We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stables - Just perfect for a base to tour East Kent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shatterling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canterbury Cottages
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Stables - Just perfect for a base to tour East Kent”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Stables for a week, while taking short bicycle tours around Kent.
I would absolutely recommend this as a self catering cosy cottage for two with all modern amenities and great location for exploring beautiful East Kent.
We were met on arrival by Anne who showed us around the Stables and explained how everything worked and was most welcoming.
Although the Cottages are situated near the busy A257 they are a good distance from the road and no road noise is heard, a very peaceful spot with a huge garden to have breakfast in.
The Stables was immaculately presented, everything seemed to be sparkling and brand new and of great quality.
Nice fresh Flowers in a vase on the table and a great hamper full of the things you need bread, eggs, milk in fridge .. etc.
Great location for exploring east Kent halfway between Canterbury and Sandwich/Deal.
The Bed/Mattress was just perfect a great nights sleep was had every night.
The organic shop just a short walk away was well stocked with goodies.
The frozen meals that Anne & Rob stock are great value and of real top class quality and are worth a try.
Nothing was too much trouble for Anne & Rob we used their Shed/Barn to store our bicycles and some antique chairs we purchased while in Kent.
We had a perfect time at the Stables and will probably be back next year!

PPS we also had fab sunny weather while the rest of UK seemed to be getting flooded and rained on !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a great place to stay, Anne and Rob are truly a lovely couple and the cottage is first class.
They haven't stinted on anything. Perhaps the main thing is the bed a really comfortable one, giving you a really good nights sleep and so being refreshed the next day. But then everything else is the best, they really have thought of everything and all the equipment is the best. You can book one of their cottages with confidence and be sure of a warm, friendly welcome and a very clean comfortable cottage. Enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadian in London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed in Gardeners Cottage which was very cosy and pretty with a lovely back patio and garden to enjoy. The cottage is 18th century on the outside with all mod cons on the inside, losing none of it's cottage charm. The dish washer was a real treat too! Upon our arrival there were flowers in a vase, a hamper that included farm fresh eggs, bread, biscuits, tea, coffee and bubbly! All very welcoming. Fully stocked kitchen where everything was thought of. We were provided with very helpful information before our arrival too.
Excellent location to explore Canterbury and East Kent. We visited Whitstable, Sandwich, Deal, Canterbury and Dover within easy driving distance. Lovely organic farm shop 2 mins walk away and good pub just 5 mins walk. Highly recommend this cottage.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed in the Stables cottage. Anne and Rob had thought of absolutely everything. It has been finished to an excellent standard- it is absolutely lovely. We didn't want to leave. Our hosts were very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble- they'll even get you food if you don't feel like cooking or there is a fantastic organic farm shop just down the road. The cottage also has its own patio area overlooking a fabulous garden- perfect for relaxing breakfasts or evening meals. The cottages are ideally located for sightseeing into Canterbury, Sandwich, Whistable, Deal or just exploring the beautiful local villages and countryside. We had a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susannah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is a fantastic place yo stay. Everything is imacculate and of top quality. Thought and detail has gone into every aspect. Very friendly and helpful owners. Everything made it a perfect and relaxing place to stay. Did not want to come home!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at the Stables Cottage. Really well equipped, excellent information prior to stay. Owners were friendly, welcoming and willing to help with any request but didn't get in the way.
Location perfect for visitng East Kent. easy access to Canterbury. Lots of good places to eat. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Stables Cottage, it was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean with everything you could wish for. There was also a lovely private patio and garden - ideal for a glass of wine of an evening! The central location was good and there is a pretty village with a few places to eat a mile down the road. The owners were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shatterling
6.8 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Molland Manor House
7.8 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#1 of 75 in Canterbury
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cottages

Property: Canterbury Cottages
Address: Shatterling House, Shatterling, Canterbury CT3 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Shatterling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Shatterling
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing