We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Evening”

The Parson Woodforde
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was recommended to visit the Parson Woodforde by a friend who has been a few times and what a lovely find it was.

When we arrived they were really busy which I was surprised at as it was a Monday evening. We had booked, luckily, and whilst we did have a wait to get a drink and be shown to our table it wasnt too long.

I had a garlic mushroom starter which was really tasty and lamb for my main, again a very pleasant dish. My friend had what can only be described as a posh burger, which again was lovely.

Neither of us had room for dessert but we did enjoy a couple of glasses of wine and the atmosphere was relaxed and enjoyable. We will definately be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    76
    42
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Food, but room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I ate here twice last week, sunday lunchtime and midweek lunchtime. On both occasions the food was excellent, but the service was not quite so good on the busy sunday lunchtime. My starter, hock, blackpudding and chorizo terrine was on the menu as coming with rosemary toast. The terrine was excellent, but the toast never arrived and when i asked for toast after 10 minutes i was given plain toasted bread and charged for it (later removed from the bill). There were lengthy delays between the courses and in waiting for drinks to be replenished, and i know they were busy, but should a restaurant not be prepared for that.
I cannot fault the food, the puddings i had were really good ! (though one of my party was not impressed by the treacle tart). It is a great location, lovely pub, clean toilets etc, just needs a few more staff when busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Under done and pricey”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Nice venue and waitress very pleasant, but not a varied choice of starters , had 3 portions of olives but they were not stoned, 1 portion of main meal lamb was ordered not bloody but nearly walked back to the kitchen and my rib eye steak was ordered medium and came bloody ( so make sure to state plainly twice how you would like it cooked). The chips were stacked like a game of 'Jenga'
And the portions of main venison were like starters for £20 I don't think so, when asking about the variety of local ice creams the waitress said they were made locally but did no know where.
Meal for 4 was £150 came to the conclusion that al'carte means to have your wallet raped.
Verdict - have eaten much better and for less , around and in Norwich.
not a patch on the old Parsons Woodforde and would not go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiChArD203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice venue and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited this pub/restaurant for a family birthday meal on a Sunday. The staff were friendly and helpful. Food was really good, and wine too. The pub was full with a few bidg parties of 15 which were at the back of the pub. We were at the front which was cosy and bright. Would vist again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“new brooms old photos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

a lovely pub , but would be so much better if they could photograph the food the ' new ' kitchen team produce and not food produced by their predecessors to promote out on their respective website . a real misrepresentation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matt447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parson Woodforde also viewed

 

Been to The Parson Woodforde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing