We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous dog friendly rural barn”

Review of Woodfarm Barn

Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
301 reviews
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 301 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous dog friendly rural barn”
Reviewed March 3, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have just spent a very interesting few days in the lovingly renovated Granary Barn, my husband and myself, our three labradors and the Beast from the East!!! The weather made it difficult for us to go out in the car but it didn't matter because the Granary was warm and snug and we made very good use of the woodburner! There were also plenty of dvds and cds to use if we wanted. The Granary was extremely comfortable and well equipped, the breakfast basket was wonderful and the location peaceful.
For dog owners the good sized enclosed garden is fabulous and there are walks straight from the door. There is also a 2 acre paddock opposite for the dogs to exercise or play in which is a real bonus.
Unfortunately, we weren't able to explore the area much thanks to the Beast, so I guess we are just simply going to have to return.....
Thank you Carl for your friendly welcome and for looking out for all us guests in those difficult weather conditions. We look forward to spending time there in milder climes!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2018
Thank you so much guys. My apologies for the beast appearing but hopefully next time you'll have the Best from the West! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athelbrae...
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing stay with your four legged friend”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We booked Stour barn for a week's stay in February - and what a relaxing week it was. The barns are comfortable, well equipped and certainly dog friendly without any lingering doggy odour from previous guests! Great breakfast basket, a proper enclosed garden so the dog can safely be let out, a field over the road to exercise them (including a smaller version for nervous or older four legged companions), lots of ideas of places to visit and a hot tub, which we did try even in February.
There's a variety of places to visit, the beach being about 30 minutes away and lots of local walks, with dog friendly pubs.

They do request that dogs are not left alone when you go out but this is fine as it avoids any distressed dogs or other holiday makers and let's face it, if you take your dog away with you, why wouldn't you want to take them with you every day.

We made use of our log fire as the cold snap was heading to the East Coast, but there was sufficient for us to have a fire two nights running from the complimentary basket of logs and you can easily replenish them if you need to from the store. Dog treats, dog towels, bikes, books, DVDs, games are just a few of the extras that are available for you to use free of charge.

Would definitely recommend Carl and the team to anyone looking for a comfortable break away from home in the very enjoyable Suffolk countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2018
Wow, what a comprehensive review! Thank you so much! Hope to see you guys again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon D
1 review
“Wonderful dog friendly Deben Barn”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just back from a lovely 3 night stay in Deben Barn, recommended by a friend and have to say accommodation is great - lovely breakfast basket on arrival and the underfloor heating, wood burner, hot tub and enclosed garden all made for a lovely relaxed time for us and the dogs, great walks locally and also made use of the secure paddock, already checking dates for another visit. A big thank you to Carl and his team.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2018
Thank you so much. So pleased you loved it. Hope to be seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous barn with great feature window.”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The restoration of the Granary Barn is fabulous and we loved our stay here. It is in a tranquil location but with easy access to many picturesque Suffolk villages & a lovely timber framed church just up the road at Crowfield. The welcome hamper on arrival was a lovely touch and also the doggie pack. Woodfarm Barns is very dog friendly and it was great that we had an enclosed garden that we could let our dog out in. We didn't get to use the dog exercise area opposite, as we went out every day but that is a great idea too.
Carl & his team had thought of everything to make our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible and we have already recommended the barns to several friends.
We visited a few local watering holes, The Victoria at Earl Soham, The Rampant Horse at Needham Market (plus we used the Chinese there for a take-away meal too), The Bell Inn at Walberswick & the King's Head (Low House) at Laxfield, all of which were very welcoming.
Stonham Barns with its craft shops and activity centre is only a stone's throw away too and the café there does a lovely latte (although our Nespresso machine in the barn was well used too).
Peasenhall is also a lovely village with 'Emmetts' selling a variety of Suffolk & Spanish produce.
Framlingham (Ed Sheeran's stomping ground) is also a great place to visit with nice shops, cafes and pubs and of course the historic 'Castle on the Hill'.
We will definitely be back but maybe we might try a barge holiday too? Thank you for a great 6 days.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2018
Thank you so much guys! Great to meet you :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nporter41
Charlton
2 reviews
“Perfect dog friendly barn conversion”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We met Carl, the owner at Discover Dogs at the Excel centre in October 2017 and was impressed by the holiday barns he had on offer for rental. We chose the Granary Barn as it was the best suited to our needs as we have 2 Golden Retrievers and finding suitable holiday rental cottages with superb facilities is often difficult.
I have to say that we were not disappointed, from a fully enclosed large garden, to the welcoming basket of goodies, including treats for the dogs were excellent. The Granary Barn benefits from underfloor heating and even with the current chilly weather we didn't need to use the wood burner. The place was lovely and warm, very cosy.
It's definitely home from home with everything you could want for to make your stay very comfortable and relaxing.
We'll be back if we can find a suitable time as the barns are very popular!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
Thank you so much. It was lovely to see you guys again and I'm pleased you enjoyed it so much. Look forward to seeing you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing in every way”
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had our 3 day "Minimoon" here and we can definitely say that we will be back. First of all I would like to thank Carl and mention how wonderful he is, even before arriving we had excellent communication with him and he even went as far as to let us know about a road closure and alternative route beforehand. When we arrived Carl met us and was so warm and welcoming, you could feel that nothing was too much trouble for him. He showed us around Gipping Barn for our 3 night stay and we must say that he has put heart and soul into the place. Gipping Barn was perfect. It was clean and tidy and had a homely feel. The welcome/breakfast basket was delicious and it was lovely that there was a leaflet explaining that the ingredients were local to the area. Kitchen amenities were perfect, including all your basic needs eg tea coffee sugar etc. The underfloor heating and the wood burner provided all the heat we needed and made our stay nice and toasty. The hot tub was just perfect and the outside space was lovely and private. The robes and slippers were a nice touch. I cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay. We have already recommended to family and friends. Me and the wife cannot wait to return and try out all the barns.....maybe even a family getaway in the cottage next.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
Ah, thank you! My head won't get through the door now! It was great to meet you both and I look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for choosing Woodfarm to celebrate your marriage x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamMorris...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed January 16, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A three night stay in The Granary Barn was a Christmas present for my husband and it was exactly the relaxing break we needed after a hectic Christmas and New Year period.

The beautiful characteristics of the barn are all part of the charm and you certainly don't have to worry about the cold with its underfloor heating and the wood burner.

A welcome breakfast basket plus many other supplies provided makes it a home from home. If you are bringing along your four legged friend then they are not forgotten too with their very own welcome pack.

Woodfarm Barns is definitely a place to shout about (just not too loud as we want to make sure we can return again!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thank you! I'm really pleased that this was just what you needed and I look forward to having you guys back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing