We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't be put off!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked my family of 4 into this hotel back in May, but didn't actually check other peoples reviews on Tripadvisor until the day before we were due to arrive....Having trawled through lots of reviews on here I was extremely close to cancelling my booking as many of the reviews were pretty damning about the hotel aand their experiences staying there.... I am soooooo glad I didn't cancel and would like to share our experience of it.
We stayed in room 306 - the Goodwood Suite - which was described as being a family room with one double bed and two single beds. It actually turned out to be a massive suite, with a 4 poster bed / study type area in one side and through an arch in another massive space were two single beds and a long leather sofa/TV/armchairs. The beds were all exceptionally clean and amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and fully functioning, with plenty of clean towels and lots of free toiletries. The TV was the old fashioned/chunky type, BUT worked perfectly well, was easy to navigate around and did offer a range of channels to watch.
Checkin/out was smooth and uncomplicated with no queueing.
ALL staff were exceptionally polite, knowledgeable, friendly and professional which is not always the case in large corporate hotels.
Breakfast was very high quality and offered a vast range of choices, from cereals, cold meats/cheese, large range of fresh fruit, juices, fresh pastries/muffins/croissants and of course the full English cooked breakfast staples. The serving staff were attentive and couldn't have been more accomodating or welcoming.
Many of the other reviews of this hotel talk about it being dated/shabby/in need of attention, and whilst this is a fair comment, the hotel still has a general feeling of being clean and well run. If you are looking for a modern, chic, trendy hotel then this is definitely not the place for you.
All in all it was an excellent stay and we would happily return.

Room Tip: suites on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky66ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    517
    300
    162
    130
See reviews for
231
780
67
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked this hotel to cover our 2 weeks parking near Gatwick.
On arrival park your own car, check in couldn't be more simple and helpful.
Ok rooms some can be a long way from reception and bar area.
Generally good decor, nice menu and comfy seating area in bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brecon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we arrived at Copthorne only to find out we had to pay ridiculous prices to park in there car park! great start... the out side of the building is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are lovely and seem to be well looked after, as we entered reception it also looked lovely and quaint very old feel to the building with low ceilings and pleasant decor, staff were also very friendly cannot fault how polite they all are, although our welcome and first impressions soon turned sour as we went to our room, we booked a room with a double bed, opened the door and there was 2 single beds, the room smelt very bad as if it hadn't been cleaned properly in years sort of the smell of my grandmas house! the curtains rail was half broken so the curtains would not shut fully, very bad lighting in the room, carpets stained and the television looked about 20 years old, also very disappointing that television only had a few channels (no idea why this is because its not that hard to get free view, think we had maybe channels 1 2 3 4 and a few sports channels maybe itv2 and news channels but very limited) the beds were also very uncomfortable, we could hear the people crystal clear in the room next door, this whole room needed a complete refurb, so disappointing because it could be such a lovely hotel, the bathroom was very nice with big bath but toilet did not flush properly the complimentary shampoo looked about 20 years old, such a shame just looks as if the room was not looked after properly, the owners of this hotel really need to think about the state of the rooms because im sure if they spent a bit of time and effort to transform them this hotel could be stunning. i do want to thank the staff for being so well mannored helpful and polite but on the other hand i hope the owner of the hotel reads this! also get some frebreeze in those rooms!! also take note this hotel has not got its own swimming pool.. its just the local gym over the road!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris289999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've previously stayed at this hotel for a business conference and it was fine for that purpose.
This time, I'd managed to get a £79 deal for a single night's stay and a week's car parking prior to a 7am flight at Gatwick. The review is scored on the basis of my trip & (particularly) the price I paid.
Reasonably comfortable room and bathroom, suitably equipped.
Reasonably priced bar food. Decent check-in & desk service. Efficient car parking process.
Good link with efficient taxi firm for fixed price airport trip (£9.50)
I'll happily come back here when travelling through Gatwick on the early flights again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I managed to get a cheap deal for this hotel at less than £100 for room only, that was a saving grace as I would have been most upset to have paid the rack rate for this hotel. It was a red hot day when I arrived and I was looking forward to reposing in my air conditioned room, regrettably the air conditioning, whilst very noisy, seemed incapable of producing anything like a cool stream of air. The bedroom was very comfortable and functional with plenty of room and a separate writing desk/work area, the bathroom was tiny but everything worked.
Bar meals were not available so I ordered a meal for my room, it was palatable but over priced. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandypar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived at this nice looking hotel after a flight home from our last holiday, the reality is all we wanted to do was go to bed not take forever at desk it may only be midnight to the staff but to us it was 2.00am having been up since 7.00am. Then we were sent in wrong direction and very long walk to find our children's twin room then another long walk miles away from our children to our room.!!i noticed people have commented on breakfast but I feel 14.95 is a lot per head for families assuming they advertise a three course Carvery! The room is basic but that matches the price we paid. sUitable for night before or after flight but of course you can hear people going up and down corridors with cases but again expected this. beds were clean but my toilet wasn't.!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wedding guests were advised to stay here. Old tudor decor, which may need updating, particularly in the rooms. However, basic and clean accommodations were provided. We only stayed for one night and did not experience the grounds or facilities very much. We did take part of the full buffet breakfast, which offered both cooked and continental options. Decent, safe place for a overnighter. No major complaints.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged, ask for a room that is nearby the lobby. We had a room in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrackingMileage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing