We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found hidden gem, GREAT place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotelito Oasi Italiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotelito Oasi Italiana
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Paraiso
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Found hidden gem, GREAT place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hubby and I visited Hotelito Oasi Italiana while driving through the southern part of DR in 2009, what great hospitatlity, good food, and just lovely place! so enjoyable, so refresing, not enough words to describe this tucked away gem! If you want a beautiful spot, serene and relaxing.

Room Tip: Higher floor have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatyMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
7
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I remember staying in this hotel one night when by chance I found Los Patos town in Dominican Republic. If u want to really relax you need to go to Los Patos. It is about 4 hours from Santo Domingo the capital of DR. The owner of this hotel was very friendly and as soon as I told him that I need a room for night since the hotel where I originally booked was dirty and I wont stay there for nothing, he found a room for me. They have a nice swimming pool ...I used it late at night when everyone was sleeping:) great to swim with a full moon. There is an outdoor 'club' a few blocks from the hotel that's the best place to dance. It is right in front of the ocean and u feel the fresh air while dancing. Ask the owner to give u direction the place is owner by an Italian lady. Im going to Los Patos in April again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilianaCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Beautiful garden and surroundings, very nice owner who indeed can bake a VERY good pizza. The rooms were basic, but with airco and a ceilingventilator. We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. swam in the pool, enjoyed the quiet surroundings. In the morning you recieve a breakfast with own made marmelade which we loved (we even miss it while we are here back at home!).
The power falls away a lot in the area, but within 1 min the generators of the hotel start up, so you wont be sweating due to a lack of airco. We had an SUV which came in very handy while we had to drive up the road to the hotel, which is very very steep with loose rocks. But for the area you need a SUV/Jeep anyway, so that was no problem for us.
Loved the hotel and loved the area Barahona - Pedernales.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikimaniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel is cute and clean. The owner/manager, Giordano, is always available and willing to help. The price of US$40 per night is reasonable. He makes an awesome pizza at night as part of his dinner menu. Decent pool & rooms. The area has a problem with continuous electricity, and the onsite generator cannot power the air conditioners in the rooms, so it could get uncomfortable. The beaches in the area both east to Barahona & west to Pedernales are all pebbles and rough surf. There is a cute thing to see there, which is where a small river runs into the sea. Worth stopping to see. Also, just before Los Patos, there is a unique water fall on the right heading west that you should check out. Apart from the basic hotels in the area there is no night life activities except what you make up amongst yourselves.

Room Tip: Take along your lap top to help provide entertainment. Wi Fi works when there is electricity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hotelito owner Giordano couldn't have been nicer. He's a terrific cook as well as manager of this charming little resort. With THREE back-up power plants on hand, the sporadic municipal electric power was no concern at the resort. The attractive pool was clean; the lovely garden provided shade; the views were spectacular--especially from the open-air dining room. While the hotelito is a bit of a climb from the town of Los Patos, that puts it above and away from the town's noise and constant merengue music and allows it to catch the cool ocean breezes. Highly recommended and a good value.

Room Tip: The rooms with fans are larger than those with aircon, and have big windows to catch the breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Have been to Los Patos for just one night. Enjoyed the pool after a long way travelling and had nice pizza for dinner. Rooms are fine, not luxurieus but good bed, fridge, bathroom and a nice terrace in front of the room to enjoy the evening and to relax. In the morning there was hardly any water, but again the pool was a good start of the day. Breakfast was ok, toast, butter and marmelade, fresh juice and coffee.
Hotel is located more or less at the end of the village. Takes about 15 min. walking to go to the beach. Within a couple of minutes you can enjoy the Dominican ambiance at a bar or restaurant. Los Patos is a nice village to spend a couple of days when you would like to discouver the area of Bahia de las Aguilas/Laguna Oviedo etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraiso
2.6 mi away
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
#3 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
10.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Lodge
Casa del Mar Lodge
#1 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel el Quemaito
Hotel el Quemaito
#2 of 6 in Barahona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mami River Beach
La Mami River Beach
#1 of 3 in Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Larimar
Hotel Costa Larimar
#5 of 6 in Barahona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Loro Tuerto
Hotel Loro Tuerto
#3 of 14 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito Oasi Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Oasi Italiana

Property: Hotelito Oasi Italiana
Address: Calle Hachia La Culebra 6, Paraiso 81000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Barahona Province > Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotelito Oasi Italiana 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotelito Oasi Italiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Oasi Italiana Paraiso, Dominican Republic - Barahona Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing