We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Posada Las Trampas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Las Trampas
Ranked #1 of 13 Honda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Posada Las Trampas and really enjoyed it. It's a lovely place to rest and unwind. The location is great for exploring the centre of Honda and the wonderful market. It's also just a short walk in the evening (or even shorter cheap taxi ride) to the 'zona rosa', with a wide selection of bars and places to eat.

The staff at the Posada were all lovely - helpful always and nice to chat to. Breakfasts were excellent. Fruit, huevos and delicious home made arepas. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Sometimes the gems in travel adventure are found on the roads less traveled. Posada Las Trampas is one of those gems. The old thick white washed walls with centuries old timbers take you back to the XVl century on the River Magdalena. The AC and Wi-Fi are there for today’s century. The small group of classmates I was with enjoyed the lovely rooms, fine meals and social time together by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at Posada Las Trampas with a group of friends. The rooms were clean and spacious, the service personnel were always attentive to our every need, the food was delicious and authentic...Overall, a lovely experience! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had the chance of staying at Posada Las Trampas. It's impeccable service and courteous and extremely dedicated personal service made our stay a real pleasure. From its beautifully restored house, superb rooms, most enjoyable swimming pool, delicious breakfast and the best view of Honda you can get, Posada Las Trampas is definitely the place to stay in Honda.

Room Tip: If you are a photographer and enjoy good shots of the city ask for rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCamacholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here as a stopover on road trip from Zona Cafetera to Bogota.

Honda had been a destination for Spanish Conquistadores, steam boat travellers and foreign traders in European goods but stopped being a crossroads town with the advent of the railways in the early 20th century. The town started to decay and no one would thought in recent times of humid and hot Honda as a place to go to. Friends told us this was changing and it was worth the stop, and they were right. Posada Las Trampas and other renovation projects are making Honda attractive. it's not the new Cartagena, but it does have plenty of potential.

The Posada is a great place to explore what can become a turist hot spot, and if you come now, you can tell you were there first. I agree with other reviewers' comments on the hotel, so I wont repeat much. The house is beautiful, the pool and views are lovely, rooms are comfortable, the staff is friendly, etc.

Note that There is hot water in the room, but we had to turn the temperature up. The controls were hidden under the water sink. Apart from that no problems in the room.

It would help if the hotel provided a town map. We were given a few directions to walk around which were helpful, but a map helps. We were told not to walk to the malecon (river side dock) area as it was not safe. Unfortunately it seems Honda is not as safe as Cartagena, as we were warned a couple of times by locals not to step aside the main town streets. It's worthwhile visiting the streets to the Cathedral and the Town Market. If you speak Spanish the Alfonso Lopez musuem is a great place to understand how important Honda was in bygone days and the history of Colombia. It's free and there are some interesting pictures and photographs.

Room Tip: Room 9 is large. You have to climb some stairs to a fine view of the pool, the town and surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinRanKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

It is our second visit y 2.5 months, the hotel is great, the service is better, highly recommended.
Go out to the town and visit the historical attractions, don't miss the bridges and the Magdalena river museum, it's simple but with valuable history and memories of the town begginings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yagorubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our recent stay at the beautiful Posada Las Trampas was our best in Colombia. We were on a motorcycle tour and one of the bikes had a flat tire about 10 kilometers from Honda. We headed into Honda on our own and the entire staff could not have been more helpful. Nancy, the innkeeper, did her very best to get us settled and comfortable despite our language barrier. They brought us fresh orange juice which was greatly appreciated.
The building itself is magnificent. The rooms are well decorated and spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. The indoor courtyard is an oasis, with a pool that will calm anyone's heat exhaustion.
We had dinner there, served local fish caught that morning in the Magdelana river, along with a great fresh salad, beans, rice and arepas. The breakfast served was just as delicious, with eggs to order and tremendous fresh fruit.
If you happen to enjoy photography, you will not be disappointed with the views, angles and lighting here. They have done a wonderful job transforming this old castle into a first-class hotel. Don't miss it while traveling in this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PackingCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honda
22.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Boutique
13.5 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#2 of 3 in Guaduas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ambrosia
Hotel Casa Ambrosia
#1 of 5 in Villeta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Belle Epoque
Casa Belle Epoque
#2 of 13 in Honda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
105.7 mi away
Hotel y Parque Acuatico Agua Sol Alegria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Villa de San Bartolome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Trampas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Trampas

Property: Posada Las Trampas
Address: Cra 10A No 11-05, Honda, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Tolima Department > Honda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Honda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Las Trampas 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful and colonial area of Honda (Tolima). Honors colonial times. The original construction from XVI Century has recently been restored to open it's doors , for the first time as a hotel on December 2010. Taking on the challenge of reviving the past in an old colonial house in Honda, Tolima has finally started to show . The careful restoration in every detail, the beautiful decoration, turn Posada Las Trampas into one of the most attractive boutique hotels in Colombia. The hotel offers its guests all the comfort, peace and friendly atmosphere that only a personalized service can give, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Posada Las Trampas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing