We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven, away from the ratrace, these beautifully...”

Review of Woodfarm Barn

Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
308 reviews
Luxurious Suffolk Barns, some with Hot Tubs. Check website for details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stonham Aspal, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 308 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susanne C
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven, away from the ratrace, these beautifully appointed barns are the perfect place to do as much or as little as you want, w”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We can' t thank Carl enough for creating a little spot of heaven in a dubious world. Have stayed at Deben Barn and The Granary and returning for 5th vist this year. Welcoming, beautiful and soulful, and that's just the start of it. Want privacy and your mind back? This is the place for you. Beautiful scenery and wonderful atmosphere and our host can't do enough for you. Wonderful little details in all the Barns that make you feel like you've entered a world of intrigue as there may be secret passages behind the books. Will return again and again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Always great to see you. See you in the Autumn x

PS - Bring the British Hide & Seek Association back soon too! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip A
Tudeley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing time away”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We have now visited Woodfarm Barns three times and each trip has been a delight. From the warm welcome and basket of food that awaited us each time it is very obvious that a lot of effort has gone into making you feel at home. Carl, the owner is very good at advising and guiding you if needed but also giving you all the space you need for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Having stayed in three different barns, I can recommend every one highly. They also have a huge DVD collection if you fancy a night in.We keep promising ourselves a stay in the main house with a group of friends as well. It looks fantastic. Maybe next time?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Initial greeting sets you up
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Always great to see you both! Hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClazUK
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Something magical has been built here....”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

We first went to Woodfarm Barns in 2012 and stayed at The Granary.

As a dog owner it was essential that we had a secure garden and hard floors in any property we rented, which was one of the things that initially drew us to The Granary. Dog owners are often given the dregs of poorly maintained properties but it was clear from the photos that this wasn't going to be the case.

The Granary delivered and then some. Every single detail had been thought of, from bathroom products to corkscrews to a wonderful welcome hamper and even wood for the log burner. The barn has been restored to an incredibly high standard, with no corners cut. Oak beams, wrought iron chandeliers, heavy lined curtains, white linen bedding. Our short stay was perfect and exactly what we needed to recharge.

Whilst we were there, Carl was working on creating 5 new barns in the style of The Granary. We had a quick nose around the half completed structures but it was hard to imagine how they would work out when complete.

We returned a year later to stay in Deben. The transformation of the site was truly incredible. Careful protection of existing trees meant the barns sit in the middle of greenery, now with the addition of a pond and a water feature. Each barn has a private and secure garden, and are built, equipped and furnished to the same high standard as the Granary. I was concerned that there would be a 'complex' feel, having 5 barns on the same site, but the softness of the planting and the spacing of the barns has ensured that's not happened.

The owner, Carl, is incredibly approachable, right down to offering to wash a dog duvet on our arrival after some travel sickness. Scooby says sorry.

It's also worth mentioning The Shed of Wonder (it's not called that but it should be!) which is accessible to all holidaymakers and is full of maps, books, CDs, DVDs, bikes, games, everything you might need has been thought of.

It's hard to imagine holidaying anywhere else now. Something quite magical has been created on this land, it's the perfect place to unwind and find yourself again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The high standard of EVERYTHING - it has a genuine feel of luxury
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I do love it when guests keep coming back, as well as recommending lovely people to us for their honeymoon! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility in Suffolk”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed here with my hubby for a weekend back in the Summer.
Woodfarm barns is a collection of rather luxurious barns ( and a farmhouse which can be rented out) in the middle of the Suffolk countryside.
We were given a choice of barns, but to be honest they are all so well equipped and kitted out it doesn't matter which you opt for.
All are very tastefully decorated, (clearly a woman's touch!) and a welcome pack is included in the price (bacon, eggs, jams etc).
We were greeted by the owner Carl, a charming man - nothing too much trouble.
He loaned us bikes and printed out a few routes for us to follow.
A rather nice touch is the large dvd collection which were free to borrow during our stay.
We also had a wood burner in the barn (all barns have one I believe) but the weather was too warm to fire it up - I guess we will just have to return in the Winter!
Thanks for a very relaxing stay Carl - we could not have asked for a nicer weekend - we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor and personal service
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
So glad you and your hubby enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anitka63
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TOTALLY FAB, GORGEOUS, EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN AND TIDY”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in February 2013

I have used Grove Cottages a number of times and have always loved them. I noticed Carl was promoting a new barn at a bit of discount, so thought I'd give it a go.

We arrived, pretty late but Carl was there with a big grin on his face, which was very welcoming after the arduous journey!

It really was fabulous stay. The barn is beautifully decked out, really nice and original cottagey touches, a lovely little woodburner and galleried bedroom with a jolly big comfy bed! The welcome food goodies were lovely, all you need for breakfasts and a cup of tea.

The garden was very secure, enclosed and private, which was a huge bonus with 2 dogs, unlike other places where you have to wait in the freezing cold with your dog on a lead whilst it does its thing!

Just outside the barn, along the path is a large shed decked out with loads of DVDs if you just fancy a night in in front of the fire and the cooking facilites are just as you would have at home, with lots of utensils, glasses etc.

You can use the bikes as well, we didn't it was February, we're not stupid! And extra wood can be bought if needed, but the free supply was very generous, so you probably wouldn't need it.

The barn was spotless, the bathroom luxurious. A wonderful place. I'm going back very soon!!

Thank you Carl, we'll see you again in March

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2014
Thank you :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager54
Ilford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most wonderful way to spend few days with the family.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Could not rate it high enough. Beatiful quiet place. Thousands of DVDs in case you love movies. Breakfast basket that also contain home made bread! We stayed 3 days and cannot wait to come vavk again. Which we did in september i think. Lovely bedroom, fire place, garden cooking facilities everything was absolutely spot on! Even our baby girl enjoyed! Thank you Carl and the team!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
Thank you Sandra. Look forward to seeing you all again this year :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing