We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best ever dog friendly lodges”

Review of Woodfarm Barn

Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
308 reviews
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 308 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ever dog friendly lodges”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent a fantastic Bank Holiday weekend at Woodfarm Barns with our two German Shepherds.
The site is extremely well set out with lots of planting to ensure everyone's privacy.
Really nice hot tub, clean, well equipped barn and very dog friendly.
Packets of dog treats with our welcome hamper on arrival was a nice touch and the paddock where they can run free with other dogs was a real bonus.
If you don't want to just relax there is an abundance of things to do and see in the area together with some very good pubs and lovely walks from your barn door.
We enjoyed it so much that we have just rebooked!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thank you and thanks for your immediate re-book. Always nice when guests love it that much that they do that. See you then! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect in all ways ”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Sometimes a formula just works and in this case Carl has got it spot on. Finding good quality, dog friendly accommodation can be a challenge - larger dogs are sometimes discriminated against or the finish can be tatty. Not in this case - the canine guests are made so welcome, yet so are the human ones! We arrived with a GSD, pug and cockapoo - an odd trio but they had the time of their lives as did we all!

The little touches and features that make this place special abound and they really do seem to have thought of everything. Normally I can make a few suggestions but in this case I can't.

We booked Alde, Stour and the big house for a family celebration and from the moment we arrived and were welcomed by charming, gentle groundskeeper John to the minute we left everything just worked.

We arranged for a private caterer to attend one night of the celebration - a recommendation from Carl, Mark provided a Michelin Star quality meal for 12 of us - a wonderful indulgence!

The meadow across the road you have recently added along with the two new hot tubs were just beautifully thought out and clearly had taken guest feedback into account along with fun little quirks like Boaty McBoatface to keep out of the rain!

Attention to detail was great such as linking with local businesses to provide the welcome packs and the doggy packs and we actually found the wireless more than adequate to stream tv on which meant we could watch the finale of GoT - very important!!!

The area is fantastic for all ages; trips to Dunwich and Snape Maltings are highly recommended along with the nearby Stonham Barns complex which has plenty to do for children.

Whether you have a dog or not, whether you want to do nothing or socialise with friends or see the local environs, you really can't do better than Woodfarm!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thank you sooo much for a great review. It's lovely when guests appreciate everything we do. See you guys again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5chris123
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed in the granary barn for the second time. john greeted us and showed us in.
all clean and tidy. the meadow is great new addition our dog barney really sniff it was
good. we would really recommend the barns as it's a good base to explore the area.
we would visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2017
Thanks guys, great to see you again. Glad Barney enjoyed himself :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelera...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing break”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We returned home today after another weekend break at Woodfarm Barns. It's a little peace of heaven tucked away in Suffolk. We strongly recommend you stay here, the barns are an extremely high standard, with amazing finishing touches. Relax in the jacuzzi and forget everything. Cannot wait to rebook. We are also excited to stay in one of the barges we booked for February, exciting times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Great to see you and looking forward to showing you the barge! Thank you for a lovely review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N293PRrac...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just had a week away here and it was so lovely.
We arrived to a lovely breakfast basket which lasted all week and even a doggy treat bag.
We had a lovely hot tub and the place itself was so nice carl had thought of everything we might need.
Also well located to visit the coast we did Southwold as it is one of my favourite places.
Will definitely return xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you so much. It was lovely to meet you guys xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkP3990
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suffolk surprises and delights our Canine and it's owners!”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

After a week in busy, bustling Aldeburgh, The Granary Barn at Woodfarm Barns was the perfect, quiet, relaxing tonic. Carl's personal greeting was a lovely touch and the Barn itself was an absolute gem. A lovely welcoming Breakfast Basket and all the added touches add up to a genuine home-from-home feel. In fact, our dog, Lily had been unsettled in Aldeburgh's accommodation but she just settled immediately here, crashing to the floor and laying flat out!
As to the information folder - how fantastically comprehensive! We could have done with this for the week in Aldeburgh, being so close everything suggested was accessible from either location.
We did visit the local, timber-framed Church in Crowfield which was a short walk away and were warmly welcomed and shown around by a local lady who had drawn cleaning duties for the month. It is absolutely beautiful and well worth the stroll.
Stonham Barns had a brilliant dog outlet, Doodledales where we had a new harness customer fitted and the owner and her Mum couldn't do enough for us, even custom stitching the harness as our dog is a funny shape (or as one family remarked, a 'long wheelbase dog', which tickled us).
We were only there 2-nights (far too short a stay, will be much longer next time) and couldn't do many of the recommendations in the extensive information folder.
The 2-acre secure Paddock was fantastic and a real joy for Lily who raced around like a Puppy.
We did take advantage of a fantastic Indian Takeaway from nearby Debenham (free delivery!), a place called Zeera (actually located in the Sports complex, as we drove there earlier to pick up some menus for the Information Shed). Very good and plenty hot enough to eat straight away without having to reheat.
We've never holidayed in Suffolk before, but we will again, and again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
A long wheelbase dog! Love it! It was great to meet you guys and Lily. So pleased she loved it here! See you again. And again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damanda20...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely family Stay in 500 Year Old Farmhouse”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night break in this gorgeous farmhouse. There was a lovely hamper waiting for us which contained everything we would need for breakfast the next morning. There was also a lovely treat bag for our dog.

The farmhouse contained everything we could possibly need during our stay. The farmhouse is very cosy and comfortable, with lots of different areas to chill out in. There is also a large front garden with table, chairs and a BBQ. The small garden at the back of the house is lovely and is very secure so our dog could lay out in the sunshine while I relaxed with a coffee and a book.
The house has heaps of character and the whole site is very peaceful.
There is a meadow where the dogs can run around safely, which we used several times a day. We were able to go out on trips each day as the weather was great.
It is worth taking a stroll up the country lane to visit the old church.
We will return to the lovely place in the future. Maybe stay in one of the barns with a hot tub.
I would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thanks you so much. It was great to meet you guys :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing