We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super relaxing break”

Review of Woodfarm Barn

Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
295 reviews
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 295 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Redkaye
1 review
“Super relaxing break”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Carl greeted us on arrival which made us feel so welcome. We haven't been away for years as it's so difficult with 4 dogs! Nothing was too much bother for Carl and the barn was gorgeous. Festively decorated with a gorgeous dairy hamper awaiting our arrival. We can't wait to go back in the spring so we can enjoy the lovely garden room and evening walks. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2016
Thank you so much! It was a real pleasure to meet you guys and I'm so pleased you're already planning your return in the Spring :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy G
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway!”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Came here for my 10 year anniversary and couldn't have asked for more.

We met Carl when we arrived and he showed us to our barn. We stayed in the Orwell barn and it was just beautiful. The barn was cosy and warm with under floor heating. It had been subtly dressed for Christmas and we had our very own Christmas tree too.

We had everything there we could possibly need. There was also a welcome breakfast basket. The bacon was gorgeous as were the home made biscuits.

Carl let us know how to work the hot tub and told us about the shed nearby that had DVDs, Books and loads of leaflets to let you know about the surrounding areas.

Carl was the perfect host and such a nice man.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2016
Thanks you so much, the fiver is in the post! :-) I'm really pleased you enjoyed yourselves and honoured that you chose Woodfarm Barns from your 10th anniversary. I hope we see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn G
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Lovely break”
Reviewed December 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Nice touches make this place a cut above. The 'bike shed' is a mine of information and resources, the Granary Barn had everything laid on to make this a great getaway

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2016
Thank you Sir. It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope to see you again sometime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGran...
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We've tried the rest now we've found the best!”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Deben barn over the weekend 2nd Dec to 5th, our main priorities when looking for somewhere to stay is a well enclosed safe garden for our two dogs and a hot tub and this certainly ticked all the boxes, we've tried a few others over the last few years but this is the best we've stayed at with the best garden and hot tub by far! Carl was the perfect host he greeted us on arrival and showed us around the barn explaining everything we needed to know and said he was just a phone call away if we needed anything at all! The breakfast hamper was lovely and the other hamper and champagne we got as a special offer was very welcome, Carl had even gone to the trouble to make sure there was some gluten free biscuits included for me which was very much appreciated, it's these extras that really make the difference and make your stay so much more enjoyable! The dog's loved the garden, the walks and the log burner! The weather was quite cold but with the under floor heating and the log burner we were actually too hot and had to override the heating to nighttime mode a couple of times! We'll definitely be returning next year and would like to try the other hot tub barns available as they all look beautiful! Can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
Wow, what a lovely review, thank you so much! I'm so pleased it was everything you were looking for and I look forward to seeing you guys again next year :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley C
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay...”
Reviewed December 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I was given the website for Woodfarm Barns by a friend who had come across it when doing a general search for accommodation in Suffolk. After looking at the site I immediately booked Gripping Barn for a break in November. We arrived just before it started to get dark and we're immediately impressed with the setting. Carl came and met us and walked us through the property explaining how things worked - brilliant touch. We also loved the breakfast basket and the communal shed full of leaflets for local attractions and DVDs. The little touches made this property one of the best we've ever stayed in. I would definitely recommend and, in fact, we have already given the website details to two sets of friends. We are also thinking about booking for next year - the only problem is that we are unsure when for....summer, winter or both??

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2016
Well thank you so much for this. Firstly what a lovely review and secondly, what you didn't know when you were writing it, is that is our 200th Five Star TripAdvisor review! I'm so pleased that you, and many others enjoy what we do here. I really appreciate this and the other 199 :-) - in answer to your question Summer or Winter? Both! Look forward to seeing you again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolly328
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed December 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fab barns which are truly homely with some extra special touches. Received a warm welcome from Carl, including some ideas of where to walk locally. Breakfast basket really made it and the jam was yummy! We'll definitely plan to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast basket was especially good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review, very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to seeing you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhnmufc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girlfriends Birthday”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Took my girlfriend away for her 25th birthday, log cabins and cottages just for 2 people were pretty hard to come by, most are 4-8 people especially with hot tubs and when we found this it looked perfect.

We stayed in Orwell Barn. The welcoming we got was perfect, Carl is a lovely man made us feel extremely welcome when we arrived and then gave us a little tour of the cottage telling us what we needed to know before leaving us to enjoy our long weekend. Orwell had a little upstairs section where the bed and a few cupboards were to put your clothes. The bed was more than comfy, also the log fire made this area nice and warm for us after our evening dip in the tub. There were more than enough logs provided to have the fire on a couple of hours a night but you could buy more bags if needed. The weather was cold when we went but this couple of hours with the fire on was more than enough to heat the barn to sometimes a little warmer than what we needed but with the big roof window upstairs we could open this and it was easily rectified. We was provided with robes and slippers to assist us in keeping warm when getting in and out of the hot tub too, the breakfast hamper was also a lovely touch! We also ordered 2 bottles of prosecco which was in the fridge cool for us when we arrived. I'd also mentioned it was my girlfriends birthday so we was greeted with birthday banners in the cottage which was nice.

The actual site was lovely there was a pond with a mini waterfall. The pond had some huge fish in it, which had a table and chairs adjoined too it too!! We read about the shed with things innit but we got out quite a lot so never managed a look in. I've read a few reviews about the semi detached barn and wanting a barn on its own, well Orwell is 'semi detached' if that's what you'd like to call it which is attached to gipping barn I believe and we had a couple next too us, we only knew this from seeing them in their barn as the walls must be thick because we didn't hear one noise from next door and the hot tubs and gardens are the opposite sides of either barn so you've just as much distance between you as if you was in one of the other 'detached' barns!

In less than an hours drive we went to Africa alive. A zoo, where you could get extremely close to lions definitely the closest I've ever been. We went into Lowestoft, Ipswich, bury st Edmunds all lovely old towns a short drive away from the barns.

All in all, if for a romantic birthday weekend away or a family get away these barns are perfect. Extremely dog friendly and due too it being a small run business you feel welcomed and looked after. Stayed in many a log cabin with hot tubs for a lot more money per night and never got near to the experience and service I've had this last weekend.

Thanks again for a top weekend, got me loads of brownie points and we'll definitely be hoping to come back before the winters over.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
Wow, that's got to be our most comprehensive review ever, thank you so much! I said you'd get plenty of brownie points didn't I? ;-)

It was great to meet you both and I do hope we see you again some time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing