a re-fit, however there was lots of hot water.
It was very comfortable.
We eat in the bar area but the food was overpriced and there was not much choice. When it arrived it wasn't hot. It was very poor.
It parking arrangements were very good. We would stay again and use the parking, but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillmenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your overall experience and found the car parking and proximity to the airport to be convenient. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal, your comments have been passed on to our chef. We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back when you are next travelling from Gatwick.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went with a group of work colleagues for an evening christmas party function. The Tables were set up ok, but when it came to the food, it was poor. The soup was lukewarm. All of the main courses were already plated up, and that included the vegetables. It would have been better to have had dishes on the table so that people could have helped themselves. One of our group sent her food back twice as the vegetables were inedible. Each time it was returned with the same result, and was not very hot. However the puddings were good.
Overall this was a very disappointing experience, for a 4 star graded hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following the Christmas party you attended with your work colleagues. We were very sorry to read that you and some of your colleagues were disappointed with your meal in particular relating to the temperature of your food and the quality of the vegetables. Your comments have been passed on to both our Food and Beverage Manager and our Head Chef, both of whom wish to be asesociated with this apology. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your pudding and do hope you will not be deterred from dining with us in the future.
Kind regards and best wishes for 2013
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here before and would stay again, only has 1 night before we flew to Cuba. The room was good, clean and quiet. The parking easy. The food was good and the breakfast was great. We had upgraded rooms so got free internet access and access to the swimming pool ect. Would return again. The staff are very helpful

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor it's quiet and the rooms are of good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review submitted here on trip advisor.

I am happy to note that your stay with went smooth and you found our staff helpful. This will be shared with the team, and I am sure it will boost their morale & confidence to do better.

Once again thanks for your review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose to have a night at the Copthorne at Gatwick to avoid a crack of dawn start into Gatwick airport the following morning, and to take advantage of the 'park and fly' parking package.

The hotel is large, and has long corridors. If the weather is pleasant there are some nice gardens, and some tables outside the White Swan Pub.

The hotel was quite quiet whilst we were there, and the brassiere did not open in the evening, so we ended up eating in the main hotel restaurant (Lion D'Or) as the alternative was to eat in the hotels' 'White Swan Pub', which was not at all inviting.

The meal in the Lion D'Or was actually excellent, and reasonable value, though as you might expect wine was pretty expensive, as is usual in airport hotels. The White Swan Pub prices for beers etc. also high, about 50% more than typical pub prices.

The included use of the adjoining sports facility including a small swimming pool was welcome and very good, with very friendly staff.

The room was clean, just a little tired, in need of refurbishment really, with very old fashioned furniture. Shower was good, worked well, though in our room there was almost no cold water flow in the taps! The bathroom was quite dimly lit, which made it appear rather dreary.

We took a taxi to the airport (£9.50) as this was almost the same cost for a couple as the airport service bus, which does not run very frequently (generally about once per hour). We were surprised that the hotel does not include the service bus transport in the room/parking package.

Overall this was one of the better airport hotels we have stayed in, though perhaps rather expensive overall; when considering the prices of the meals and drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Further to you review submitted, I am happy to note that you had a good stay with us.

I have noted your comments about our rooms and I would like to add that bedroom refurb programme is under way and I do hope the next time you are with us, you will have the opportunity to stay in our new room.

We do have attractive Park & fly packages and I have noted your comment about including the transfer along with the rates, which I am in talks with the service providers at this stage. The bar prices are competitive in the market place and I am glad to note that the meal at LionD'or was good.

Once again thanks for your review and as always looking forward to welcoming you back to our little abode - The Copthorne London Gatwick.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Again using Copthorne Gatwick prior to holiday.....great value and having made prior contact was given a room very close to reception....well appointed...we have never eaten here as our flight times never seem to fit and breakfast starts a bit late for early holiday flights ...bar area is fine and staff helpful...we would continue to use for future trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thanks for submitting yur review and your continued support.

We do have an amazing property and I am glad you have enjoyed your stays with us. As always, we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I wanted to stay at a hotel in Sussex so that we could visit our son in Chichester and have a business meeting with clients in Hailsham. We remembered staying at this hotel 23 years ago before jetting off on our honeymoney from Gatwick so decided that this was almost halfway between the two venues and therefore would be ideal.

I checked 'Getaroom.com' and got a good deal with them. Four nights for £188 which was cheaper than a Travel Lodge or other budget hotel. The hotel was very atmospheric which lovely grounds, a roaring fire in the reception and lots of room to socialise. The bedroom we had was small but it had Tea/Coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, iron and ironing board as well as a mini fridge. The staff were very friendly and there was restaurant and bar on site. The best part for us was that there was access to LA Fitness next door and we were able to play squash, use the gym and pool free of charge. The whole holiday experience was excellent, the only down side was that we had to pay £5 a day to park. If it wasnt for that I would have marked it 5/5

Room Tip: We were in a room at the back facing the carpark but it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick8, Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thanks for submitting your review online.

I have noted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the hotel. Your comments will be shared with the team and I am confident that it will be well received.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing